NeedleWorkMonday - Learning to Sew with Mom ~

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

3043E460-7187-45BC-9A27-6375C93A10F7.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday...the holiday for needleworkers!!! 😄 In case you haven’t noticed I have not posted any videos lately for my crochet series ’Crochet with CroSheille’. Our sewing class is taking over my free crafting time. I don’t mind though because I am learning a valuable skill with my daughter. I am also taking advantage of my mother’s youth and energy and learning from her while I still can. I wouldn’t want to learn from anyone else. On top of the sewing lessons our 4 month old daughter is getting more active and seeking more attention. I don’t have a lot of time to set up for the crochet tutorials let alone trying to find some quiet time around this busy noisy house lol. There is hardly a dull moment but when there is I am either tending to our home, lesson planning or trying to catch some 💤 myself. I hope to get back to the series when I return from my break in December.

We continued working on our straight lines this week. No, I did not pick up that crooked lined apron again. 😜 I am moving forward and will not focus on fixing it right now, not sure if I ever will. If I spend too much time on something like that it will make me want to quit again. I need to stay motivated in order to conquer this sewing adventure.

CE686E33-6C4F-40C3-A542-52562F5B2355.jpeg

These squares probably look familiar to you. They are the leftovers from the baby quilt blanket my mom made. She let us use them to pin and sew for practice that night.

08244527-232C-46E3-B93B-CF0B77D42451.jpeg

Here’s my daughter aligning her first squares together and preparing to pin them. I was so proud of her because she did so well with this. She’s getting better and better at pinning.

1FB7617C-0813-4B7D-94A6-7271DA164BCD.jpeg

D468B283-F49B-4454-BAC3-A40E2D56E2A3.jpeg

After getting all of the pins in she went right to the machine to began sewing them together.

190B655F-58DB-4846-A971-5DF197B13624.jpeg

She brought her Teddy along to watch her. He told her if she did well he’d give her this green tomato. 😁

She laughed when she saw this picture. I snuck and grabbed him for the photo while she was sewing.

008D1FA5-380A-48AE-8DF0-60120CE8A0DA.jpeg

Oh and by the way my daughter has also shown interests in learning photography. All of the pics you see of my mother and I were taken by her :)

459D142C-3505-4C4A-A04D-8DA93112D197.jpeg

9AEF369A-C3A8-4928-A9EE-038761644689.jpeg

Now it’s my turn to pin. These are the squares I decided to put together to sew. I actually work a lot on my own while my mother works with my daughter. She gives me instructions and I go back and forth working and watching them. I like to see her progress and don’t want to miss anything exciting that she learns. She definitely is more of a natural than I was. I am amazed how well she catches on to things.

D9603729-81AC-487C-83C9-350EA2654599.jpeg

Here I am working hard at the machine. 😅 I forgot to take close ups of my lines but I can assure you they were way straighter than the lines on the apron. My mom gave me an A that night which is an improvement from the C I got for that apron lol!

BDE97464-00F3-4F9D-9F6C-E332C8AEC692.jpeg

All done! We did a few rounds of these before leaving. My mom was convinced we were ready to begin our actual projects. I will be sharing with you the start of those next week. Yay!!!

EAFB184D-7A2B-458F-8C83-E0A1B8610C39.jpeg

You know you’ve been sewing for years when your can of lubricant oil looks like this. My mom has been using this can for a long time. She said it doesn’t take much to oil her machines and this oil has lasted her for some years now. It was funny seeing this old school can.

We’ll see you next week!

Previous Sewing Classes

Post 1

Post 2

C2D24352-9E85-4DFD-9D66-6F678F3E6C25.png

I will be taking a break from Steemit and Discord for the whole month of November. I have to take care of some family matters. I will not be posting (from my personal account or the @needleworkmonday account) nor curating during that time. However @muscara and @marblely will be stepping in to do the Curation posts and Resteems for that month! Thank you so much ladies! Just wanted to give you all a heads up ;)

E216DACE-6F21-4CF8-846C-19BC749960C4.png

Also needleworkers, there is another opportunity for us to receive STEEM for our community account! @leotrap is celebrating a milestone he has reached and is giving away STEEM to a community in celebration of it! Please head over to read and upvote his Post, find my comment and upvote it as well. You can leave a comment under mine if you feel up to it. He stated that the more upvotes and responses from the members of our communities will give us a better chance at receiving it! We need everyone’s help in order for our community to keep growing. The more we participate in events like these the more our community will be known to others. Let’s let the Steemit plattform know that we are here and working hard to inspire others with our creations!! This benefits all of us! Thanks in advance~ ❤️

4693D412-6F55-45EA-8AD9-E8CC9F1AF53D.png

Thanks for Coming to Sewing Class!

