Ork Assault (Game 1) - Turn 4

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)



Source


Welcome to the fourth turn of Ork Assault!


All the rules and starting information is here : Ork Assault Rules.


Welcome Lord Nigel!



@lordnigel is joining us here in our little game. He runs the most amazing Interactive Battle on Steem. Go check out his posts, they are so much fun, the players are so incredibly creative and the adventure is beyond epic!

LordNigel isn't super sure of the rules (which puts him on par with literally everyone here, including myself) but he's starting as a Kommando, so he'll stealth his way in until he gets a feel for it.


Review of last turn



@happyme easily burnt her dance melee partner while @urbangladiator charged in the Power Klaw and it's 3 massively powerful attacks but failed to get a wound. @pandorasbox teleported straight back in and blasted a dude straight up... @pbock ran over and cast Warpath on @pandorasbox giving her a second shot, but she wasn't able to replicate her blasta-ing. @justatouchfey snuck into battle and popped up to successfully shoot a guardsman hiding behind the sandbags and the friendly orks, and the imperial guardsman did nothing.


Legend


Unit IconUnit TypeUnit IconUnit Type
Friendly Ork Shoota.pngFriendly Ork ShootaFriendly Ork Slugga.pngFriendly Ork Slugga
Enemy Bolt Gun 2.pngEnemy Bolt GunEnemy Bolt Gun.pngEnemy Bolt Gun
Enemy Bolt Pistol.pngEnemy Bolt PistolEnemy Heavy Bolter.pngEnemy Heavy Bolter


Game Map




Click on the map for a bigger version


I'm sure you've noticed the extra mappage added. Introducing the Imperial Guard's toughest troops... the Bullgryns:


99120105053_Bullgryns01.jpg
Source

These guys are twice the height of an ordinary human and thick (in every sense of the word) and tough.

They have 4 wounds each. They carry a shield that gives them a bonus -2 to wound modifier and they carry a grenadier gauntlet that fires 2 frag grenades per turn. In Close Combat they use their shield to batter their opponent that rolls a 4+ to wound. They are so large they take up 4 squares, and only move 4 squares with a 6 square charge. They can move and fire their gauntlet in the same turn.





UPDATE 1 : @pbock tries to cast Headbanger but The Warp enters his mind and rips through his brain while he screams. It's not a good day. @urbangladiator kills the last guardsman in the area with his super mega power klaw. @lordnigel sprints into the game and catches up with his mob in a single turn. What a dude! @justatouchfey gets all sneaky while @pandorasbox teleports right into position.




Update 2 : Whoops, I didn't see @happyme's move. All players have now moved.

Of course feel free to ask any questions, but let's get to it!




All images on this page have been created by @daclawboyz for Ork Assault.


Thanks so much for playing!


U5drNXWtcqMQ47bzqw8Tmkq2oQu8vqo_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Here is a visualization of my suggestion to avoid fighting the big dudes altogether.
strategy.jpg

Oh wow, thanks for this. This is real clever!

Yes this was my first thought as well. But there is one slight problem with this, namely that I do not think we can easily pass past the entire horde and move south without them 'activating'? I dunno, I guess @daclawboyz needs to clarify on their intelligence level!

If we do go through that route, keep in mind that we cannot pass over the sandbags if we have to - and don't know a thing about what's further down on the map. We could end up somewhere with a dead end, or have to backtrack .

That being said if this is the road y'all want to go on I'm all game! With my teleporter I can freely move around anyway

Sandbags and walls are not a problem for Daclaw! There is no such thing as a dead end with such power. We get to see what lies beyond without having to kill everything all the way through. It was said earlier that as long as they don't see us after we stop moving, we can freely pass the gap and hide on the other side. We just need to stay close to the wall to stay out of line of sight. Have the rules changed in that regard?

Okay I'm going to go South 4 and West 2 to end up at H17. I like the idea of blowing a hole through the D18 spot and taking out that big guy in a controlled way :3

Very sneaky! All done!

Eck...Sooo can I move to likeJ8? or is that like just crazy talk hehe

Actually newly spawned players get a double advance move. Normally it's only for respawning after you die, but since you joined late I think we may make an exception and apply it as if you respawned. If that's the case, you can move farther than J8 even! I'll let @daclawboyz clarify but I think it'll be okay?

Ok, this game is still doing a mind job on me, hehe...

eck, so J12 would be cool?if so I do that (means jumping over another player though eh)

Lets see what da boss says! :)

Yup yup yup! You're in J12 like a boss!

Moving and shooting through friendly players is totally okay. You can't pass through enemy squares though.

Yes you can pass through other players, as long as you don't land on the same square as them.

Guys!! I just though of a plan!!
We can use @happyme's flamethrower to kill a whole bunch of them!

