Weekly Run for Steem Challenge - Patapsco State Park Grist Mill and River Road Trails

in #runforsteem6 years ago

Here’s my entry in @jumowa’s Weekly Run for Steem Challenge for Jan 7th - Jan 14th.

A092770B-BDC0-47D7-A597-E21D26F35B9C.jpeg

Cabin fever got the best of me today and so I bundled up and went out for a frosty run along the river in Patapsco State Park. Half of it used to be a paved trail, but I forgot that they had torn up part of the trail in order to start taking a 100 year old plus hydroelectric dam out of the river. The normal trailhead for the Grist Mill Trail is fenced off and I had to navigate over some barriers and find a way around the fence in order to get to what used to be the trail. The first half third of a mile was on the construction road to the right of the dam in the picture above. The frozen dam and river were too cool looking so I had to pause my run to get some photos.

22713E42-81A5-40BB-8E3B-4667D4A0CE9A.jpeg

Past the dam, I got to the what remains of the paved trail and headed downstream to the swinging bridge.

74757F40-8E28-4EEE-8073-67A6C87145B9.jpeg

F8E947B8-4DE3-43DB-AFB0-4CAB50984B46.jpeg

5F6621CF-775E-4391-AC8C-5E131D14ADF3.jpeg

After crossing the bridge I headed back upriver on the other side. I got a closer shot of the frozen dam as I made my way up the River Road Trail.

DC41C680-4829-434C-ADB8-231E137FCB97.jpeg

The trail on this side past the dam was a little slow going, navigating some boulders and ice flows coming across the trail.

B796F301-1946-40B2-A2BC-3023B19E1FD5.jpeg

Luckily, being distracted by the sights made running in 21 degrees not as bad as I expected. I was surprised at the number of people out wandering in the park. I guess I wasn’t the only one with cabin fever.

Thanks to @jumowa for motivating me to get some exercise.

https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/update-weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-jan-7th-jan-14th-and-payout-for-last-week-s-running

D5B64435-21D0-4C83-8989-31CC22C1D7D2.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow you did great job and done 2.6mi running . Beautiful place and Awesome photography, Thanks for sharing @dabeckster

What a beautiful day. The air must have been great for running. neat pictures too

It was brisk but nice. Thanks!

I've been wanting to get to that park. Looks beautful and even though running in these temps is difficult, the sights are distractingly pleasant. Good work and thanks again for reminding me of @jumowa weekly running Challenge

Patapsco has trail options of every kind and difficulty. That’s my go to place since I’m close by.

Do you have to pay to park?

I always park on the side of Landing Road. No parking lot, but free and gets me to the trails I like. For this run I parked on Ilchester Roaf, also free, but with no parking signs, but I’ve never been ticketed. The formal entrance is in Relay, Maryland off of Route 1 and requires a fee.

Really beatiful photos, love your shot of Ice :)

Great exercise! Wonderful pics! A win!

Wow! Truly breathtaking pictures and beautiful place to run. I understand that you had to stop and take some shots 😉📸
And that frozen dam is really the most coolest thing I've seen, would live to just step out there.
Thank you for sharing. Cheers!

Thanks. There were a bunch of people on the ice below the dam. Not me!

Ok so you weren't down there? Well Awsome shot anyway and cool to se the people down there, I'm sure that was a cool experience.
Have a wonderful day. Cheers!

Cheers to you too!

🤗 Hope you are doing well and having the best day. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54