Homesteading: A privilege? My story starts

in #new6 years ago (edited)


The path to being able to homestead can be difficult. It is really too bad that more people cannot have their own place to do the homestead activities. There are different degree's of homesteading that can be done, so one could argue that anyone can homestead depending on what is available to them. There is one factor that remains true no matter the degree of homesteading one does; self-sufficiency. The reward of self-sufficiency is something that cannot be replicated by anything else in todays world: not money, video games, desserts,etc. It is a self accomplishment and self reward at the same time.

I have seen people living in apartments grow potted gardens in the spring and winter, make all food from scratch and even make some of their own things. They may sew, crochet, can, make jewelry and so on. There are some who urban farm. Some can only grow plants depending on their laws, but they can also make items. Some urban farmers are allowed to have chickens (usually not roosters), or other small livestock as well as growing their foods. Usually there still is not enough land for greenhouses, or its is against city laws or ordinances. These people also usually own there own home/land. People in rentals can usually at least grow potted gardens. It can be difficult to do more than that, and again still has to fall under the laws and ordinances. Can you believe that in Florida (I am not sure if it is just one area or the entire state) but city homes CANNOT grow food gardens!!! If you are blessed and own your own home/land as long as you follow ordinances/laws you can do as you want. The last group are those that live in rural areas/communities that own their home/land. Again as long as you follow the ordinances/laws you can do what you want. These are the ones that can grow to fully homesteading. They can grow their own food, greenhouses, livestock, etc. This is the truly blessed person.

In the state I live in the cost of homes/land has grown exponentially in the past 4 years. Yes we have growth before that, but it quite exploded in the past few years. People are selling expensive houses in other states and then coming here and buying up all of these. It has caused a drastic price increase. Lower income levels are not able to buy. Even though they pay their housing bills every month that is not taken into account. People are scrambling to make ends meet. The house gets paid for first, because being homeless is not an option for most people. People are struggling to then feed their family, let alone nutritious food. Many people resort to processed foods to stretch their dollar. If these people were able to get property and grown/raise their own foods it would save them money, we would have a healthier society, and less processed crap would be bought from the large companies.

The area of the state that I live in is probably the most expensive, but I have a complicated medical history and have to be close enough to my doctor. Even moving a few hours away is still as expensive.

2018 is my year to get my homestead. It has been my goal for two years and I somehow am going to accomplish it this year. The housing bubble was supposed to have burst by now, but alas that has not happened. So I will have to come up with new ideas. I currently live in a rental and am very limited in what I can do. I owned my own home on only .25 acre outside of the city and was urban farming. I grew gardens, plants, collected and dried seeds, planted fruit trees, bushes, started learning to do many new things. Unfortunately life has its ups and downs and my ex-husband essentially stole the home out from under us. My children and I lived there for many years. He spent about 60-90 days a year there as he was military and was active. He had no attachment to the home and he could not care less to sell it, breaking our hearts.
I believe everything happens for a reason, and he had undergone a totally personality change and has major psychiatric issues now and revels in it. The best thing for me and the kids was for him to leave us. But it made us more determined to fly again!

The universe was wonderful and brought my soul mate and I back into each others lives after having been torn apart by circumstances outside of our control sixteen years prior. It has been a wonderful growing experience. We are still so much alike and our children are like each other. It is as if we were all meant to be together in the now. As sad as I was for all of those lost years, it seems the universe truly knows what we need. Between us we have one boy and the rest girls. My son is the eldest at 25. Then we have 23, 19,15,12,10,8,and 2 year granddaughter. The nineteen year old and below live with us. It has been an amazing combining over the last year, and we even have a "familyversary". We ALL want to homestead.

Our plans include a home, rabbits for pets and meat, chickens, pig, cow, our dogs and cat, some more cats, goats for milk, growing food, canning, dry freezing, and more and more. One of the most important things to us is to INVITE family and friends to come out and grow foods etc. We want to share the land because we know that not everyone can do this. We are both divorced so have had to clean up credit scores from exes terrible spending habits. But I am determined we will succeed. I feel that every person should have the RIGHT to grow their own organic foods, not for it to be a privilege. If we can get enough land (some day) I would really like to have a homesteading community. I think it would be a great investment of time and resources for anyone who wants to be able to do this. We will not be completely off-grid because of medical needs, but we will be partially off-grid. Who knows that the future will hold.

So I have decided to document our journey into homesteading. So far we have seeds I have harvested and new plant starts, we are getting into meat rabbits, though we may have to keep them at a family members house for now. The kids are all taught or being taught how to cook from scratch, we crochet and knit and are learning to sew. I also have very dedicated artists, so lots of paints, colors, canvases for the children. I have genuine one of a kind decor! We are going to learn watercolors from natural dyes this spring.

