Low-cost, Natural, Healthy Soft Drinks! Is Such a Thing Even Possible?

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Low-cost, Natural, Healthy Soft Drinks! Is Such a Thing Even Possible?


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Tibicos sounds so yummy!! What a great idea. Would be fun to come across this in the next summer ahead. 🍹

Oh certainly! Few things are as nice as a glass of icy ginger tibicos, with a slice of lemon, on a hot summer day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful post and very timely for me! I bought some dehydrated water kefir that I was going to try to get going and your recipe and this post gave me the inspiration to get to it. Can't wait to try the ginger variation!
Thanks for sharing!

Awesome! I can't help feel honored to inspire you. Looking forward to hear how it worked out. A long time ago I tried some dehydrated kefir myself, though it was the milk kefir type. It worked beautifully for the first ten times or so... and then it wouldn't. I hope that won't be the case for you.

Thanks for the heads up on the dehydrated kefir grains I hope they keep on going!

I used to do water kefir but could not keep up with it. 24-48 hrs is way too fast for me when I’m already doing Kombucha and Milk Kefir.

I found that it’s safer for the grains to add the fruits in a secondary fermentation keeping the first fermentation with just water and sugar.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Okay, so do you suppose that it could be the fruit that may have something on it that kills the culture? That would make sense. I usually used the secondary fermentation primarily to get it nice and bubbly, meaning I bottled it and let it sit for a few days.

Posted using Partiko Android

The same goes for Kombucha. The second ferment is for making it fizzy but also for adding flavour. I found that adding fruits to the water kefir during first fermentation also stains the grain. Some stuff such as ginger might definitely kill or weaken the culture. I only wanted to expose the grains to what they live/feed on which is water and sugar. And it makes it easier to filter the grain out too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

:-) That's so weird! In my experience it was precisely the ginger that my cultures seemed to love most. Whenever I made it with ginger, they always grew faster, as well as forming bigger pieces.
Regarding filtering the fruit, I use usually use a piece of very loose fabric, almost like a fine mesh. It's worked quite well so far, but you're right. if I give them a completely separate second run, I could skip the fabric completely.

What I meant with the filtering process is separating the particles of fruits or seeds from the grains. Not sure for you but I often get them mixed up together. It’s maybe the type of fruits Im using or the way I prep them

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, with really tiny pieces, such as berries, it has happened that I had a tough time picking them out of the grains. That's when I decided to wrap them in a piece of fabric.

Oh I see

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s interesting! It’s the kind of stuff different people get different results.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey thanks for sharing your experiences. Let me share something in return: no tibicos, but another favorite ferment.



Hey @quochuy, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

I've used to make yogurt, got inspired with your post and just ordered kefir grains!
I often buy polish (milk) kefir in shops, seems easier to make than yogurt, I will see. So a pack of water plus a pack of milk kefir grains should arrive in a week or so. Keep on brewing!

Well, for the milk kefir you don't need a yogurt maker which provides the perfect temperature, though at one point I used to make yogurt without all that. I had the yogurt frozen into ice-cubes, and I simply dropped one into a carton of milk, left it sitting for a day at regular room temperature, and it bam! It always worked... well, until winter came, and room temperature stopped being what it used to be. With kefir, however, I never had that issue. It would turn even if I left it in an apartment that remained mostly unheated until I came back in the evening.

you've been visited by @agiftoflove on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Absolutely amazing post filled to the brim with great info! You are so right on about how each particular batch will taste different! I thought I didn't like it until I tried some from a "seasoned" cultivator. I am excited to look for and try some of the flavors you mentioned, especially Ginger!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Amazing. This is an awesome post!!

ginger bees, eternity grains

I didn't know those alternative names, but they are very cute. When I tried doing it, I really liked it, but I couldn't keep up - I ended up with too much of it that I couldn't drink.

Such a good alternative to store bought, and cheaper - let alone the fact that it doesn't kill you. Coke has a lot to answer for in this regard I believe.

Thank you! Well, when you have too many that's when you have to start giving it away, or freeze it in portions so when someone is interested all you do is reach into the freezer and hook them up. :-)

Wow, well done and informative! This belongs on the #stemgeeks trending page. Germany, as you already know, love soda. I never touched the stuff in the states and here sometimes it’s the only thing offered and I have drank more then I ever wanted. Thanks for this post I will stop again! Wish I had time to make something like this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It seems to be fairly universal... The nice thing about Germany (although this may be only true about Bavaria) is that they don't charge taxes on beer or wine, being cultural drinks and all. As a result, they are always cheaper than soda, or even mineral water! And since the age limit is 16 (or at least it was when I was 16), I don't remember drinking any soda-pop anywhere. ;-)

Very nice post man, exemplary, i miss this kind of quality in my feed lately.

On this topic and with your knowledge, would you consider a simple straight (commercial) soda a bad thing?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the kind words.
And yes, for certain! We do not need all that sugar you find in straight commercial soda, not to mention the other chemical ingredients. But then there is the whole aspect of industrial manufacturing, transporting all the stuff around the world, hahaha and of course building all the bottling facilities that go with it. Putting all that together, I can't even stress how bad I think industrial soft drinks are!

ok, now i see, soda is not what i thought it was. what i apparently meant is just plain carbonated water (which doesn't contain sugar apparently)
Transporting and bottling arguments are probably the leftover arguments then..

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, I see now the source of confusion. Right, it depends on the language background. I was talking about soft-drinks, a.k.a. soda, pop, or soda-pop, though I'm aware that just sparkling water is also called soda. And I don't have a problem with the latter (other than the bottling and transporting). But even those aspects can be addressed quite simply. I one wwoofed at a place where the guy had a biomechanical setup of a bicycle-powered machine that condensed CO2 from the air into his water bottle containing simple well water. Needless to say, he was German, who just couldn't go without his sparkling water, even though he lived in the middle of nowhere.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @stortebeker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97