Long-billed Dowitchers

in #nature6 years ago

Watched this video I got of a big group of Long-billed Dowitchers. I was on a bank at The Celery Fields in Sarasota, Florida and they didn't seem to care that I was there. They usually are a very skittish bird, so I was glad they didn't fly away when they noticed me. As the name implies there is also a bird called the Short-billed Dowitcher. They are very hard to tell apart unless they are next to each other. They are found just about everywhere in North America at one time of the year or another. They are hear in Sarasota mainly in the winter.

Here is a picture I got of one of these birds.

100% my original work! Except where noted. Copyright 2018 ® Mark Vance Photography

I am an award winning photographer and filmmaker. Many of my pictures have been used in TV Shows and Feature Films, such as "Zero Dark Thirty", "NCIS Los Angeles" and "The Walking Dead".
Many of my bird pictures and videos have been used by The National Audubon Society and Sarasota Audubon and used on several TV shows, like "Animal Outtakes" on ABC. Enjoy!

Sort:  

You bring some bread, and feed them? I used to love doing that as a kid.

No, these birds wouldn’t eat bread and they would be scared of people.

At the celery fields the birds don't seem to mind the people there.

Birds are looking so pretty... Great video click @markvance

Outstanding sound of birds. Amazing photo And excellent photography.....@markvance

Where are the celery fields? Is it open to the public?

In Sarasota, Florida, yes.

Beautiful 🐦 birds photography.
I like it this nature..

hey there...good to see you again also the cute bird...thanks again

I had no idea so many types of birds hang out at the Celery Fields. And the ones with the long bills I have never seen before. Great shots!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

wow its amazing... liked and loved the nature.. nice birds and their sounds as well...
really thanks for sharing

@javaidhassan - You may not realize that "thanks for sharing" is considered to be spam, you used 48 similar phrases in your last 100 comments, I've replied to you 11 times before, and the Steem Sincerity API shows a 69.20% spam score. Learn why this is spam and a few better ways to earn the support of the community when commenting.

@markvance - You can remove this comment and everyone can whitelist me from appearing in future posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99