Wild BEEHIVE Extraction - 5 HOURS in the hot sun extracting a hive from a log

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

Yep, that was my yesterday. Well... I wasn't so much doing the extraction as I was the video and photo guy. I was there from start to finish to record the process. The team of beekeepers doing the project uses events like this as well as hives placed on public land to help educate the public about bees and their importance in our ecosystem.

In this one image you can see where we are starting to make the first cut into the big hollow log. More video and images coming soon!


image from my own instagram account


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - This Beautiful Day - E1725
daddykirbs blogBees Collecting Pollen on a Texas Sage Shrub - The locals say this...
daddykirbs blogMy French Student Travels - Iceland Landscapes
daddykirbs blogChoose Your Beekeeping Equipment Wisely [ 🔴 My Video Inside ]
daddykirbs blogSteemit Cover Photo Image - Template Photo Image Included


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

seems adventure...
nice post...

upvoted and followed...!!!

Thank you :)

Shared to show a solution! Thank You for doing the video of it!

It going to be a big video project. Lots and lots of video was shot :)

I figured it was!

Is that honey bees?

Yes this is a hive of wild honey bees.

I love honey and also honeybees too :D

Nice! Is this from your own hive?

Yes. They are mine. ☺

Ha! Not a fan of bees but I enjoyed watching this :D

The queen from this would be a good asset as it has proven to survive without help. Check the brood close for disease.
Nice video.

Hey D Kirb! I made it to steemit after watching you on you tube. Trying to figure this all out!

I'm so glad the bees are being saved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67