A HAND-MADE WALL--Nature's Way....Build It SustainablysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

 I'm a really big fan of nature, reusing, repurposing,
and making sustainable art!!

This is one of my artful garden creations that cost me nothing,
and uses our land-resourced materials. 


I am building this wall from a salvaged wood/pvc pipe trellis, our leftover stems from an herb harvests, dying cut flowers, overgrown vines, shrink wrap, and bamboo grown on the perimeter of the @gardenofeden


 

 During the harvest of the masses amounts of herbs grown at the @gardenofeden for tea, sachets, smoke blends, a luxurious bath or culinary treats, I looked at the piles of stems of all colors (the generally unusable parts) that were going to the compost, and felt called to put them to other beneficial purpose. 


 







I poked several tall individual stalks of bamboo into the ground in a semi-circle around my yin/yang garden. I then attached sections of repurposed trellis to the bamboo using shrink wrap. Shrink wrap makes a great tie when it is cut in strips, twisted and stretched until it becomes long and strong like a rope. 


 


I cut the tops from bamboo so the stalks would be thin enough to fit in the PVC pipes of the trellis to make it taller, more like a wall than a fence.

 

 

 I wove the masses of herb stalks, dying cut flowers and vines back and forth through the trellis, pushing one layer down on top of the other to make a semi-solid barrier. 


 





Layer upon layer the wall took on a striped affect, as all the different colored materials brought contrast to the layer before.

 

The yin/yang circle is also made from recycled materials. The black marble salvaged from a broken church marquis.
(Enjoy my Steemfest Best Undiscovered Author
award-winning post on how we rediscovered this yin/yang circle.) 



As the materials are harvested the wall will continue to grow, making a beautiful, natural, homemade barrier to give privacy to the sacred yin/yang garden. 


There is an ever-abundance of nature just waiting to be acknowledged. Even the dead, dying or discarded can have new life. I've become a master of utilizing what most people consider trash. The sustainability factor inspires me and I'm excited for the possibilities already presenting themselves.


 Here are a few of my posts on my art and sustainable realities. and a post by @quinneaker on why sustainability is so important:

Beauty and Benefits of a Handmade Life  

Sustainable Habits in our Community 

The Sustainable Life - My Journey with Sustainable Art

Turning Trash into Treasure

My Artful Life's Journey Through Photography

TrasHart - Trash Transformed

What is Sustainability, and Why Is It So Important by @quinneaker, Founder of the @gardenofeden


Sort:  

Maybe I can help with these ideas sometime...

Oh yeah? Bring it on @virtualgrowth! I am full of possibilities, but there is only one of me! That offer truly sounds like a blessing!

Nice work! We live in the jungle, thinking about building bamboo walls that grow! Love tis post

For Best Results: Re Steem,Follow,Upvote and Comment!

Thank you @thearcanebear! (Nice screen name btw!) I would love to build a bamboo wall--I hope you do it and share it with the rest of us. Creative minds and hands intrigue me. Would love to see what flows through you. Following you!

@everlove Thank you for the kind words. We just planted a bunch of yellow and green bamboo around the edge of the property! Gonna be exciting to be walled in all around with 60ft tall bamboo in a few years!

We did the same thing. Dug up shoots from others and planted them about 10 feet apart and now we have a good thicket at the perimeter that provides us with shade, privacy, hide and seeks spots and building materials. I'm sure you're going to love it like we do!

Yeah, sometimes I wish that the plant would grow faster. Than I realize I cant ask a fish to climb a tree. So I sit and watch it do its thing haha. Thank you for the future vision of how it will look and feel!

We too sat and just imagined the wall already being grown and how fantastic it would be to have so much privacy, extra oxygen and some protection from the elements. It happened fast. You will see. Glad to share with you @thearcanebear.

Thank you, WE are looking forward to it, gonna start planting more!

As long as you have the space for it to grow, you'll be glad you did!

Wow great! I'm doing kinda, I will post photo. I'm new, fallow me if you like nature, cats... goats :D

I do like nature and animals. I'll be interested to see what you post @cozzasteem.

I'll do my best to show you :)
Watch out my next posts (and also old if haven't yet)

Awesome, anything that gets re-purposed is a plus in my book. Cheers

Mine too. I love things that have history and I love keeping them out of the landfill. I love that there is so much potential in everything. I'm grateful to be sharing with you @silverbug.

Wonderful. I am poised to create a garden wall as soon as my kitchen is finished. Weaving in some wattle sections is part of the plan. Mostly a bottle wall, though. Your post is very inspirational. Following and resteeming, and now going to your blog to binge read more articles :)

Hahahaha-binge read!!! I love that term. I am big on gardening, and garden art, and food art and design art, and art art art -- life is art. I hope you post your wall when you do it. I'm following you and going to take my tea to your page for a visit. Thanks for showing up here with me @creationofcare. Your profile description is awesome. I feel we have much to share!

Thank you! I feel the same way. So glad to connect! Have a beautiful day!

I love your work! Very beautiful!

Thanks @nature.sauvage. I love to play, and playing with sustainable materials is no exception. I appreciate your comment.

Oh that looks sweet @everlove. Good idea.

Thanks @lexikon082. I just couldn't bring myself to let those twigs of varying colors go to the compost. I appreciate your being here.

That makes a great meditation area. 💓

Bingo!!! I once planted all white plants in that area, so all the flowers and whites would be illuminated under the full moon. I love this space. And love you @rissa!

Woah ! That sounds amazing! I know that nature will make this spot look good year round. :)

Wow, that looks amazing! I wish I was as crafty!

How long did it take you?

It is a relatively quick project. I put the fence part up in a couple of hours (harvesting supplies, and erecting the fence), and I just take the weaving materials as they come. When we do a harvest I take the twigs and add it on, and when I trim the vines I add them too. It is a work in progress that I just do when the materials appear. Thanks for your comment @sjennon.

Ooo, wow. I love it. That's great. I can imagine you going all jolly when you get a new material, hehe. Great job!

Hahahaha--yes! Especially when they are different colors or have beautiful flowers on the end. And the vines are some of my favorites. The greenery is so much fun to work with and it's long so super easy to incorporate.

I can imagine. Would be cool if it starts blooming every year!

I had considered planting a living vine, but they have a tendency to take over everything! Blooming would be magnificent!

That is going to be one pretty wall. I can weave willow- if I'm ever over your way I'll pop over and help ;D

Great. It is so fun to play with you @opheliafu. We could even have a spot of tea!

Oh yes, definitely the biscuit. I'd like mine with honey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30