I will not only document our journey but any new projects we do getting ready for our homestead. We are starting now and I think the positive energy will help to keep us going.

Anyone who would like to see more of our journey please stay tuned.

Sort:  

I live in a really expensive urban area. I have always dreamed of being able to have a homestead. As you described above--it is the sense of self-sufficiency that feels rewarding to me.

Ever since I was a little kid I have always been fascinated by getting food out of the ground. To me it is the ultimate in creativity. I feel the same way about raising animals--specifically chickens.

To be able to create food is a great privilege, although I wish it were a right. There is something natural about living off of the land and being denied that seems to go against the natural order of all things on earth.

Thanks for the comment. It is really great to connect with others who understand and feel the same way.

I just wanted to drop in and say I am sorry for the pain your ex caused in your lives, but I am extremely happy for you finding your people. I believe in your journey very much, and am sending my best wishes that you make your dreams a reality this year. I hope that you find everything you ever dreamed of AND MORE. Go get 'em!!

thank you for your warm words of encouragement. It put a smile on my face and just reinforces that I am on the right journey. I learned about soul families today and I genuinely feel like that is what I/we have found.

Beautiful, truly!! I am so happy for you!!

This act of homesteading will really help in eradicating poverty and famine in the land of living because everyone will be able to provide the food his family needs. And these also will enhance good health condition. How? Family will be able to eat natural food and not preservative food preserved by chemicals and d rest

I absolutely agree. I just wish there was a way to make it possible for more people. It is a hard journey but once I can get there I will help others as well.

Definitely going to stay tuned! Thank you for letting us peek into your lives and share in the excitement of your journey! I think we’re a couple years from purchacing a piece of land, but we have similar plans, and I hope to document our progress and projects as well. Sending you good and prosperous vibes for 2018!

So glad that you appreciate this. I will be glad to have you follow along with us, and maybe something we do will help you in your journey.

I agree that perhaps the biggest limitation with homesteading is you need a certain amount of investment before getting into it. Unless you have the courage to just enter a forest and live off it like a sadhu. I'm lucky that my parents support my interests and are willing to help me financially. I'm so happy you get to live your dream, and the universe provided. I'm a firm believer that if the intention is strong enough, the results will arrive. Here's wishing you all the best with your ventures, and I'll be tuned for updates and shared inspiration.

We are not living the dream yet, but working towards it. Wouldn't it be nice if it was just as easy as staking a spot in the forest/countryside and getting down to it? Thanks for following. I hope you enjoy our journey.

Great article. Im definitely following for more. You made a great point about the cost of land going up and up in rural areas. The same thing is happening in Australia snd homesteading looks like its going doen the path of privilege.

Thank you for the encouragement. I am happy to have you follow. Sadly, homesteading does seem to be more of a privilege (at least in some areas) than a right. It really should be the other way.

What a beautiful journey, it's interesting how life works in it's mysterious ways. It's so wonderful of you to open up the homesteading opportunity to friends & family. I too believe everyone 'should have the RIGHT to grow their own organic foods'. I began my journey to homesteading by renting a piece of land with a run down farm on it and living in a trailer. Got some goats & chickens. Then was forced to move because of the city bylaw (loong story I should really make a post about) then I moved into the middle of the woods for a year on my own and learned how to operate off a battery bank, use a woodstove etc. And now for the past half a year I've been with a small community thanks to the landowner sharing this dream. Followed & resteemed. I look forward to hearing more ^_^

We would even jump at the chance to rent a place with some land, but have not been able to find that so far. Unfortunately we are not lucky enough to have parents that can support our dream, but we will work our hardest to some how do it.

I imagine it's more difficult because you have to remain close to the city. I found all those places through word of mouth so that appears to be the best method; networking with people. Yeah I hear ya, whilst my parents are supportive of my lifestyle, I'm the one helping them financially. Respect

Best of luck and life to you! Self sufficiency is freedom, ;)

Yes, it really is. Once you are even the tiniest bit self sufficient that feeling is awesome. The desire to do more pulls and pushes. It is enthralling. Thank you for your nice comment.

Never give up on your homesteading dreams! do everything you can to practice now, grow plants, maybe get a rabbit or two, but practice, practice, practice. Start to create systems that work for and your family, have each family member that is going to be living on your future homestead become an "expert" at something you want to do in the future. Best of luck, let us know if you need any advice.

Thank you for your encouragement and advice. We are doing what we can and making a list of more things we can learn and do!

Great! I hope 2018 is amazing for you! All of the hardwork is worth it. The wait will be worth it!

Thanks so much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40