Did you Know that your Feet tell the Story of You?

When I trained as a reflexologist waaaay back in 2001 in the UK, we were taught how the body is reflected through the feet, we were taught anatomy and physiology, we were taught the position of reflex points, sequences and techniques to bring it all together as a holistic therapy... but there was no real mention of the importance of our emotions, soul or spirit. We had one day talking about subtle energies but nothing I learnt through my accreditation, prepared me for discovering how the soles of the feet can literally become the doorway to the soul.

solehealing2.jpg

Five years after my year long practitioners course, I enrolled on a 5 day workshop that changed my life. The connection between the mind and the body... the power of our emotions... how the body speaks to us through its dis-ease... and how all of this is reflected through our feet. This workshop became my spiritual awakening (a story I'll share another day!) and the way I offered reflexology totally transformed. I became so passionate about it, that I taught these insights and techniques in workshops for many years.

So here we go...

Take a deep breath before you read on... and as you read the following questions... be really honest about the emotions that come up.

What do you think about your feet?

How do you feel about your feet?

Do you love your feet?

Do you like your feet?

Do you hate your feet?

What don't you like about your feet?

Why don't you like that about your feet?

How do your feet make you feel?

These are the first questions I always asked when giving talks and workshops on Universal Reflexology and Sole Healing... because like it or not... when you describe how you feel about your feet... you are essentially describing how you feel about yourself.

It's amazing... and actually quite sad... how many people say that they hate their feet... because this shows that they are not happy with who they are and how they are. However, through that admission and acceptance, the doorway is opened to deeper self discovery and... a healing of those emotions and an understanding of where those emotions may have come from.

Here's a couple of basic foot reading insights.

The right foot reflects the past and the left foot reflects the present - so have a look at the differences between the two. To someone with foot reading insight, the differences will highlight where the changes have taken place emotionally.

The toe pads reflect the head, mindset, beliefs, patterns and ways of thinking - look at the different shapes, colour and direction the toes are pointing in! It all means something :)

The soles of the feet reflect the 'front' we are putting out to the world and what we are facing.
The tops of the feet reflect what we have put behind us.

Of course, foot reading for emotional and spiritual wellbeing is subjective, personal and emotional. There are deeper insights where we bring in the chakras (the body's energy centres), colours, temperature... and it's not a case of 'one size fits all' with just the one linear meaning to a condition or area of the foot. We have to step beyond the limits of our logical minds and drop into the power of our intuition and be fuelled with love, compassion and respect for the soul who is baring their soles (soul) to us. There must always be a connection based on integrity and trust for any Sole Healing or reading to take place.

I have witnessed clients move through deep realisations, self acceptance... and release. For example... simply from being able to highlight the meaning of an area of thick hard skin that hasn't gone away despite continual exfoliation, scrubbing and professional podiatry, long held grief that has been a burden and block to moving forward in life has been released. And yes, the hard skin softened and didn't come back.

I truly believe that when we are ready to hear the messages of our body, we open the door to our hearts and our healing... and our soul can be heard through our soles.

Lots more to come on Foot Reading... and wishing you all a wonderful evening!

Love from the Spanish Alpujarras,
Sally xx

PS... This photo was taken from a Foot Reading talk and demonstration I gave to The International Newcomers Club when I lived in Rio de Janeiro... almost 10 years ago!

rio.orbs.jpg

Sort:  

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 40

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

Wow this is awesome! I love your questions to ask the self, thanks also for suggesting a breath before moving on, so grounding and a great place to start.
I have always liked touching my feet, especially my toes, it just feels nice. I love my feet, especially enjoy going barefoot, and have also learned to appreciate the capabilities of my feet as well as their proprioception by using minimal footwear. That has probably taught me the most, because I always thought, like many westerners, that my feet needed support all the time with shoes, when western footwear is effectively splinting the feet, and causing them to be weaker, atrophied. By using minimal footwear, or no footwear, I began trusting my feet and found that they had the strength to support my whole being from the ground up. Now that I apply it to your post, I suppose in a sense I also learned to trust myself, because now more and more I have a mentality that my bodymind is capable of trust, self healing, and support as well.
So incredibly fascinating! I'm resteeming, this is just such a great post. Thank you @namastethis 😊🙏👣

Xx ToL

What a lovely reply... thank you @treeoflife! I love that you go barefoot too and you're spot on about being more grounded and self trusting and confident through 'finding your feet'. As westerners constantly wearing shoes etc we are also creating a disconnect from Mother Earth. When our soles touch the grass, sand, earth, stone, sea... it's a spiritual connection as well as a physical one... more people need to take their shoes off... and find themselves! I used to always say that 'the answers are in our feet'... but the more healing work I share I know the answers are also in our hearts. Thank you for sharing your experience.... and for resteeming! Big hug :) x

This is a solid piece, really insightful. It also made me think about how I feel about my feet! 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @phillyc! It does make you think doesn't it! I hope you are loving your feet and appreciating them! x

this is such a great post. When I was younger I really hated my feet, I felt very uncomfortable with them. Now however I love them, I am so grateful for all that they have allowed me to do. I love to walk barefoot too, I really feel uncomfortable if I have to wear shoes for too long. It is really interesting what you have said about the right and left foot, I can really identify with that xxx resteemed so hopefully more people see it xxx

Thank you @trucklife-family! Plenty more insights to come on the feet! Love that you walk barefoot and can see the differences between the left and right feet! Thanks for the resteem :) xx

Sorry, only just got around to reading this, though I bookmarked it! It's a great post. I love my feet - they are handy things. I know (due to yoga) that their placement is important and how I press my weight into my feet has effects the whole entire way up my body. I love fine tuning the shapes my body makes by paying attention to our feet, yet we often totally take them for granted! Saying that, I could do with a pedicure - something else I also notice in the yoga room...

I'm just catching up with replies and comments, sorry I didn't see you before ... and thank you @riverflows! Loving your feet is great! I like that you notice them and their placement... I do yoga too and it's fascinating to notice the difference a tiny adjustment can make! I think I'll paint my toenails today... even though it's the weather for thick socks and boots... it's such a morale boost! Enjoy your pedicure! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61227.67
ETH 2682.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62