This is how it would go:

  1. @urbangladiator takes out the wall at H18 or O18 with his powerclaw
  2. @happyme goes in with her flamethrower and inflicts 1 wound on the bullgryn, and kills the guardsman behind it with the template. If I'm right she is now in close combat with the bullgryn.
  3. Since @happyme is in melee, we can ignore the bullgryn for targetting purposes
  4. @lordnigel and @justatouchfey now pummel the guardsmen behind the bullgryn with krak grenades. Since they are out in the open, and with templates, I hope both can be taken out at once
  5. Since @happyme is in melee with the bullgryn in front of the hole, the other bullgryn behind it is 'trapped' to do anything except also charge (if two of them will fit through the hole.. not sure?)
  6. Hopefully @urbangladiator can heal @happyme the turn after since she's likely taken one or two wounds from all the melee, OR he can charge with the powerklaw to kill a bullgryn
  7. in the meantime everybody else (me and @pbock) simply do as much other damage as possible. Potentially we are on the other side, trying to keep the other area occupied

What do you guys think?

edit: I would like to point out that if I teleport myself to N21 for example, I will have 'blocked' the entire right side of the compound. Firstly i would attack the guardsman and not the bullgryn. This way the next turn I am still in combat with the bullgryn and other guardsman. This prevents the more distant bullgryn from joining the fight since it's too crowded. The big guns behind are also useless since they cannot target me because I am in close combat.
The only enemy that can do anything at all if i do this move, is the single guardsman at O23

While i have that entire side occupied on my own, this leaves the other side for you guys to lay waste to.

I like these ideas. I was thinking to punch holes at D17 and S17 to burna the 2 heavies at each side, THEN clean up a bit along the sides so we have a way AROUND those big dudes and see what lies farther down. If needed, we could puch new holes from D and S 17 to attack the big dudes, move along the wall, punching holes as needed to attack the rest one by one. I may have messed all those plans up by declaring my move along the sand bags though. I have a house guest for 4 days and I'm not able to spend much time thinking and planning new moves until after they leave in a couple of days.

Yes that's an option too, to around the sides.
The only thing is that will bring us behind the sandbags, which is great for overall defense but not against those cavetrolls (i keep forgetting their name) because they have frag grenades which according to the rules don't care about cover. On the flipside, we would be unable to charge them which is their weak point.

I'm not sure what the best route is.. they all have pro's and cons. I think we just have to pick one and go with it?

edit: Oh!!! The kommando has a -1 to wound which isn't cover, so should still apply to the frag grenades?? If this is true then we can use the kommando's as shields. Since they have to target the closest possible target, and with the -1 it means a lot of frag grenades but they need to roll 6's to wound. That sounds like decent odds?

The kommandos have a -1 to wound due mainly to their sneakiness, their quick reflexes and by being super hard to see... so yes, it also applies to frak grendade blasts.

Love the strategizing.. I knew this wouldn't be too much for you all.

Does the -1 to wound apply in close combat too?
I ask because the default melee attack is 6+, which would mean Kommando's have immunity to basic troops in melee

No... the -1 to wound modifier only applies to ranged weapons move than 4 squares away. Any enemy 4 squares or closer just rolls normally to wound.

In any case

East
South South South

Headbanger on the last soldier in view

@rolltwodice

You blow on two 6-sided dice, and throw:

First die lands...
You rolled a 1.

Second die lands...
You rolled a 2.

"hey..,. Why's everything going fuzzy..."

A vein pops and the Weirdboy pbock loses 20 IQ... and 1 Wound to boot.

The Warp loved eating your brains! They've had a really good day.

I might have got the order wrong, but @lordnigel was actually in the square you wanted, so I just popped you next to him, let me know if that's okay. You're also now next to our healer... jus' sayin'.

I wanted to move normally but @urbangladiator is in the square I want to move to! :)
So instead I will teleport to F17. Should bring me in a safe but versatile spot, regardless of what plan we decide on.

As long as my teleporter works... ! I pray to the ork gods!
@rollthedice

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 5.

Hurrah! I am in position.

Gork and Mork answered your prayers!

soooo.....

Can the Bullgryn at 0-N-19-20 SEE Us RIGHT NOW ?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!

Good question.. but I think they don't see us yet. Probably if we move a little around the sandbags we enter their line of sight...

I am thinking we should not go through the center. Instead, perhaps we need to go through the sides. Remember those big guns on the sides which we ignored? What if we take those out, smash a hole through the wall to appear behind their lines?
@urbangladiator has a powerclaw so he can punch through the walls, opening it up so we can insta-take out the enemies behind it.

Once we are in the sides, we can hide/cower behind the -2 cover as well. And from the looks of it none of the enemies have the ability to destroy sandbags... meaning we will be 'safe' behind them.

