Beekeeping and HURRICANE WIND

in #nature7 years ago

The big storm HARVEY is on his way! We are not in the main trouble area down on the coast of Texas, but we are in the projected path. The new has reported that we could get between 8 and 15 inches of rain. Along with that we are expected to have sustained winds of 35 - 45 MPH with gusts up to 60 MPH.

Preparing the BEES!

In this video I talk a little about the storm and how I'm preparing the beehives for the heavy rains and winds.

Empty shelves at the grocery store!

This morning around 8am I decided to go ahead and get a few items at the store. For the most part the store was well stocked but some of the essentials were running very low. Bread and water were the shelves that had the least on them. By the time I was ready to check out the store was getting packed and there were many many carts full in line at the check out lanes. We are doing fine, but it's interesting how people freak out.

Where I'm not prepared

Cooking... yep, we depend daily on electricity for cooking. I have an old camp stove that I pulled out of the shed, but the gas lines are rotted out. I can probably wrap it in tape and manage, but this is definitely a weak spot for us.


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogCreating the Burn Barrel / Can - Using a Metal Nibbler
daddykirbs blogEXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 1
daddykirbs blogKILLING BEES! - The Pesticides Used for Mosquitoes Are Far Reaching
daddykirbs blogCanning (Food Preserving) Basics - Monday Meetups with Deep South Homestead
daddykirbs blogWild BEEHIVE Extraction - 5 HOURS in the hot sun extracting a hive from a log


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Thanks for this update. Glad you and your family are A-O.K.

heard about the storm ... stay safe @daddykirbs .

Hold on and hang tight! Praying doesn't hurt either! :-D

Good luck weathering the storm.

will there be a video on repairing that camp stove so cooking when power goes out will not be a weak spot ? don't you have a stone cooker out side ? it does not need to be just for pizza right ? :) I'm thinking I seen something of a cooker when you did a farm day last summer and we all got to meet Kate for the first time :D thanks for sharing

I do have some other wood burning options. They are laborious and awkward, but if it comes down to it I'll find a way :)

Just fyi - cooking outside in hurricane conditions would be... difficult, at best. Just sayin...

I'd go for 'non-cooked' meals for a few days. Sandwiches, cut up veggies, etc. A cooler with a couple blocks of ice will serve as a fridge for a few days if not opened too often. Roughing it isn't always fun, but it is doable.

Best of luck and keep your heads down!

your so right I do not know what I was thinking about being outside cooking in high winds silly me thank you for pointing that out :D still fixing a pipe or line in a cooker could help others later on :) it might be a quick fix but not a long term one.

Lol! I was just having visions of trying to accomplish that feat in those conditions. I would totally applaud anyone that could pull it off! ;~P

pull it off and live yes I'll be right there with you applauding :D totally is shocked too :P

Shared to show tending bees in adverse weather!

Prayers to you and your family. I'm sure things will be ok for you all!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49