#needleworkmonday : Continuing the fluffy cardigan

This is just an update after a couple of busy weeks of sorting and helping to move two of our daughters to different UK unis - logistics has been a very important issue for us here, @jamethiel :D

As a recap I’m making a cardigan for an 8 year-old with this very fluffy yarn with mohair. You can read about its beginnings here.

It grows fast because I'm using a size 6.0mm crochet hook, but it’s been quite challenging to unravel it. Practice makes perfect and I've done a lot of unravelling.

I have no real pattern and I’m experimenting and thinking of best ways to make a comfortable garment for a child as I go along.

Crocheting the right shape for the sleeves has been interesting:

The flat piece above looks a bit too small when folded (see photo below); so it will have to be unravelled.

I then decided that rather than making separate sleeves I should just crochet them as extensions from the cardigan.

My friend asked for ¾ sleeves so I was thinking that I only needed about 3 more rows and then sewing.

I now have a few doubts about the width so I will check again as I would like this cardigan to be comfortable.

The whole process is taking longer than anticipated but I’m happy with the collar as I’d never made one before and had to work it out :D

Hopefully, I will show you the finished project next week 😄 !



photos by @cryptocariad



With thanks to @crosheille for hosting the @needleworkmonday group of enthusiasts and to @crystalize 🌷

💗 Thank you for reading 💗

Sort:  

I'm always impressed with your maker skills @cryptocariad I like the way the collar came out

Thank you, @steven-patrick - and so do I ... it's the first time I've made that sort of collar too :D

I think you did a good job on the collar! Kudos to you for giving it a go and free styling this cardigan! I hope the width and length work out to be a great fit. It looks like it will fit comfortably.

Looking forward for the finished result!!

I hope so too, @crosheille - she's a petite 8 year old luckily :D

I love the collar and the sleeves @cryptocariad :) I am amazed that you did it freestyle patternless. I love the colour too. Nicee! Can’t wait to see the finished project :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I often regret not just following patterns because it would definitely be a less painful process, @marblely, but finding a pattern that meets all the variables is hard sometimes

That is coming together so well! Great job!

Thank you, @jamethiel - I'm enjoying the creation process and wish I had more time to complete it quickly...

That wool looks beautiful made up into a garment, I like the subtlety of the colours. The design looks good, too, I especially like the collar. I hope everything is settling down after your big moves, it must feel very different now.
Do you want to take part in the @treeplanter voting circle I'm running this week? You can find out more about it in this post. Have a lovely week!

Thank you, @shanibeer ! I've been out to Swansea today and will be going back again on Thursday so it's all a bit hectic at the moment, but hopefully @tinygalaxy will be completely settled and supported there soon.
At home it's all much quieter but we're not that far away and thanks to social media we're in touch quite often - of course the youngest feels a little bit at a loss sometimes I think :(
I'll pass on the voting circle this time, thanks !

This looks nearly done :-D And I am with you with the unraveling... no fun with this kind of fluffy yarn. I hope the measurements are ok, so you can finish it. I still love the colour combo <3

I'm currently once again having second thoughts on the sleeve shape, @neumannsalva ! The colour is really nice :D

oh no, I hope you find a solution... (is it too small?)

Not the size but the angle, @neumannsalva. I think the top of the sleeve needs to have some shaping to make it more comfortable so there isn't so much excess of 'fabric' when the arm is down.

Do you have an idea how to shape it? With a crochet shortrow equivalent? I hope you post your solution, I think this will be very helpful for us all...

I actually went back to the very first shape, @neumannsalva! Let's say, I decided to remake it and stick to it... The other shape of sleeve is fine for thinner more 'flexible' fabric. For this project comfort was the main thing.

Ok... sometimes (or most times ) the first idea is the best... I am looking forward to the finished cardigan.

I love this! Especially the design as you go approach. Lovely color! I think kids notice the love that goes into these garments.

Thank you, @kimmac ! As you say I just want to make it comfortable... It's a slow process though !

I like this stylish little cardigan with a shawl collar. I am interested to see the finished result

Thank you, @tali72. I'm looking forward to finishing too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66