No one likes a quitter

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I was chatting away in our #newbieresteemday Discord channel when a great idea came to me. Well, it was actually @energyaddict22 that gave me the idea. We were sharing steem stories. He said, “that sounds like a good idea for a post.” Thank you Mr. Energy! I’m taking your advice, and sharing my story. It’s a short story, stay with me.

Scene: January. A woman is very frustrated with Facebook and it’s politics. Having to read one more fake news story or listen to a “friend” (not friend) whine about their kids again was going to kill her!

F3CBCB14-A1BA-48FB-9ECF-3DCBDE42A2B6.gif

So, there I was... in the Congo. Ok, no, I was in my living room. Bored to death because I deleted Facebook and had no new brain candy. Then a friend, who has helped me learn about blockchain, shared a new social media platform with me, Steemit.

I joined up right away! Get paid to share my silliness with the world? YES PLEASE! It took about a week to get my account activated. I knew nothing, nada, zip, zilch about what I was getting into. I had never blogged before. Not truly. My Facebook was just reblogs of issues I was passionate about. I had never written my own content.

With no true focus or reason for blogging, I started sharing on Steemit. I was so lost! What’s all this voting about? How do I get followers? Forget followers, how do I get a profile pic uploaded? Haha! There was so much I didn’t know! I know now just how much I DIDN’T know. I was using my Master key to login?! Oiy... newbie.

Anywho... I started doing my own research to figure out how to slay this beast. Thankfully, there are many people out there writing support blogs for Steemit. I read that, as a newbie, I needed to comment and engage. I can do that!! I’m a super chatty bish with lots to say! I started coming out of my shell to find posts that I could genuinely comment on. I’m proud to say, I’ve never said “nice post”. Lol who does that? 🙄

Back to the Congo... my comments were not very successful in gaining followers or earning pennies. My posts (they weren’t that great) were not interesting to anyone... I was now more frustrated with Steemit than I was with Facebook! I was seriously about to quit.

EC92F4EF-1CD3-431D-AD66-3FD2C1012B0C.gif

A few days before, a nice gal named @beeyou had followed me. Lord knows why she did? But she did. I followed back and saw a contest that seemed easy enough for me to handle. It was the ABC’s of Curation. All I had to do was follow a couple blogs and share what they meant to the ABC’s. Sounds easy right? I made my entry. Remember, I’m on the edge of freaking out over this stupid new media platform, when one of the founders of the event @davemccoy, made a friendly sarcastic comment on my entry. I maybe took it too seriously and snapped back at him a little. Sorry Dave! Haha! Well, I totally failed at understanding the directions. But they were very sweet and understanding. I earned my first #newbienickel on that comment. I was very excited!

From that day forward I haven’t thought about giving up on my Steemit dreams again. I just needed a community to support me. The Newbie Resteemday Initiative, #newbieresteemday, took me under their wings and adopted me. I joined their Discord channel, https://discord.gg/YzJbaBZ, so I could bombard them with every question I had! There were a lot. Someone was always there to get me the support I needed. @simplymike, @penderis, @beeyou, @maverickinvictus, @deliberator, @jan23com, to name a few of the people that went out of their way to help me out! Many thanks to you! Also, @truce! He’s not part of NRD officially, but he was the first person to be friendly and help me out!

How many other newbies are out there... lost, confused and frustrated... about to quit? More than we know I’m sure. I hope at least one of them reads this and reaches out for help. #newbieresteemday is only one of the great groups out there. Find a group that likes you even though you were kinda bitchy to them and join up! 😆

Nobody likes a quitter! This Steemit beast is not to be ridden alone. YEEHAW!

C9E97A81-540E-4BC2-9B0E-43CA6D05C82D.gif

0732B81F-8ABD-4EFE-A679-1A652CC8D863.png

6BA02CB2-1F68-433E-B1D2-25BD809A0D35.gif

gifs compliments of Giphy and @amariespeaks

Sort:  

I told you this would make a great post!!!!! Awesome job of sharing what many (maybe most) of us felt upon joining Steemit. I once thought I was smart and then I met Steemit (it took me 3 hours to get a profile pic up). You're fabulous and I'm anxiously waiting for more of your musings. I already found you, but I need to mention that @wolfhart featured your post in the PayitForward contest. Talk to you soon. ;)

It took me 3 months to put a cover photo haha! I did figure out how to put a profile pic but then gave up on the cover photo.