On the other hand: firepower is not our strength... We're outgunned.
The main problem I see is those cavetrolls. We need to make sure they don't fire 8 frag grenades per turn at us.
The main weakness of the trolls I can see is that they suck relatively in close combat: with guns they can take out half our squad in one turn, but in melee they can do at most one damage on a 4+ roll. So engaging an ogryn in melee is a good way of keeping it pre-occupied.

BUT..... only @urbangladiator has a melee weapon that does more than 1 wound per turn. Melee is kind of weak because of that for the rest of us... you can charge 1 person and if succesful you are out in the open ready for the slaughter :-/

hmmm.... Actually, I think if we can navigate so as to be around D18, then get someone to open that part of the wall, that makes us visible to a SINGLE bullgryn, which hopefully I can Insta-kill.

It depends if that Bullgryn can attack us as we are now, or if moving brings us in sight of one of the others.

Hmmmm interesting plan. I had considered something similar but the one in D18 looks like a candidate. Taking out the wall there will let us shoot it and I do not think it will put us within LOS of the big guns below. In fact, they can't even get to us since they can't climb over the sandbags ;)

But the main concern I have with this tactic is that I'm not sure the other enemies will passively stand there as we kill a bullgryn. And with all of us bunched together in order to fire through the small gap we created I can see another bullgryn simply coming around the corner and fragging us all into oblivion..?

It's not like I have a better plan though.

I did consider that I can teleport myself into melee with 1 bullgryn+2 guardsmen. It would be slightly suicidal (only if they all roll high though!) but this way I could keep three troops including a bullgryn from firing. I'd attack the regular troops first in order to keep the bullgryn on me, so others cannot fire at me.
It all fails as soon as the other troops charge in and pile on top though.

then, if we fail to kill it, everybody shoots except the last person, who engages it in melee so it can't frag us all to death.

Another idea I just had is...

  1. Bullgryns are slower, movement 6 normally, 8 when charging.
  2. Weirdboy teleport == uses up enemy moves
  3. @pbock teleports a nearby bullgryn in such a way that it uses up it's move, yet doesn't get closer. Because of this, the bullgryn behind it cannot pass through because the first bullgryn is blocking the path. And since bullgryns have a huge base, yet little speed, there's no easy way to get around.
    By doing this we could perhaps occupy both bullgryns with a single action and keeping them from doing anything all turn.

I am not sure how you would get within range/LoS to teleport it, without exposing yourself enormously though.

Another idea is that the weirdboy teleport has a range of 8 but I think you can actually teleport 'as far as your LoS' can see. So you could take a bullgryn and just plop it down as far away as possible, so it is out of shooting/charging range. So we don't have to deal with all of them at the same time

I can't even begin to tell you how genius all of this is...

Thanks!! I thought it was pretty clever too 😎
If i were controlling all characters on our side, I'd definitely do this just for the sake of being able to dominate half your troops with one unit 😀

Napoleon would be proud!

Hahaha, maybe you should give the Runtherd a try next... just so you can have your own little mini-army to strategise with...

Two frag grenades per turn?!?! 4 wounds?? AND a shield??!
Holy crap, this went from 'kinda easy' to 'we're all going to die!' real quick

And I second @happyme in asking, what's with the little guy in the middle who has no guns. Is he the general?

I'm going to have to think on my turn.. I'm open to hearing suggestions from the others. We should've brought bigger guns!!
I'm half tempted to teleport in and melee the general to death, for great orkish glory. And then respawn as a meganob to even the playing field!

Also, hello @lordnigel !

@pbock you are going to have to be our cavetroll-killer! That insta-kill psychic power is what we need! It negates their 4 wounds and their shield

At best I can only see us take out one or two of them in a single turn. That leaves 4 frag grenades and a crapton of other enemies who will lay waste to us. I think we'll be respawning often before we pass this area

Can we climb over the sandbags or must we go around them?
What is the little dude in the middle at L22?
I'll move to G somewhere behind the sandbags (as far as I'm allowed to go based on if I need to go around or over the bags.)

That one is the Janitor.

He's non-aggressive, but his mob is insta-kill 2+ with a range of 10 squares and the ability to aim through walls.

Don't worry about him ;)

What is the tradition again ?

Oh yeah -> April fools ! You owe me an easter egg now 😉

omnomnomnomnom

Pbock dies of multiple internal cuts to the throat and metal poisoning after devouring his labtop's screen
he leaves a note saying "worth it !""

Too bad this isn't the zombie game otherwise we'd just resurrect you. XD

Hahahaha, the dude is actually nothing special, just a guy with a combat knife. He's a bureaucrat so was really just doing paperwork when the orks busted in.

melee the guardsman at H13:

@rollthedice

You blow on two 6-sided dice, and throw:

First die lands...
You rolled a 5.

Second die lands...
You rolled a 5.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60893.72
ETH 2624.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56