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

6F1CBD7E-1F43-49BB-BC4E-6E05617C1AA0.gif

FEC5D05A-4D82-4BE9-8313-ED6F4C2CD870.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

How fantastic that your mother is teaching you and your daughter to sew! I learned to sew when was 9.5 years old! I loved it and really enjoyed learning!

Thank you @violetmed! That’s awesome you learned how to sew so young. My daughter is 8 and she made this decision on her own. I wish I would have learned years ago because my patience is shorter now lol. I am glad I still have this chance, better late than never :)

Thanks for sharing.
I am not much of that even my dad side of the family were mostly tailors.
Thanks for sharing

Absolutely! My mom is the only one in our family that has been a seamstress. My daughter and I will be the next! 😃

Thank you for visiting! 😊

It's great to see you work on your sewing and doing it with family. I love the pictures, you surely can be proud of your work:)

Though I'm a bit confused to see how you put the pins, I learnt to put them perpendicular to the seam you're working on so that you can easily sew over them.

Thank you @muscara! I am really going to work hard and stick with it! I’m looking forward to your sewing posts!! 😃😉

Oh that’s because my mom doesn’t sew over the needles. She learnt to always take them out as you go so you won’t accidentally sew over the needles and damage your machine needle. So once we get close to the needles we take them out one by one and continue sewing until we reach the next one. It’s so neat how everyone learns different techniques.

You learn the "correct" way and I learnt the "fast" way ;)

It is nice to be able to enjoy that with your mom and daughter, special moments indeed! You both did great, enjoy your break, sounds like you really need it.

Yes it really is nice and such a blessing to have this opportunity! Thanks so much! Oh yes, this is a MUCH needed break! 😄

That's wonderful, @crosheille : intergenerational sewing !

I love the idea of sewing squares into a patchwork quilt - it's so tempting and inspirational ... now back to sorting stuff for me :D

Thank you @cryptocariad! Hey I might have to add that term into my title!!! 😃

intergenerational

It was fun and it did help us practice our straight sewing. Now bring on the projects!! Haaa

Thanks for your continued support ~ 💗

Are things better your way? How is the cleanup coming along?

I love this!! How fun to learn with your Mama! ♥
I love that you bring your daughter to learn too, 3 generations sewing together, how sweet is that?! ♥

Thank you!! It’s a lot of fun!! It really is special doing it altogether like this. I have a feeling I’ll be learning from my daughter too...she’s such a natural at this. 💗

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 93 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congrats for your work... also your photography and blog concept is awesome!

Thank you so much @leotrap! I appreciate your visit and support! 😊

Yay! You did it! Sewing is really fun once you get the hang of it :)
And I love the photos your daughter took! They look professional :)
And I love your hair!! You and mom look so cute and pretty together :)

Yay I did!! Yes I am starting to see how fun it can be!

Thanks so much! She is amazing me all around, she’s such a fast learning!

Awwww you’re making me blush! Thanks so much ~ ☺️😘

Like grandmother/mother, like mother/daughter, like daughter/grandaughter :) Hehe..

🤗🤗🤗😄

This is so beautiful to see three generations of girls learning new skills from one another! Well, maybe your mom isn't learning, just teaching :)

Good to see you are confidently moving forward with your new project, not looking back at that wonky apron... :D

Thank you so much @vliet! It is pretty special and such a blessing to be able to do this together. The way my daughter lights up when it’s time for sewing class is priceless. She is soooo excited to learn this. If it wasn’t for her I wouldn’t be doing this again. I am working harder this time not to give up because she’s looking up to me to succeed. I want her to do well in this and I know that doing this together is encouraging her :)

I don’t want to even see that apron again for awhile! 😅

That's the key, giving the good example to your children. I'm sure your daughter will remember these sewing classes with mom and granny for a long long time :)

Let's not even mention aprons, ever again!!!! :DDDD

It sure is the key!

Haaa I am fine with that!! Glad we are on the same page!! 🤣🤣🤣

Hahaha! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52