Haha. I know the feeling. Also, congratulations on your being chosen the winner of the "My Name is.." Contest. Very impressive post. I'd like to point out that I was following you before your notoriety now that you are such a star. ;)

Oh my. See how such a newbie I am? I did not even realize that. Thanks for making me feel guilty? Lol!

Thx @energyaddict22! It was fun to write. 😄

hello lol??

Yeah hiii, Bill Lundberg again... you’re a little late to the party. 😝

Oh boy! I joined Steemit not too long ago and haven't had much time to invest into it to work out all the quirks and tricks. To be honest it seems really overwhelming, but I think I am finally getting my head around this new world. Very glad I read this post, I am yet to join any groups (didn't even know that was a thing you could do), but will be digging deeper to find some like minded people. I joined Discord yesterday and at first glance that too looked daunting, but will invest some time into it also.

Thanks for the post and if you could recommend any other groups that helped you that would be greatly appreciated!

Hi @joshduthie! I empathize completely. Discord is different from any chat app I’ve seen. Did you join our channel? https://discord.gg/YzJbaBZ I’ll look for you. My name is same there. Now that I know how to use it, it’s great! There’s places to promote your posts, get help, play a free lotto or just chat. As for groups here, there are too many to mention! My advice to you, is to start adding #newbieresteemday as a tag on your posts. Doesn’t have to be the first one, just add it. That will get you noticed by our curation team! You will get reblogged for visibility and possibly upvoted! It’s a great way to get started. You’ll meet lots of unique and interesting people too! You can be part of multiple minnow support groups. So as you find the community’s that resonate with you, you can join them all!
As I mentioned in my post, the best thing to do as a young account is build relationships by commenting and engaging. And look! You’re already doing that! Participate in contests! Holy cow there’s a million of them. Thx for your support! It means a lot. See ya round the Steem!

Awesome thanks for the detailed reply, it is fun engaging on here! I'll jump back into Discord tonight, to be honest I'm not sure which channel I joined, my name in there is just 'Duth'. Thanks again.

Yes come join us! Duth isn’t in our channel... yet 😉

Excellent cheerleading job if I may add!

I'm glad you came across this post earlier than I did. You have read this post at the right time and the right person at that. The author, who I call pretty (because she is) is really active in Discord. Anyhoo, welcome to steemit @joshduthie! You are in pretty good hands and guidance with pretty and the prettier @beeyou. (I'm not starting any trouble lol!)

So happy you found your way here. I too was on the verge of massive breakdown quitting but came into contact with Boy Mccoy on a contest and the rest is history. So thankful for @newbieresteemday for showing us the light!

Boy McCoy?? Lmao

LOL! Youll have to use it on him... he REALLY likes Bad Boy Mccoy but we dont want his head to grow any larger!

LOL, he is SOO not a Bad Boy McCoy @smylie2005 and @pretty.dorky. However hard he tries to fit that image.

Haha! I LOLed at this. Boy McCoy, nice name.

Although I see you quite often on Discord I didn't know much about you, and it's good to finally meet you. I had my jumpstart from @davemccoy ... he was very patient and extremely helpful, and also @deliberator (where are you?), and lots of encouragement from @themanwithnoname, and all of the newbieresteem guys. My rep remained 39 for ages, then a couple of posts received good upvotes and I jumped up to 48, so now I'm in a kind of no man's land. I don't post often enough, got lots of prospective posts in my head waiting for more info ... I hope to get off my butt and write more. Look forward to your next post, maybe catch you on discord although we live in different time zones. Have a great week.

We are in the same boat. Although I did not have the same people to start off with. No man's land is not fun. But I think if you find new people to connect with, they can spark a little something inside to write about :) It's happened to me, so why not others? Enjoy the day!

Spot on @foxyspirit. I try find new people to connect with who inspire me whether it's through their art, music or writing.

Well, let's meet :p Hi I am Julie a.k.a foxyspirit but people call me foxy lol. Trying to not be so formal. It didn't work haha.

Hi Julie, nice to meet you :) I'm Leigh (surprise surprise), I doubled it up as one of my most adored little 3 year old friends calls me Leighleigh. And I'm a grandmother to a gorgeous 1 year old girl.

