Turning Trash Into Treasure - TrasHart With a Cup of Hot Coffee!! Heartful Art Made From TrashsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

My life is art!

Everywhere I am, art is.  

The ground, the trash can and even the compost pile are full of potential.


As long as I can remember I've been making art out of what most people consider trash.  

I love collages and they seem to lend themselves well to my style in choice of materials.  I've been a collector of unusual things, broken toys, glass and mirrors, old calendars and magazines, stained fabrics, scraps of paper, dog hair, nature finds, and loads of other interesting ephemera that others would rather send to the dump.  I have no wish to resist the fun that can be had with history's treasures, and so put them to use in one of my many eclectic assortment of artistic expressions.



Most recently I've been collecting old wood, cardboard scraps, feathers, shells, rocks, seed pods, wasp nests, bones, animal hair, petrified plants and more.  I've done my little faerie magic thing and combined them into surprisingly pleasing collages.  I have access to many materials that most artists never see, as the sustainable life (as we live it at the @gardenofeden) is always offering up a plethora of diverse treasures.  (Perhaps I'll start offering artist packages with all kinds of unique treats perfect for an artist's palette!) 



I carved out a couple of days to spread out some of these materials to whip out a series of TrasHart.  Each piece has its own character, and I think it's particularly special as all the materials could actually be considered waste.   I've been blessed to make this art without supporting corporations, and can actually provide something pleasing to the eye and sustainable at the same time.





Set of 2

Carpet and fabric swatches, Uniquely Flattened Egg Carton, Partially Composted Cardboard, Handmade Paper, Leather, Feathers, Shells, Rocks, and Fig Tree Branch Frame on Salvaged Wood Base





Antique Washboard Base, Fabric Swatches, Handmade Paper from Junk Mail and Reused Tea Leaves, Scrap Metal, Dried Vine, Sun Dehydrated Okra Pod, and Sun Dehydrated Cantaloupe with Seeds Intact






Set of 2

Reclaimed Wood, Fabric Swatches, Hand-made Paper from Junk Mail and Reused Tea Leaves, Scrap Metal, Partially Composted Cardboard, Bone, Shells, Feathers, Dried Flowers, Dried Okra, Dried Gourd, Sand Dollar, Magnolia Pods, Rocks, Shells, Packing Materials, Gauze, and Lace


Reclaimed Board, Crate Handles, Bamboo, Fabric Swatch, Handmade Paper, Partially Composted Cardboard, Natural Moss, Feather, Magnolia Seeds, Dried Wheat Grass, Rabbit Fur, Wasp Nest, and Sand Dollar


Reclaimed Crate Lid, Fabric Swatch, Embroider Hoop, 2 Handmade Papers, Partially Composted Cardboard, Leather Rose, Magnolia Pod, Feathers, and Magnolia Seeds



My daughter coined this name "TrasHart", heartful art made from trash.

She shares my joys for things from history

and appreciates making something out of nothing.

She helped me hang this artwork in this coffee shop in her neighborhood, and we were surprised there by our sweet friend @suezannemarie 

who fed us lots of homemade snacks during the hanging process. 

 Nothing like making an opening display a drawn-out, delicious community effort.

Feasting, laughing and celebrating.



It's been many years since I've done gallery and establishment shows with my artwork, but now the opportunity is knocking again.  I'm excited for this display not only to support our local community, but also to share sustainable art exemplifying the joys of turning trash into treasure.


Thanks for letting me share my trash with you!


Here is one of my latest art posts of the Steemit Artists Collaborative Journey.  Check out these amazing pieces we have done together.


I have some of my artwork on PeerHub.  

A big shout out to @steemrollin' for making this marketplace for us to share our treasures and support one another.

I am happy to take donations for any of them which support the @gardenofeden humanitarian efforts and expansion efforts of Eden 2.0.

Sort:  

WHO DOES THIS ????

.. come ON ... like .. no WAY !!!!!!!!!! - ))

i LOVE YOUR TASTE !!!!!!!! - ))

WOW .. i am so amazed ... !!! so AMAZING !! - ))

YaaaaaaaaY !!! - ))

GO YOU !!!!!!!- ))

... i'm so HAPPY FOR YOU - ))))))))))))

and .. i like THAT -))

I do have a way with some things and I see a lot of things that apparently others don't see. I am grateful to have so many outlets of expression. Everything is art to me....Life!! All possibilities exist, we might as well engage some of them!! Thanks for being amazed!!

... the "pleasure" ... IS ... ALL MINE !!!!!!!! - ))

P(art)i"C"i(pat)-ION ... the electrical ART .. of BE-i-NG !! - ))

.. wo'R'ds .. are FUN - ))

Tis true sometimes. In great appreciation for then. Silence is also golden!!!

... - ))

Thank you @shortcut. I love playing with trash a lot!!

One man's trash is another one's treasure...Great!

Love using it for some enjoyable purpose.

Thank you. I'm loving it too.

Beautiful trash art, you have a unique vision.

I'm a different kind of bird for sure. Thanks for the compliment @opheliafu!

I love these! Lovely collages and really great to get involved in your community in this way. Good stuff :D

Thank you @handsolo. Grateful for the opportunity to share and build community together.

A lot of beautiful Art pieces you have here @everlove!

Thanks @juanmiguelsalas. I appreciate you and your comments.

Wonderful works of art,thank you for sharing : )

My pleasure indeed. Thanks for showing up here with me.

Beautiful work! I love how you incorporate plant and other natural materials in the mix. It's as if you are giving the wasted and forgotten a proper ceremonial resting place.

Exactly. Honoring its life and its death! Might as well use the beauty that already exists rather than manufacture more. I'm all about that sustainability. Thanks for your comment @lovejoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37