You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Low-cost, Natural, Healthy Soft Drinks! Is Such a Thing Even Possible?

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

I used to do water kefir but could not keep up with it. 24-48 hrs is way too fast for me when I’m already doing Kombucha and Milk Kefir.

I found that it’s safer for the grains to add the fruits in a secondary fermentation keeping the first fermentation with just water and sugar.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Okay, so do you suppose that it could be the fruit that may have something on it that kills the culture? That would make sense. I usually used the secondary fermentation primarily to get it nice and bubbly, meaning I bottled it and let it sit for a few days.

Posted using Partiko Android

The same goes for Kombucha. The second ferment is for making it fizzy but also for adding flavour. I found that adding fruits to the water kefir during first fermentation also stains the grain. Some stuff such as ginger might definitely kill or weaken the culture. I only wanted to expose the grains to what they live/feed on which is water and sugar. And it makes it easier to filter the grain out too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

:-) That's so weird! In my experience it was precisely the ginger that my cultures seemed to love most. Whenever I made it with ginger, they always grew faster, as well as forming bigger pieces.
Regarding filtering the fruit, I use usually use a piece of very loose fabric, almost like a fine mesh. It's worked quite well so far, but you're right. if I give them a completely separate second run, I could skip the fabric completely.

What I meant with the filtering process is separating the particles of fruits or seeds from the grains. Not sure for you but I often get them mixed up together. It’s maybe the type of fruits Im using or the way I prep them

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, with really tiny pieces, such as berries, it has happened that I had a tough time picking them out of the grains. That's when I decided to wrap them in a piece of fabric.

Oh I see

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s interesting! It’s the kind of stuff different people get different results.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey thanks for sharing your experiences. Let me share something in return: no tibicos, but another favorite ferment.



Hey @quochuy, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68