Relationship Tips #11 How to Reveal Yourself? (Yes, this is an act of love)

in #newbieresteemday7 years ago

Quality Time (Learning to Talk)

You've learned to [Listen](link to relationship #10), and now you're learning to talk. "What?? I've been talking since I'm young. This is bullshit!"

No, this is not bullshit. You are learning how to talk in a very specific way, Self-Revelation.


Image Source

What is Self-Revelation

Disclosing facts of yourself. In the Love Language context, you disclose your emotions and feelings.

If your partner's primary love language is Quality Time, you'd want to listen to them, and they want to know you at a deeper level.

Note: Don't know your loved one primary love language yet? Request him/her to take this quiz to find out. I strongly encourage you to take the quiz as well.

Learning to talk by revealing your feelings can be tough.

Depending on your upbringing, expressing your desires could be catastrophe. As a kid, you might get spanked if you expressed disappoinment at your food. Or get condemned if you want to buy a toy. Or get scolded if you express anger. Eventually, you learn the hard way to close off your desires and emotions.

I used to have a hard time to get emotions out of my boyfriend.

Please let me confess.

Everytime I ask him, "How do you feel?", he'll say either,

  • I'm okay
  • Nothing
  • I'm fine
  • Happy (this is the best answer I can get)

And that's pretty much it. He got a lot better now thanks to me persisting in asking more questions. You need to prompt them more, you know? ✌

Is yours similar to mine?

Men, you may think you're being cool and strong by hiding your emotions but your partner doesn't think so.

How can she loves you when she doesn't know who you truly are?

Learn if you must. There is one often overlooked key in a happy relationship.

Be vulnerable to each other.

Undress your armor and expose yourself.


Image Source

But how?

If you honestly don't know your feelings, do this simple activity to be in touch with your emotions.

Carry a small notebook and keep it with you daily.
Ask yourself 3 times each day "What emotions have I felt in the last 3 hours?"


Image Source

Your list may look like,

EventsEmotions
Scolded by bossUnhappy and disappointed of myself
Traffic JamHappily singing songs in my car
See my loveGrateful that she is by my side

Then, share the list with your loved one.

Expose how you truly feel so that she can finally get to know the true you.


My Story


Image Source

When I was small, I used to believe "If I cry, I am weak." (I forgot how I got this idea). Whenever I feel like crying, I tell myself "If I cry, I am weak. Don't cry!" As I was suppressing all the cooped up feelings of do-not-cry, I broke down badly at one time. I just couldn't take it anymore.

I realized I was denying a part of me. That part is Tifa's Weakness. I hated being weak, or to be more precise, I hated being looked as a weak girl. I want look strong! And strong girls don't cry!

This upbringing still remains in me. I began embracing my weakness and express my emotions more freely to my family and friends. They finally get to know the real me. But I still want to portray I am Strong and Independent. This is my shield.

And I will undress my armor to only those who deserve 😎


Q: How do you feel in the last 3 hours?


This Relationship Tips series include practical how's and what's of speaking your partner's love language. If your partner's love language is Physical Touch and Quality Time, I will share firsthand experiences of what I've done and its results :)

Relationship Tips is one of my initiative to help people improve their relationship based on a book I was reading The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman and my experiences.

Check out my series here:

Getting Started with Love Language

Relationship Tips #1: Know Your Partner's Love Language Here!
Relationship Tips #2: How to keep the love tank full, or most of the time full?
Relationship Tips #3: Is This "In Love" or "Real Love"?

Love Language #1 Words of Affirmation

Relationship Tips #4:How to Express Love with Words of Encouragement
Relationship Tips #5: How to Express Love with Words of Kindness
Relationship Tips #6: How to Express Love with Requests, not Demands
Relationship Tips #7: 7 Best Ways to Show Love With WORDS

Love Language #2 Quality Time

Relationship Tips #8 Do You have Time for Your Love?
Relationship Tips #9 How to Show Love by Giving Focussed Attention?
Relationship Tips #10 How to Show Love by Quality Conversation?

I believe having a good relationship will carve a positive path in all areas of your life. This belief is backed up by an 80 year-old research by Harvard University.


@tifaong writes simple and positive practices and ideas that you can learn (or re-learn) and apply in your life immediately. She covers life lessons, self-help, relationships, positive thinking and self-love. Her mission is to spread positivity so that we can live a happier life.

Check out her profile here to find out more 😁

She has committed to post daily, so rest assured that you will find something new everyday.

Sort:  

"Undress your amour and expose yourself". This sentence really struck me, most guys actually tend to hide their emotions just inorder to still be the "man" that they are, but it's not the best.

Thanks for sharing

Hi @cherylsonty, thank you very much for reading. Yes, there is a really wrong misconception of being a "man".

  • A man doesn't cry
  • A man is always strong
  • Be a man!

These societal brules made a man feel if he cries, he's weak. But it's not! They should be open with their feelings, accept themselves and be who they really are. Being honest with yourself is what they need to learn.

again, you are doing a great service to everyone! Great grasp of what's important in life!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Yeah, be honest with yourself so that your loved ones can know the true you. This creates a whole new level of relationship.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

          Congratulations you have been upvoted because you, or a friend left a post in the NewbieResteem Post promotion Box. Discord Chat channel post Promotion Box.


Some time "I'm fine" is not hiding anything,guys just feel fine sometimes, and some times, I feel with my fingers and right now they are telling me I am ticked off at some stupid bullshit the boss brought up, and it took all my restraint to not make my fingers curl into a fist. ;-} So sometimes it's "I fine" because we got over the finger thing.


         

Clicking on the images will take you to "Newbie Resteem Initiative info" - Our Discord Channel - abh12345's - IFC page

We invite you to use our tag (#newbieresteemday) to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

I bashadow invite you to also click on the IFC Castle and learn about @apolymask and his game, be sure to tell them I sent you. As abh12345 has made lots of votes possible, apolymask thru his IFC game has made lots of fun possible.

Lots of votes made possible due to the kindness of abh12345 and his Steemit Curation Leagues

Oooh! Is that true for most men? You don't wanna explode so you say you're Fine. hahaha
Well, you can be "fine" at workplace, but your home and your loved ones is where you would want to open yourself up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60453.64
ETH 2425.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48