KILLING BEES! - The Pesticides Used for Mosquitoes Are Far Reaching

in #nature7 years ago

It's common in some areas for the municipalities to spray for mosquitoes. The intentions are good, but the poisons know no boundaries. When my family was on a short trip up to Indiana this Summer my daughter noticed this bee thrashing around on the ground after the city truck came by spraying poison in the streets.

Bee Thrashing From Pesticides

This video was originally posted on my daughter's Instagram account. With her permission I uploaded it to a private YouTube account so I could share it here on Steemit.

Her original message on the video was this:

I walked outside after they had sprayed for mosquitoes and saw this poor bee violently thrashing around on the ground. as if it were suffocating I scooped it up to bring it inside with fresh air. Hoping it would help. I don't think it'll make it. This is what happens when you spray pesticides!

I do love her passion and respect for life!


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogCanning (Food Preserving) Basics - Monday Meetups with Deep South Homestead
daddykirbs blogWild BEEHIVE Extraction - 5 HOURS in the hot sun extracting a hive from a log
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - This Beautiful Day - E1725
daddykirbs blogBees Collecting Pollen on a Texas Sage Shrub - The locals say this...
daddykirbs blogMy French Student Travels - Iceland Landscapes


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

that is sad and to think there could be thousands just like that all along the road side that day :( I wonder if hundreds of people from all over had the same type of video posted and shared with I don't know the person in parliament / government, mayer even would it help ?

I hope it is being discussed!

Loading...

That is so sad but good on you for sharing and getting people to think about the bees. And for teaching your child to respect and care about the structure of nature, and honoring the bees.

you brought her up well @daddykirbs ... doesn't a bee start stinging when its trashing like that ?

Shared to show the impact of chemicals!

That is slad. 😔

And to think they used to spray DDT like that when I was a little kid. This newer stuff is probably just as bad if not worse.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54