You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ork Assault (Game 1) - Turn 4

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)

Guys!! I just though of a plan!!
We can use @happyme's flamethrower to kill a whole bunch of them!

This is how it would go:

  1. @urbangladiator takes out the wall at H18 or O18 with his powerclaw
  2. @happyme goes in with her flamethrower and inflicts 1 wound on the bullgryn, and kills the guardsman behind it with the template. If I'm right she is now in close combat with the bullgryn.
  3. Since @happyme is in melee, we can ignore the bullgryn for targetting purposes
  4. @lordnigel and @justatouchfey now pummel the guardsmen behind the bullgryn with krak grenades. Since they are out in the open, and with templates, I hope both can be taken out at once
  5. Since @happyme is in melee with the bullgryn in front of the hole, the other bullgryn behind it is 'trapped' to do anything except also charge (if two of them will fit through the hole.. not sure?)
  6. Hopefully @urbangladiator can heal @happyme the turn after since she's likely taken one or two wounds from all the melee, OR he can charge with the powerklaw to kill a bullgryn
  7. in the meantime everybody else (me and @pbock) simply do as much other damage as possible. Potentially we are on the other side, trying to keep the other area occupied

What do you guys think?

edit: I would like to point out that if I teleport myself to N21 for example, I will have 'blocked' the entire right side of the compound. Firstly i would attack the guardsman and not the bullgryn. This way the next turn I am still in combat with the bullgryn and other guardsman. This prevents the more distant bullgryn from joining the fight since it's too crowded. The big guns behind are also useless since they cannot target me because I am in close combat.
The only enemy that can do anything at all if i do this move, is the single guardsman at O23

While i have that entire side occupied on my own, this leaves the other side for you guys to lay waste to.

Sort:  

I like these ideas. I was thinking to punch holes at D17 and S17 to burna the 2 heavies at each side, THEN clean up a bit along the sides so we have a way AROUND those big dudes and see what lies farther down. If needed, we could puch new holes from D and S 17 to attack the big dudes, move along the wall, punching holes as needed to attack the rest one by one. I may have messed all those plans up by declaring my move along the sand bags though. I have a house guest for 4 days and I'm not able to spend much time thinking and planning new moves until after they leave in a couple of days.

Yes that's an option too, to around the sides.
The only thing is that will bring us behind the sandbags, which is great for overall defense but not against those cavetrolls (i keep forgetting their name) because they have frag grenades which according to the rules don't care about cover. On the flipside, we would be unable to charge them which is their weak point.

I'm not sure what the best route is.. they all have pro's and cons. I think we just have to pick one and go with it?

edit: Oh!!! The kommando has a -1 to wound which isn't cover, so should still apply to the frag grenades?? If this is true then we can use the kommando's as shields. Since they have to target the closest possible target, and with the -1 it means a lot of frag grenades but they need to roll 6's to wound. That sounds like decent odds?

The kommandos have a -1 to wound due mainly to their sneakiness, their quick reflexes and by being super hard to see... so yes, it also applies to frak grendade blasts.

Love the strategizing.. I knew this wouldn't be too much for you all.

Does the -1 to wound apply in close combat too?
I ask because the default melee attack is 6+, which would mean Kommando's have immunity to basic troops in melee

No... the -1 to wound modifier only applies to ranged weapons move than 4 squares away. Any enemy 4 squares or closer just rolls normally to wound.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54