Sewing the Stella Sweater

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

pinterest steemit titelbild(1).png

I am boring. And a coward. Now it is out. And as it is #nedleworkmonday you have guessed right, I spoke of my sewing abilities. Last year I think I have made approximately a million half circle skirts with an elastic waistband. At least if not more :-D
This year started with an orgy in sweaters and shirts. I started with a pattern from the new Rosa P. book which was meant as a turtleneck. I made this shirt three times and already have cut out the fabric for a fourth one. As I do not need four turtleneck shirts, I modified the neckline...I told you I am boring :-D

Kopie von old neckline(21).png


But today I will present you my newest obsession the Stella sweater from fibremood. You could glimpse at the traced pattern last week and I was boring good, I finished this sweater and did not tried something else.

Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(6).png


The Stella sweater has wide batwing sleeves and is very short. Short is good in my opinion, but I was not so sure, if the wide sleeves would look flattering on me as the models in the magazine are all very tall and thin. But the pattern was so intriguing that I wanted to try it in spite of the risk (ohhh… I notice a small sign of me being more daring in sewing :-D)
The special feature of this sweater is, that its sleeves are constructed out of multiple parts. This allows crazy mixtures of fabric in different colours and patterns.

Kopie von old neckline(22).png


For my first attempt I used two different anthracite fabrics, one dotted and one with subtle stripes. Both were again lucky finds from the bargain box of my personal local fabric store. I used size L which fits perfectly with one little modification: I made the waistband almost as wide as the sweater. The original pattern uses a waistband which is a bit smaller than the body of the sweater and is sewn on stretched. For the rest I followed the description, and all went well even for me as a still beginning sewer.

Design ohne Titel(172).png


Now comes the boring part: I made another one :-D I had enough of the polka dot fabric for the body of a second sweater and I added a red fabric for the upper parts of the sleeves. For the underarm parts I have chosen a grey fabric which I had cut from too long skirt. I like this new combination even more as the first one, but unfortunately the skirt-fabric is a bit stiff. Next time I will be more attentive to the drape of the fabric….

Kopie von old neckline(23).png
As you can see, I am not completely finished. I will make the neckline and the cuffs out of the red fabric today.


Next time…. Yes, there will be a next time :-D I told you I am boring, if I learned something I stick with. I am too lazy to try out new things. And I saw on Instagram a beautiful version of the Stella sweater in a bold flower fabric :-D


Thank you @crosheille for iniciating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.

needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

Hahaha, it's such a pleasure to read your post. You have such an adorable way of criticizing yourself :D It just made me laugh..

I haven't heard of the stella sweater before but when I saw yours I realized that I too have one! Just didn't know that it was THE stella sweater, lol.

I love your model picture. You don't care about what kind of posture you make, you just go in front of the camera and pose :D COOL!

Happy sewing and I'm looking forward to the year of Stella sweaters :D

Have a lovely day!

I am so happy I could make you laugh a bit :-D I often think the world can be such a dark place, so its nice to read some fun things which cheer up. And that you also have a Stella: wow what a coincidence (or perhaps fate 😂) I am so happy that I dared to try this fit... as you read, now I am obsessed with it. Tomorrow we have a fabric fair (Netherlands fabric fair with soooooo many stalls) and I will search for a nice flower Jersey. What a pity that fabric is so expensive...
I am now curious of your Stella sweater, will you post it someday?
And with the posing.... I may have written this already, but there are two hearts beating in my breast: one being an exhibitionistic extroverted artist and the other being a gruesome critic of myself. So, often I am not as daring, as I would like to be and often I am ok doing things before a camera/on stage and afterwards I beat myself up.
But nevertheless I am compliment-sponge - so, thank youuuuuuu 🥰🌈💕

Did you find that flower Jersey that you were looking for? I've never been to a fabric fair. In which city is it? I've never heard of something like that in Switzerland..

Oh, well, that is a completely different topic to my usual posts but when I think about it, it would be nice for a change :) So I'll see. But I'll probably posts just a sweater as I try to keep photos of myself to minimum (generally on all social media sites) :)

That is a complicated personality :) So if you're not in the mood to stand in front of the camera, you just go to bed, wake up the next day and there is a big chance that you'll feel differently about it :) That's very interesting :)

My pleasure :)

No flower jersey for me... but I found another beautiful jersey which reminded me of eighties band shirts which I want to combine with black and forest green for a sweater with stripes. If all is ok on Monday with my father (I accompany him to his radiation therapy) I will write about the fabric market. The market tours through Germany and is approx two times per year in every big town.
https://www.stoffmarktholland.de/termine/
And with your sweater: no problem, just do what’s comfortable for you <3

Oooo the sweater is so groovy and I can see the groovyness in the one you are sewing now! Love the mix and match fabric action and it looks really comfy.
And you are NOT boring and you are NOT a coward! I think you are so brave and creative and interesting to try all these projects! First the socks and now this! And if you make like a dozen of these, so/sew what? If you like it, so/sew be it! :)
How did you sew the neckline? That is my Achilles heel. I am thinking if I should get a serger..But it is expensive too. Why are all cool machines and gadgets expensive?

