The Sustainable Life!!!! My journey with sustainable art.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Living a sustainable life is truly astounding.  

It's the foundation of my passion for creating sustainable art.  



I've been an avid treasure hunter for years.  I especially loved this hunt with my sister.  She is a creative force to be reckoned with and together we have made some mighty incredible art and useable masterpieces.  We have loved the hunt through thrift stores, garage, estate and warehouse sales and storage facilities.


My life has gotten even deeper into sustainability through the years and my sustainable existence blessed into high gear through @quinneaker's vision of the sustainable life at the @gardenofeden. I have foregone the sales of all kinds and use my thrifty nature to find my own materials without making a financial investment.   I continue to utilize "trash" to make my art--and since my life is art--I use reclaimed treasures in many facets of my reality.  I love that things have history and that we can give new life to them by using our creative minds.  What was once created for one purpose can be transformed into something completely different.  I love how that works!!  And with every new item comes a flood of new inspiration of uses for those materials.  Sometimes I'd like to clone myself just so I could actualize more art through my personal perspective!!


I presently have a series of my TrasHart displayed (and offered up by donation) at the Avoca Coffee Shop on Magnolia Street in a historic district in Ft. Worth, Texas, some of which is offered up by donation on PeerHub.


Along with sustainable art to hang on the wall, 


Textured fabric scrap collage art on an old spring and chain, nature's twig, and coffee and tea stains.


I have also made floors 


Cross-cut branches from an old elm tree that fell on our land ...

Grouted with sawdust.



Recycled fence panels delivered for free from a fence company and other recycled lumber that otherwise would have have been thrown in the dump with a fee.

fabric, clothing, 


Rusted metal vinegar transfers, coffee stains and recycled paint.


quilts and afghans, rugs, pillow, curtains, baskets,



Hand-crochet edged linen baby blanket with a hand-crocheted blanket package!  All  materials salvaged.

picture frames, tables, 


A table top made with colored Easter egg shells, moss, hand-sculpted clay and other nature finds.


room dividing screens, lamps, jewelry, 


Hand-hammered copper wire wrap around rose quartz I made for my son.


Earrings made from telephone wire, reclaimed beads, and orange tea bag wrappers.


garden trellises, chicken coops,


The first chicken coop outside walls made from crates, shutters, a scrolled piano decoration, a recycled door and recycled wood frame, pallets and screens.


Our new chicken coop from pallets, bamboo pegs, reclaimed wood, door and shutters, decorated with bark, roots, random wood, metal lettering, a grapevine wreath, and a patchwork ceramic chicken, all saved from the trash.

wind chimes, altered books, yard art,


Garden signs with recycled paint on homegrown gourds


Garden signs made from broken pieces of house siding.


transformed furniture,


A re-finished child's chair painted with all difference skins of animals, birds, bugs and reptiles....

and more.  

The sky is the limit!! 


Photography display on old corrugated metal sheet.


Doll made from recycled hand-painted fabrics, trim and lace, 


Fence panel raised beds.


Decoupaged mail box.


I could add hundreds of more images and ideas to this post, but for now I'm going on to continue creating my daily inspired flow of life.  


I'm grateful for continued inspiration and the sustainable life at the @gardenofeden that allows me time and energy to invest in an artistic life of self-expression.  


Thank you for taking this journey through a Sustainable Life with me.

Sort:  

WoW !!!!!!!!! - ))
... i knew IT was dripping from YOU !! - ))
BUT ... that's a FLOOD !!!!!!!!!!! - ))
Oh my !! - ))
.. uhmm .. wow ? ! .. WOW !
LadY .. that is some KIND of WonderFULL !! - ))

.. i wouldn't kNOW wHERE to start ??????? - ))

a BILLION diferent little .. ohh .. what's that .. n'that ???? - ))

RIDICULOUS . ... . ... . .... so ridiculous .

WeLL .. with CERTAINTY i can say ... !!! - ))

IT DOESN"T .. SUCK TO BE YOU ! - )

wow !!

Hahahaha!! What an expression! No it doesn't suck to be me and I give thanks everyday for the blessing. I do have a lot going on inside of here and there is always ore where that came from...an abundant fountain overflowing with inspiration. I love my life!!

IT !! sHOWs !! - ))))))))))

... i'll tell you the "wow that really doesn't suck" .. story ... funny - ))
another day ))

ha ha ... thank for sharing !!! - )))

STEEMeD .. for EVER-LOVE -- ))))))

.. riGht - ))))))))

You are welcome....thank you!! <3

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

They are so beautiful. I think I should follow you, see you again. :)

I think I shall like that very much! Thanks for finding me.

Your passion and creativity shines through your artworks.

Thank you @postivesteem for your acknowledgement. My passion runs deep--so grateful to share it.

Beautiful Work! Question: With what did You ''glue'' the sawdust to the floor, and the cut tree branches?

I ended up choosing polyurethane. It wasn't my most optimal choice, but community requires a really durable floor surface, so I went with the most stable option. It worked amazingly and I doubt that floor will need any attention for a really, really long time.

Thanks for your comment @oceansoul13.

This is truly inspiring, I've often said I want to lead a more sustainable lifestyle but aside from filling my recycling bins each week I never know where to start.
well, the girls are due to have a clothes sort out. I think some homemade fabric yarn may be a good place to start.

I believe that is the same "problem" most people have is making a shift because they don't know where to start. I've found that questioning everything I think and do is a good place to start. The physical reality of it will shift automatically once we are clear and honest with ourselves. I would wager that most things people think about are not their own original thoughts, but something engrained and regurgitated without any real thought at all. Listening to ourselves and being accountable to our highest standards, not those we have lived by, is of great value and will literally shake up everything we thought we knew. I believe sustainability has to start within. That which appears on the outside will be in alignment with that. Thank you for your comment @phoenixmaid. Grateful to exchange with you.

Amazing post @everlove! You are a very generous person with great spirit! Thank you for sharing and for existing! (;

Awe! What a heartfelt comment. Thank you for your acknowledgement and for sharing the gift with me. Like attracts like!

Your life seems to be a never ending DIY :-)

So true is that! I live a life of self design. My whole life is art! Blessed for certain!

@everlove Amazing work and thanks for sharing your passion!! Love love love the floor you layed out using the recycled fence panels, what an incredible art you created there!

Thank you @rea. This is one of 2 floors I have done with recycled fence panels, one that flows into the other by design. I appreciate your comment and support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65439.84
ETH 3570.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47