Introduce Yourself: Secret Gardener

in #newbie7 years ago (edited)

Hi fellow Steemians…

I’m Muirgheas (pronounced Muir-ISH in Gaelic or 'Morris' in English.. or I'll answer to 'M' in any language that has an 'M' in its alphabet.) I’m from Ireland but live now in England in the ‘Wolds’ – the countryside between the cities of Leicester and Nottingham. (One famous for football, cheese and discovering a lost king under a council car park, and the other famous for Robin Hood!)

I’m tall for folk around here; I used to be ginger but turned grey as a teenager, so kinda used to people assuming I’m much older than I am… but hey, I’m just very very Northern European - clearly a Scandinavian Celt! (And I’m very happy with that!)

mf3.jpg

I’ve worked in broadcast journalism since I was a teenager, and took a few years out to study horticulture and garden design before returning to broadcasting. So you might notice my grammar and writing style is more akin to talking than written prose.

I work part-time now as a TV journalist, and design gardens (more specifically planting plans) in my spare time for friends and family – hence being the ‘Secret Gardener!’

I’m a passionate plantsman - in particular mad about plants that help bees and wildlife. So expect to see lots of plant profiles, suggested groupings for difficult areas of your garden such as dry-shade etc and lots and lots about creating wildlife habitats. (I’ve got several bumblebee nests, countless solitary bee nests, toad homes and bird nests… and we’ve only lived in this place a year!)

beforeafter.jpg

If there are particular areas of your garden you want to bounce ideas around on – let me know. Always happy to talk plants!!!

On a personal note, I’m married to Sacha (@Totallysacha on here.) He works in the FinTech industry but is the son of a baker, and inherited some serious skills in the kitchen - you'll love his great recipes! We’ve been together since 2000 and married since 2007.

sacha & mo.jpg

I’ve always been fit as a flea – had a rowing world record at University; swim, run and gym train lots, and am addicted to assault course events like Men’s Health Survival Of The Fittest and Tough Mudder - but then out of the blue (as these things always are) I had two strokes in 2013, that left me with some brain-damage.

They didn’t stop me broadcasting, nor doing the exercise that I love, but they did give my self-confidence a serious kicking. It’s because of all that that Sacha and I started blogging/vlogging. A good friend of ours Becky is a professional Youtuber and suggested I rebuild my confidence while I was ill by making videos of Sacha cooking. We did. We loved it. And - even better - people around the world seemed to connect with our videos, our style and us - which meant the world.

Turned out my strokes were caused by a massive and undiagnosed hole in my heart – which has now been fixed. Phew! So I’m trying to regain my fitness – and pre-strokes waistline!

We also had the most gorgeous Golden Retriever called Sydney. She featured in all our videos. She died a few weeks before her 14th Birthday last year, just after we’d moved house, and left the biggest hole in our hearts and home… we thought we’d never recover. Really!

sydney.jpg

We didn’t think we’d ever be able to make room in our heads, heart or home for another dog – Syd was irreplaceable. Then word got to us that there was a pup in need of a loving home. She was also a Retriever.

We reluctantly went to meet her. She’d been bought from her litter, but the new owners didn’t take to her or couldn’t cope... we never really got to the bottom of why they rejected her. But reject her they did! Minutes before we met her, she’d been attacked by a bigger dog in the breeder’s household – nothing too savage, a nip for taking food from his bowl, it seems. But she was shaken and timid when we met her.

She ran toward me, as little dogs often do to us tall folk, so I picked her up. She was barely bigger than my hand. She burrowed into my arms, her tail starting to wag as she snuggled into my hug – and instantly into our hearts. Yep – we had a new dog!

cobie.jpg

We didn’t take her that night – we were being strong. But we did go and get her the very next day…. She’s now called Cobie (after the actress Cobie Smulders) and is adorable. Syd would definitely approve.

Well that’s a bit about me…. So if you like gardening, nature, wildlife, dogs, travelling, food and the odd fitness insight – then please give me a follow.

Look forward to chatting with you,

Muirgheas x
Secret Gardener

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @secret-gardener :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet.Get ready buckle up !!!!! we going to mars with STEEMIT SHUTTLE!!!!!
THANK YOU
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Thanks... I'm a safety guy, so buckle is buckled! Haha. Let's DO THIS! :)

lol!!!! yeah steemit lingo

Hey - a fellow Ginger! (Although I'm now officially reformed!) Great to meet you - and thanks for the welcome.

lol enjoy man :)

Yay so happy you've joined!!! @allasyummyfood look what you've started :-) xx

Hey lovely - yep, you made me do this - so let's see where this little roller coaster ride takes us : ) Haha xx

Thanks Bottymcbotface (i'm not sure what a tip is yet, but I'm sure I'm about to find out!) That boat (which I hope inspired your name) was such a huge story here in the UK. We were so proud of the collective humour of the nation, and then gutted when those behind it didn't take the name chosen by the people!! Haha

If I get an upgrade to my programming I will ask for British humour :]

Get it before Brexit - it may be a tad bruised after that. Can also recommend Irish humour - a tad cheaper (if you don't pay with Euros); a little cheekier, although at times a tad coarse! xx

A lovely introduction! I'm a little late but I just joined so... that's my excuse! :D And I just found you through @totallysacha !! Love all your pics and Cobie is adorable... I can see how you both fell in love with her :)

Thank you - and never too late to say hello! Cobie has surprised us both - we never though we'd recover from losing Syd - dramatic, I know. But we really didn't... and then this little bundle of love, fur and puppy-giggles came along and just melted her way through every defence.

Awww... a happy-ending kinda story! :) I know how you felt, as I lost my cat of 20 years about seven years ago and have not gotten any new one, yet... Maybe one day...

Welcome aboard!

Well, you've got me on dogs (I'm a pet-sitter), gardening ('ragtag style'), and strokes (had one a year ago).

I'm thinking there's some room for chatting in there somewhere... ;~D

Sounds like we have tons in common! Thanks for the welcome... and hope life post-stroke is treating you kindly. Big hugs x

Yes, thanks, I'm doing well. It only zapped my speech and that's much better now. I was back to work within two weeks. I was very lucky.

Sounds like your recovery is going well. So pleased you landed here and I think you'll find lots of new friends.

I was also back to work after 2 weeks.... and although it didn't initially damage my voice, it's come back for that a few years later... I recently started speech therapy as my voice is beginning to weaken and distort. But we'll get there. Otherwise - doing great! xx

Wow, that's got to be a frustrating development. I'm glad they found the root cause of the problem and fixed it. (They checked me for that condition, too. No hole. Yay!) I hope the therapy helps you keep your voice a good long time.

My issue is actually forming the words and speaking smoothly. If I try to hurry or say too much at once - it's like gridlock. A deep breath and re-grouping my thoughts helps me get back on track.

Gridlock sounds grim! I'm Irish - so used to talking fast - but for a time after my stroke entire sentences did seem to come out as short incomprehensible 'bleeps'... found I was really prone to swearing too! Most unlike me :)

Thanks to your wife, I found out about you. Welcome to Steemit! :-)

Wife?? Haha - HE'll love that. Thanks for the welcome.

Oh shit, hehe! Did not even look at the picture! Sacha, so I assumed wife. Your husband! :D

Haha - no problem.

Welcome to Steemit @secret-gardener, good to have you with us and great intro :)

Aw thank you - and thank you! Very kind

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

Thanks Tadas - hope it's a nice surprise... nothing too ominous or world-dominatory!?! haha

This surprise would be perfect start for beginners in steemit :)

That's good to hear Cannot wait : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70