Weekly Run for Steem Arctic Running - Safety & Considerations + Literally COOL Nature Photos

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

20180106_175027.jpg
Yesterday was a planned 6-8 mile run. As many people are aware it's been pretty COLD in certain areas of the U.S. and, yesterday was no exception.
20180107_160745.png
It was actually -2 when I started but the wind died down and it was not as rough towards the end. It was just flat out COLD!! I ran at a park that has a creek running through to the resouviour in my header. As you can see what would normally be cascading waterfalls were frozen.
20180106_174816.jpg
20180106_175232.jpg
In the more shallow sections I saw some brave/stupid people walking on the frozen bodies of water.
20180106_174401.jpg
20180106_174552.jpg
20180106_174147.jpg
I took these photos after the run but the three above were sections people were walking on. Adult sized people! I'd be too afraid. Not safe!

In my area of Maryland there are some of these "Canadian" squirrels. They are more scarce in comparison to their gray counterparts and seem to be more skiddish in general around people. I sensed it was so cold they didn't really care about me watching them scavenge for food, so I got some good, up-close pictures.
20180106_173624.jpg
20180106_173806.jpg
20180106_173958.jpg
It amazes me how animals adapt in the winter time. The ducks weren't as active as usual but they were still swimming around sections of unfrozen water. I know their feathers are wax coated but still!

As for me, I struggled through the run. I ended up only doing the low end of my goal because it was so cold - 6 miles. Some things to consider when running or vigorously exercising in such cold temps:

  • You will be cold regardless of how well dressed you are.
  • You body will have to work harder to keep you warm.
  • Just because it's cold doesn't mean you won't sweat or lose bodily fluids! Hydration is paramount.
  • You need to dress in layers to keep in the warmth. I wore heat gear tights & long sleeve shirt as a base layer. I wore a regular pair of running pants atop the tights. I wore wool socks with mesh functionality in the arches for breathability. Up top I wore two additional layers over the heat gear long sleeve tee with each additional layer looser again, for breathability/ ventilation. I kept my outer coat zipped all the way up for full neck & partial facial coverage. I kept my ears concealed. I wore gloves.
    20180106_175409.jpg
    My run time was definitely slower (58 minutes for six miles) and my exercise induced asthma flared up but with breathing techniques of increased exhalation to increase residual volume of the lungs the asthma improved and I didn't need to take medication.

Yeah, I could have just ran on the treadmill I suppose but I dislike it immensely. Half the reason I LIKE running so much is because I can go out in nature & get fresh air. I'm notoriously stubborn. I'm glad I did the run. It was challenging in that kind of collddd though.

Thanks for visiting my blog and please stay safe & warm in this weather. If you have any questions or comments, would love to hear from you in the section below.

Want to #runforsteem? Check out @jumowa run for steem weekly challenge!
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/update-weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-jan-7th-jan-14th-and-payout-for-last-week-s-running

ecsheader1.jpg
chelsea88_red.png

Sort:  

Ive never ran in such a cold. I had a buddy once who is a sports enthusiast and he ripped his left lung and had to get durhery because he was breathing in the cold air too fast.

Bravo on your run and welcome 😊

Omg! That's why i keep it conservatively paced for those reasons. But that doesn't mean it is easy.

Awesomely frosty run. You should enter this in @jumowa’s weekly #runforsteem. All runners split the post rewards. I just posted my frosty run a few minutes ago.
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@dabeckster/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-patapsco-state-park-grist-mill-and-river-road-trails

thank you for spreading the word 👌

ah, I forgot about that. Thanks for telling me! And I havd been meaning to check out patapsco!

When I was younger I would have run in this weather but not any more so kudos to you for running and giving these tips

I would have been dubious walking on the ice

Thank you! As I said it wasn't easy but I'm still glad i did it. Helped a bit with these winter blues I've been having. I'm glad someone else gets that walking on ice isn't a good idea. Lol

It is so beautiful there by the way

Thanks i just had to get some shots.

Very nice and unque images my friend. Lots of exploring work done nicely and editing. Full sp for you :)

Thank you, i fully appreciate that !! 😁

Nice pic but we miss sun 😆

I miss the warmth!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 22:52:32
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 232.35/400.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 31
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.22 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Only thing more fun than walking on iced-over lake is driving a car over it! I have such fond memories of the ice cracking and people screaming.

I do miss ice fishing that is the ONLY reason I would ever go out in such cold weather where Canadian squirrels have migrated in to enjoy it!

I’m glad you were able to brave the weather and get some wonderful photos. You were not overheating in all those layers?

Driving on it?? Whew! No thank you. No I didn't overheat, on the contrary I was still cold! Mostly my booty was cold lol. Up top was comfortable. I did my layers loosely otherwise I would have felt too constricted and/or hot

The ice is a bit thicker than that photo by a few feet to be able to do it hehe.

That's great I always hated over heating while outdoors in the cold. In your case I guess a bit of the cold just made you want to run faster!

Yeah it did but then if I went too fast my blasted asthma started acting up. I don't have the asthma acting up if it's warm out

Way cool!!! No pun was intended, but now that I wrote it, seems fitting~~giggle
That is the prettiest squirrel I have ever seen, I had no idea there were squirrels that color, they are brown/gray here, ha...learn something new everyday :)

Lol. Yes I had never seen squirrels this color before either!

Im about to go to bed, Ill read it tomorrow. Looking good 😊. Only runforsteem in the title is missing. Thank you for participating. Dont forget to upvote and resteem the challenge post if you didnt yet.

I did upvote abd resteem the orginal let me edit the title =)
Thanks letting me know =)

Thanks for sharing these wonderful pics..
But it looks really cold there, hehehe
Best regards
Tom

It's definitely pretty cold here! Hope you've had a nice day

Thanks, my day just started, 11am here and hot already

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49