NeedleWorkMonday - Learning to Sew with Mom ~

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

2B21FA57-3CBF-4F89-9F64-7BB6D1DE6DBA.jpeg

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday Steemit friends! Today I am giving you an update on how our sewing class has been going. This is a beginning course that my mom is teaching my daughter and I. I’ll leave links below to the previous sewing posts as I continue to update you.

These pictures are from a few weeks ago. My mom wanted to see if we could sew straight lines. She told us before we could start any real project this was the first step.

DAC1252E-81E3-4AF1-B933-9A3FD0492ECE.jpeg

She gave me this apron she had cut out years ago and told me to make a hem around it. I began pinning...

trying to keep my fold even...

and making sure the corners are nice and neat.

Not knowing I was sewing on the wrong side I preceded on sewing from end to end. I’m quite embarrassed to show you this but before I do let me try to make myself not look so bad let me justify my mistake lol. My machine runs so smoothly and so fast that it was hard to slow
myself down. I couldn’t resist!

My mom knew I was doing it wrong but she wanted to teach me a hard learning lesson (I am the one that told her I knew what I was doing...so I thought 🤷🏽‍♀️). She showed me how I should have had it folded down and lined up with the pressure foot to keep it in a straight line. Well this is what I did...

80535638-E8B8-4FF7-9053-C647643BB483.jpeg

7699FEB8-329B-40A4-B728-45E6F7ED30FC.jpeg

Next time I’ll just keep my mouth shut and learn. She wanted me to take it home, seam rip all of my stitching out and redo it the correct way for homework. 😳😓 I told you, my mom is the real deal, she doesn’t play when it comes to learning how to sew! Haaa

I did take it home, seam ripped it for like 10 minutes and then quit. Maybe this is why I failed sewing class the first time around. 🤔😅 I am so used to taking 2 seconds to pull away my mistakes in crocheting. This was going to take 2 years...I don’t have the time. I told my mom I appreciate the hard lesson she was trying to give me but I don’t have the patience or time for fixing it. Okay I know I could make the time but I don’t want to. Lol I’m such a wuss. 🤫

D7A521CE-3069-4D69-9D47-67AD749CB791.jpeg

Meanwhile my daughter was using the light box my father made for tracing. She was tracing the Barbie dress pattern my mom printed offline.

AE946F1F-E40A-468D-84D9-A68162DEF777.jpeg

She will be using the one she traced to cut out for her Barbie!

DA4A0C24-55B8-4B72-A66C-75252EC67FED.png

So this round didn’t go as well for me because I “thought” I knew it all. I am learning just how much I really don’t know about sewing. There were some things I remembered but I’ve got a lot of work ahead of me. Inspite we are really having fun together!

All images are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

I will be taking a break from Steemit and Discord for the whole month of November. I have to take care of some family matters. I will not be posting (from my personal account or the @needleworkmonday account) nor curating during that time. Just wanted to give you all a heads up ;)

Previous Sewing Class Posts:

Sewing Class Post 1

Please check out ‘The NeedleWorkMonday RUN’!

Thank you for Reading

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

912D68E4-1871-498C-BB09-EB4200DE3979.gif

8F9E3EC2-50E4-4442-8734-EA1E7FCE3C48.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Love the sewing lesson. So not fun to have to pick out mistakes!! That's the worst part. What a great idea to find Barbie clothes patterns online!! My friend's daughter just loves Barbies and keeps asking me to help her make some clothes, but I bet she could do this on her own! Nice!

I know it’s so not fun. I just want it to all be easy lol, I know that won’t happen. Yes my mom thought she would love making her own and she did. It’s so neat because there are tons on there that she can choose from. I hope your friend’s daughter gives it a try!

I always make mistakes. Doesn't matter what I'm doing. Your mother really sounds like a good parent though. Wishing you luck in your future sewing!

Thanks so much for sharing that @kimmac! It is reassuring knowing that everyone makes mistakes from time to time. Yes she is really a great mother. She told me she’s not gonna “half” teach me just because I’m her daughter. She said because I’m her daughter she will be strict so I can be great at it. Although I’m complaining and crying now (lol) I know I’ll be so grateful she did it this way.

