THE DAILY SNAKE # 3 - LITTLE ROUGH GREEN SNAKE VIDEO

in #nature6 years ago

The cutest little one we've ever seen!


Seriously, this series is really taking off! Yesterday we found two different species, and today we found three! At the moment, I haven't even gone out looking for snakes yet. Anyway, this is the smallest Rough Green Snake that we have ever found, and the one featured in the video is the same one that we found when searching for a deer.

We love finding the Rough Green Snakes (Opheodrys aestivus) on and around our property, and they just happen to be my favorite color. A non-threatening and nonvenomous species, they are considered harmless in my mind, although they can react with a small bite. I hope that you enjoy the video!

BABY ROUGH GREEN SNAKE VIDEO


Previous "Daily Snake" posts:

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-little-rough-green-snake

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

We used to see smooth green snakes often when we lived in central WI. They are the prettiest color. Fantastic photos!

I loved the Smooth Green Snakes back in WI! Getting harder to find these days since they feed almost exclusively on insects and pesticide/insecticide use can devastate the population, but I still know a few good areas to try to locate them when I'm in the state. Down here in the Ozarks, we've been blessed with being able to find a lot of these Rough Green Snakes. I love the color on both species!

My grandpa told me of seeing a green snake in Wisconsin when he was a young man that stretched from 'road ditch to road ditch'. He loved walking through our woods and seeing the small green snakes that we would occasionally see there. We are doing so much damage to our world with chemicals.

Speaking of "central Wisconsin," I used to live in Rapids and Point.

I was between Mauston and Friendship. We had 60 acres of woods along the Lemonweir river just before it reached the Wisconsin. It was a great place for my kids to grow up.

Nice work you are doing in your own life. Really You are a legend.

Great pictures! Keep up the great work!

What a cute little guy!

My girls really had fun getting to see the snakes you guys found last week - up to now they've mostly only seen snakes in videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88