How to (not) shrink a too big bustline... in a knitted cardigan

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Last week I presented you with the riddle of how to shrink a too big bustline in a knitted cardigan. Perhaps you remember – it’s my blue-gray Miette cardigan which I on the one hand made to big in neckline and bust area and on the other hand which had bust darts which formed two baggy protuberances one cannot ignore (especially because they stay empty even when I wear the cardi).

Design ohne Titel(23).png


I got so many helpful, funny, and comforting answers from you (thank you!!!!!) that I made a big step forward into finishing the cardigan: I started the first sleeve. Now I hear you wondering ‘why didn’t she followed our advice and tackled first the bustline problem?’ And I wonder with you. I misguided my self into thinking, that the sweater would miraculous fit, if I simply finish the sleeve.

I could not convince myself entirely, so I distracted myself from sensible and honest thoughts by starting to sew a jeans skirt. But everything is connected and so the sewing led to a new attempt of mending the sweater, but with a little detour.

#needleworkmonday.png


The sewing was dammed in the beginning, every time I started to seam the fabric, the thread tore. As I told you, I am not so experienced in sewing and perhaps I am a tad stubborn and ignorant, so I tried it not one time but perhaps eleven three times. But the thread did not work. I have a very sweet neighbour who is more accomplished in sewing and she told me that I was using a too old and thin cotton thread which was the culprit. I believed her (yes, I can be sensible) and went to the fabric store to buy something adequate. This store has two very nice salespersons who started to chat, and we wandered from sewing to crochet to knitting and I again presented my cardigan problem. And they presented me with another very easy idea how to mend this huge bustline. And because I am lazy at the bottom of my heart I immediately jumped on this ‘simple’ solution. I am sure you already can imagine how this went.

Design ohne Titel(27).png


The idea was to sew a curve beginning at the waist up to the armpit to the sleeve and so tuck away the excess fabric. I discussed this technique with a goo friend who was instantly sceptical, but nevertheless wanted to help me. She recommend that I firstly block the cardigan and that I should press down the protuberances… and I followed that advice (I am learning :-D) The sweater was dry very fast, because we have again summer instead of spring and so we went into the forest to find a secluded spot. Firstly I forced gently persuaded my friend to take the camera and document everything, then I sat down to sew. I turned the sweater on the wrong side and basted everything together. And surprise… I produced a lovely bulge. Arghhhhhh!!!!!!

Design ohne Titel(26).png


I think the idea with this sewn curve was ok, but the yarn of the sweater is simply too bulky to make an invisible seam - I could not get it tapered out (not sure if the term is right).

Because it was super hot (me wearing a wool sweater did not made it better) we fell a little bit overboard with the photos.

Design ohne Titel(24).png


End of story: I will wear this sweater as it is. The blocking helped a bit and perhaps I will get used to its appearance. If I ever think again about mending this sweater I will try out @shanibeer idea to steek, @cryptocariad idea with the lacing and if nothing helps I will reenact Cinderella (recommend by @jamethiel )

find a random stranger with a big bust but narrow waist and throw it at them, then run! It would be like Cinderella but with a cardigan and the fairy godmother has cool glowing wands (Star Wars knitting needles which glow in the dark)! If the Cardigan fits, you get to go to the ball...

Happy #needleworkmoday to you all (not sure if I should not better publish my posts under the hashtag #craftfail ??) And big thanks to Silvia Szlapka a for the photos and the patience


needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

Once again I'm dying laughing. Those photos of you goofing around!!!😂 This has to be the most humorously documented sweater on the internet...thanks for such a funny and enjoyable post, it made my morning!

Though I am sorry it bulged after you sewed it. I think @tali72 did a post a few weeks ago about something similar with a sweater, and she cut away the extra material to make it lay flat.

Happy I made you laugh :-D
And I read the post of @tali72 , but I think my sweater is simply too thick to be sewn successfully without a bulge. Perhaps with a overlock machine as @crytocariad proposed...

Heeey, this is Miette! I found the pattern on Raverly and started knitting it few years ago ... then I've not finished it yet. It was a good reminder to start knitting it again :)

Yes the miette :-D It is such a lovely pattern. Do you have the project on ravelry? I am curious which yarn you used (I am thinking of starting one in cotton)

Knitting in cotton was the problem I had. The yarn splits so easily comparing to wool one. But it's not the yarn's problem more like just I haven't knitted with cotton yarn. I used red cotton yarn from Wolle Rödel:
https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/wolle-rodel-cottonell-solids
I may use thinner yarn for my second attempt to make it a bit lighter :)

urgs, this does not sound too good... I seldom use cotton yarn because it is so plitty and because it has a strange feeling on the needles, but I thought it would be great for the stitch definition. I have to ponder this....

hee hee hee :)))) I adore your humor !!!! wow !!! you already finished one sleeve! improvements have greatly helped. I like how your cardigan looks. when you finish the second sleeve, it will be gorgeous!

