The Thing That Should Not Be...

Everyone shares their most amazing successes on social media, but none of their failures. I like to show off some of my flops as an encouragement to those of you who feel inadequate in a Pinterest-perfect world. Here is monster leftovers scarf:

You can read about Really Hideous Knitting at https://hubpages.com/art/Really-Hideous-Knitting where I have included more links to some unbelievably ugly knitting. Get your laughs for NeedleworkMonday, then enjoy all the beautiful work everyone else has posted. Smile! And keep knitting/crocheting/sewing.

Sort:  

beauty is in the eye of the beholder... as others in the post have mentioned the purple has a lot of fans... what is interesting though is that sometimes what we think are "mistakes" or "hideous' turn out to be real art! :) This is especially true with photography and film!

So true! I call mistakes "design opportunities."

I like all shades of purple @fiberfrau...

If you look at my post today you will see that despite my best attempts, the cuffs of the pyjama top I made now have big holes left by two thick a sewing machine needle... My mistake was not to check the size of the needle...
I see what you mean by just posting 'perfection'. Personally, I am not afraid about posting about my limitations because I think it may help someone else ... 😊

My Mom taught me from an early age how to rip back my mistakes and fix them. A valuable lesson: do not fear mistakes, just learn from them and fix them.

Yes, even if it hurts because you put so much energy and time in a project. What use it is if you don't even want to look at it? Better make something else and salvage something from it.

Though with these fuzzy yarns in the scarf I'm not sure if there's something to reuse.

We don't learn if we don't try. My mantra these days is "It's good enough." Perfect is for photographers and Martha Stewart. The rest of us just get to have FUN and be happy we created something!!!

Have a great weekend @fiberfrau!!

I too like the colors of the purple. I agree with you about sharing our failures as well as our victories. I like to share or talk about what went wrong on my projects because we all have been there. We all make mistakes and things don’t always go as planned. It think it does encourage others to see its not always perfect but you will run into kinks along the way sometimes. We learn from our mistakes as well so my mistake might help someone else not to make the same.

Great post and great reminder for us @fiberfrau!! Thank you~ 😊

Thank you! I like to think I learn more than others because I am not afraid to try things and make mistakes. I make more mistakes, I learn more. Eventually, I could be a genius?!? :)

Haaaa! I like that. Yes it’s true the more mistakes we make the more we learn!

Nice idea! I thought about sharing my gardening failure today seeing funnily grown plants in my balcony.

Luckily I didn't make a monster by crocheting or knitting but someday I may join this ;)

I love seeing nature's quirks. :)

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I think I have some "monster pieces" like yours somewhere in the closet, waiting to be rescued :-)

Congratulations @fiberfrau! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


You can upvote this notification to to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I don't see them as mistakes, they are learning experiences. If we don't produce the occasional less-than-perfect project, we don't grow and learn! Thanks for posting this @fiberfrau

Every mistake is a style! Or a step towards learning

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47