I have seen garments in shops with crooked sewing, @crosheille, and they're supposed to be made by 'trained professionals'... so don't give up yet...
Also, if you had used darker thread it just would not show ;D

@cryptocariad you sure know how to make a needleworker feel better. ☺️🤗 Thank you so much for sharing that with me. So maybe there is hope for me after all. 😄❤️

Oh darn, seam ripper is such a good tool but to rip a long row of wrong seams is such a pain. It takes a lot of deep breaths to rip them all out and after that, you need to pull out those little ripped threads. And don’t worry about the curved line, it adds character to the sewing :) I can’t sew straight either haha and whatever my sew, i just tell myself and whoever i gift it to, take it or leave it haha.

Posted using Partiko iOS

The torture!!! 😩 That is why I couldn’t bring myself to do it...it’s a mixture of laziness and impatience lol! Haaaa thanks for making that point...it does add character!! 😅

take it or leave it

🤣🤣🤣

Love it!!

It's great to hear you are having fun taking lessons from your mom, lol!
And she seems like a really strict teacher, who'll make sure you learn every single step - that's the way to go :DDD I hope you'll finish that apron, at some stage...
but I can really sympathise with you failing the sewing class, I didn't fail mine, but let's say I also have an unfinished apron floating somewhere
around...

😂 Oh I am so lovin’ these comments! I feel better and hopeful already!!! So you too have an unfinished apron...this is so hilarious. I will finish the apron (one of these years lol) someday. It’s so funny because I’m just ready to start sewing some real projects. But I know she is trying to teach me these basic things first because I might really need to use the ripper on a real project.

Yes she is so strict. She’s been sewing since high school so she allows no shortcuts or back alley escapes!! 🤣 She knows me well and knows I would be the first one in that back alley!! Haaa!!!

Hahahah! My apron is also waiting for that magical 'someday'...

But your strict teacher is so so right, those basic things are called basic for a reason...
Hope you real projects will work out well and there won't be too much ripping involved...
oh, and I really hope your mom won't find too many 'back alley escapes' in your real work, otherwise it'll be back to basics :DDD

I know that enthusiasm of being on a roll, after all that prep you are finally getting to see the machine blast those neat stitches in and then - it's messed up. So sad. That said, I think there is something kind of nice about ripping a seam, isn't there? I really like ripping fabric at the very beginning of a project.

Oh yes @ginnyannette I was so on a roll and then BAM...had it all wrong. Honestly I have had fun before using the ripper, I thinks it’s neat how it works and seeing the stitches come out. It’s just that it was a lot of them this time and I got overwhelmed with the thought of having to take out each little one. YIKES! 😓

The fun is in Being together. And I hate the not straight lines but he its handmade by is so leave it 😉

It really is! We are having a lot of fun doing this together. It’s really my mom’s dream come true because she has been wanting to teach me and sew with me for years. Now she gets me and her granddaughter all to herself every Friday! 😊

That’s a good point 🤔. So you would just leave it be? Hmmmm now I’m thinking...

que lastima que te vas a ausentar, eres muy especial para nosotras. vuelve pronto, comeback soon.

Awww muchas gracias @carolinacardoza! Eso significa mucho para mí. Seguramente los extrañaré a todos y espero recuperarlos en diciembre. Gracias por estar aquí y ser una gran parte de esta comunidad ~ ❤️

your mother is a strict teacher. it is necessary to foresee and count so much! I have no patience for sewing :)))

Yes she is. She’s not half doing it with me. She’s making sure I do things the proper way which I appreciate. I just have to tough it up and let her teach me. 😊 You’re not alone, I have yelled at my machine several times now. 🤦🏽‍♀️

Wonderful post.... I want to take a sewing class now. You are having good effects on me. I can remember my mom sewing my Barbie clothes.

Haaa!! Thank you and that’s awesome!! I’m so glad they are good effects! 😅 You should start with me!!! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54