Thank youuuuu🙏💕🌈 And you’re right, it is very comfortable (one reason why I made the waistband wider :-D) And naturally you are right, but when I am alone with my brain it often comes up with very criticising thoughts, like ‚I should learn faster in sewing‘ ‚I should try out new techniques‘ and so on.
But I love your ‚sew be it‘ I will follow your lead.
And with the neckline, I work it exactly like a waistband (only that I do not make the waistband smaller) For a neckband made of jersey i make it smaller than the neckopening. I measure the neckopening and multiply it with 0,8 or when super stretchy 0,7.
Now I sew a ring of fabric, fold it lengthwise in half and iron it. I mark four points for the middle of the back and front and the sides. Then I have the sweater with the right side showing and I pull the neckband with the open side upwards over it. I stretch the neckband to fit over the neckopening and pin it. (This step I find fiddly) Next is sewing it with a zigzag stitch and then folding it into the final position. If it is ok, then I will sew it again on the right side with a straight stitch to keep the inner seem flat.
This explaination is perhaps not very helpful. But I will try to send you some photos of my sweater‘s neckline on discord (the neckline is stilling not done) maybe this helps.
By the way, I am afraid of sewing the cuffs of the sleeves 😂😂 I know it works the same as waistband and neckline, but it is so small....

A nice way of boringness. ;)
And that sweater suits you very well.

Thank you so much ☺️ I gave my best on being boring 😂🤪 But nevertheless I would like myself to be a bit more ambitious in sewing... But before I learn more, I will make another Stella sweater :-D

I like your sweater pattern. It looks like the type of design that would fit me as well.

Thank you 🙏 and I would be happy to see such a design on you. I am not sure if this magazine is also published in the USA, but I guess you are much more experience in sewing and perhaps do not need such a pattern. I am not daring enough to improvise in sewing 😂

The Stella sweater is fun and looks perfect on you!
When I use to sew, I would make three of everything in different fabrics, so I won’t be surprised if you make at least one more. 😏

Thank you so much for the compliment 🙏😊 And good to hear I am not alone in my drive to sew multiple examples of a pattern. And yes I so want to sew a flower Stella. In two days we have this fabric fair in town, hopefully I will find a inexpensive flower fabric.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for your awesome work <3

These are so cute, @neumannsalva :) I like both the black dots on black and the red on black dots variations <3

And you are too adorable <3 <3 <3

Uhhhh I am blushing ☺️ I love to make fun in front of the camera... but while getting older not all photos look nice (did I already said that I do not like my inner critic, it is not helpful) I so appreciate your compliment 💕💕

I've noticed this trend of mix and match fabrics - lots of opportunity for creativity and, even better, using up multiple scraps from bargain baskets that are not big enough for a complete garment. You're getting off to a good start with four tops, and now three more (is that correct)? :D
By the way, I love the cardigan :)

Yes there seems generally a trend to adventurous pattern mixes in fashion... I am a bit late, but I currently try to fight my sad mood with weird colours/patterns.
And yes (feeling slightly ashamed) I think I made many sweaters... three Rosa P designs (one is only cut out, not finished yet) and two Stella sweater. But I already have dreams of a boxy and wide raglan shirt and in the new fibremood magazine is a wonderful long and ruffled dress.... but the latter is perhaps to advanced for me.
And with the cardigan: it is a gift from my mother and I also love it very much 😍😍

I am always so impressed by your talent. Boring never.
The time and organization you have are impressive to say the least.

I may be going out on a limb here .. I need to do a post but if you haven't voted would you mind voting for the other community I am in @steemitbloggers? We are in 2nd place for a 20K delegation for one year from @theycallmedan a very generous man.

Thanks, @neumannsalva here is the link. Vote here: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

Not to do something wrong... I would help you if I vote for @steemitbloggers ? Then I will do this instantly.
And with the time and organisation.. nothing to admire. I have time, sadly, as I currently can not work because of my frequent migraines. I try to create something, so I do not feel completely worthless. Sigh, not a nice topic. But nevertheless I so appreciate if you like the sweater. Sewing does not come naturally for me, I am always a bit afraid, that I do something stupid :-DDD

I love your sewing ... at least you do it. Repeating something is great too you become better.
I have never sewn much at all.

I forgot to tell you Login to steemconnect (PLEASE DO THIS FIRST) then click the link.

Thank you sooooo much!!! :)

I like that style! :)

THank you and happy you like it 🙏🌺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38