You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sewing the Stella Sweater

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Oooo the sweater is so groovy and I can see the groovyness in the one you are sewing now! Love the mix and match fabric action and it looks really comfy.
And you are NOT boring and you are NOT a coward! I think you are so brave and creative and interesting to try all these projects! First the socks and now this! And if you make like a dozen of these, so/sew what? If you like it, so/sew be it! :)
How did you sew the neckline? That is my Achilles heel. I am thinking if I should get a serger..But it is expensive too. Why are all cool machines and gadgets expensive?

Sort:  

Thank youuuuu🙏💕🌈 And you’re right, it is very comfortable (one reason why I made the waistband wider :-D) And naturally you are right, but when I am alone with my brain it often comes up with very criticising thoughts, like ‚I should learn faster in sewing‘ ‚I should try out new techniques‘ and so on.
But I love your ‚sew be it‘ I will follow your lead.
And with the neckline, I work it exactly like a waistband (only that I do not make the waistband smaller) For a neckband made of jersey i make it smaller than the neckopening. I measure the neckopening and multiply it with 0,8 or when super stretchy 0,7.
Now I sew a ring of fabric, fold it lengthwise in half and iron it. I mark four points for the middle of the back and front and the sides. Then I have the sweater with the right side showing and I pull the neckband with the open side upwards over it. I stretch the neckband to fit over the neckopening and pin it. (This step I find fiddly) Next is sewing it with a zigzag stitch and then folding it into the final position. If it is ok, then I will sew it again on the right side with a straight stitch to keep the inner seem flat.
This explaination is perhaps not very helpful. But I will try to send you some photos of my sweater‘s neckline on discord (the neckline is stilling not done) maybe this helps.
By the way, I am afraid of sewing the cuffs of the sleeves 😂😂 I know it works the same as waistband and neckline, but it is so small....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37