Aw that's sweet! I am a mother of 3, my youngest being 2, my second is 5 and my oldest is 7. Kids can be so adorable.

3 children, that's lovely! I only had 1 child, my son who is 26. I am a preschool teacher/administrator so I'm surrounded by little children every day.

you have your hands tied! My mother inlaw used to be a teacher and now works for the school board in different ways, finding proper ways for the first nations. I don't understand everything she is doing lol. But I do know it is a lot of work, and from what I am seeing from the people around me as well... You gotta be on your toes and working at home as well.

Hi @foxyspirit! You’re so right. Sometimes a simple exchange with a new person leaves you excited to write! Sorry for my delay! Somehow I missed you on this thread. I love that you and @leighleigh are just chatting away! 😄 I’m also a momma of two girls 9&11. “kids can be adorable” lol can 😂

Haha, can as can be lol.
No need for sorries ^_^ A lot of people on here, it can be easy to miss. Have a great evening :o)

Glad to help out. Looking forward to seeing those ideas come to the page/screen. :)

Thanks for commenting @themanwithnoname. I've just remembered a brief convo we had a while back about finding pieces of porcelain from a shipwreck on one of our beaches ... must do that post, I found the pieces of porcelain!

Hi @leighleigh! I also have an ongoing list of post ideas. I’m just not always inspired to write. See you around! Thx for your vote. 😉

Haha I was in La La Land. Wait, no I was just on chair. My stinking old chair. No, my beautiful My Little Pony Chair. Haha. You were in Congo haha. The fire. Reminds me of Tropical Thunder. Great film. Get paid. Why? Why not? Facebook is making billions of dollars off of us each year. Why not make some of that money right back? Thanks for sharing, Dorky. I'm a Dorky too hehe. Actually, I'm Oatmeal.

2013 STAR TREK INTO DARKNESS.jpg

😂 oatmeal? You’ll have to explain that one. I wanted the apocalypse now feel, with the napalm. I don’t watch many war movies, but that Congo quote has stuck with me for ages! I also love MLP! Do you really have a chair? My favorite pony is pinkie pie! Lol her “just a hunch” cracks me up!!

I wish I had a pony chair. I just have a normal chair. Maybe I just imagined it being something like Transformers. More than meets the eye.Pinkie Pie. Great name. Funny name. Love it. I am Oatmeal because I eat oatmeal.

Brilliant post, my kind of humour! Thanks for not giving up, and thanks for sharing, you’ve given this newbie some hope! Also worried that I’m using the wrong key to log in too, eeeeeek???!!!! Cheers,
@dramamama

Lol hi! If you’ve been using the wrong key, reset them and start over using right ones! That’s what I was told to do. Nice to meetcha @dramamana!

Cheers m’dears x

Hey, pretty!

I am with you in all your questions about steemit. I think it was just last month that I figured out about the master key hahah! I was about to quit too but what got me going here is sharing photos and joining contests. That was my main goal in all of this really and then hopefully help others make it here too.

Is it bad to say nice post when there is nothing left to say? haha!

Ha! Erebody and their “nice post”! 😛 You just can’t help yourself can you? Lol Cheers to not being quitters. 😉

Haha! Otherwise I just have to refer from what others have commented and add more insight to that :D

Nice Post ...... :)

I to am a newbie and still learning the ins and outs of Steemit.
Are you saying I don't have to use my master key to log in ..... :P

You have been upvoted by @rentmoney because @beeyou nominated your post in our
Followers Appreciation Promotion !

Nice read - thanks for sharing !

Lol ha! Yeahhhh don’t use the master! It was probably in the beginning instructions they gave me... but did I read that? Nope. Thx for the vote @rentmoney. And thank YOU @beeyou for sharing! 😘

Ok, I know a few others have already said this, but you know how us boys are. We don't like to be outdone by other boys. So here it is "“nice post”", with a little twist. I'ma quoting myself quoting you....double quotes are cool! You should try it in one of your posts one day.

So now, I fully expect a huge whale to stumble upon my comment and upvote me for a daily living wage. Whales can be cool sometimes and they like to have fun, just like us little plankton. '''Cooool story, you say''' with triple air quotes. But it's true, proof!

😂 too funny! Double and triple quotes huh? I’ll be sure to try it out! I like the positive vibes bringing the whales to you... here they come! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51