Thank youuuuu - and I am nearly finished. I completed the second sleeve, now I have to sew on the buttons and wait for the next winter to wear it :-DDD

You are very funny! I kept smiling reading this post. Anyway, I would not notice the bulge if you did not tell me. When you put on this sweater in winter, I think people will not really pay attention too because they are busy making their body warm!😂

Happy I made you smile, and it is encouraging to hear my miscalculating is not too obvious. I also hope it will be ok with warmer and more clothes beneath :-D

You have such a good sense of humor about it! It looks so pretty anyway. See what it looks like when you are bundled up for winter underneath maybe? It might not be so noticeable when you have layers under it?

Thank you! And there is no other way than humor, if you have my skill in math and in estimating the size of knitted items :-DDD
And you are right, I think with a more winterly outfit, the sweater will look better and the cupsize not so big (pleaaassseeee)

That's a good plan!

Hahah.. you are funny @neumannsalva! If you hadn't pointed out the bustline problem, I wouldn't have noticed! You did a great job! I am still far from being able to knit like that.. Straight lines for now 😜

Thank you so much for the compliment. But the pattern is not really hard. I think advanced beginner. If you already know how to knit a top down raglan sweater, then I would recommend this patter, it is very well written. If you have never worked top-down (in crochet or knitting) than I would star with a pattern without lace :-D

I admire your patience, as I have very little for a sweater project. Love the design around the waist line and button line. It is beautiful and I am sure you will figure out something that works!

It so interesting to learn about other crafters preferences. I more or less only make cardigans and pullover - everything smaller makes me nervous. I so admire amigurumi for example, but I do not like to work with thin yarn and small circumferences. Then my fingers start to hurt, and I get impatient.
And with the sweater... perhaps I will block it again and try to wear it as it is (I also love the design and the designer. She has many more beautiful sweater patterns)

This is what happened to my too big jumper:
IMG_1776.JPG
We tried a similar technique of taking in the sides and sleeves, but like yours, it was too bulky and refused to hang properly. I think @phoenixwren has the next best idea.

Sorry I wanted to be funny. I think you are simply more courageous than me to unravel a garment which does not fit. I am still deluding myself, that the sweater is ok... if you close your eyes or it is very dark outside.

Haha - actually I don't feel so bad undoing it here in the sunshine 😎

I hope you are sitting at the sea and relax profoundly (while perhaps starting a new cardigan?)

My sister asked me to help find out what was wrong with her sewing machine and this happened:

IMG_1778.JPG

All our surgery couldn't revive it - a rubber part had perished

But at least this patient survived and is back in working order.
IMG_1780.JPG

Wow I have never seen the intestines of a sewing machine. And cudos to you, that you were able to repair it. But I still hope you are doing this at a beautiful beach :-D

I loved all the action photos @neumannsalva :)

Apologies for the quality of the photo below... When I did some surgery on a very cheap shop-bought cardigan, I used my overlocker/serger which trimmed the shape of the curve. It was tough doing the overlocking on the knitted garment but it worked - it doesn't really show on the outside.

You succeeded with what I tried 👍 👍👍 👍. The sewing machine maybe another alternative I could try. Sadly, I don't have an overlock machine (And I never tried to sew knitted fabric) There is a sewing school in town and I am contemplating to ask there, if someone dares to sew this sweater...
Thank you for this good tip <3

Lol, this cardigan is on the spot yet again! The first thing that caught my eye was the sleeves. I actually crave a dress with a long sleeve and a short sleeve just like that. Long story short , This sweater must be worn☺ .Your friend took really nice pictures of you tho, lovely spring delight.
So what happened to the jean skirt you wanted to sew ?

laugh My friend who took the photos also thought I will leave one sleeve unfinished, but now I still want to finish this thing :-D I can imagine a dress with this short/long design. The cardigan is so warm I will wear it more in winter and one short sleeve would not be practical.
And the skirt is finished. I wanted to write about for next Monday. But it is a super simple design and my execution is so so :-D (nothing to compare to your exceptional sewing skills)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39