Snowy Spring Morning - MyPictureDay Submission

in #mypictureday6 years ago (edited)

Well, Central Ohio apparently decided that it would be good to celebrate the first couple days of Spring with a nice coating of fresh snow! I'm super ready for some sunshine and warmer weather, but decided I might as well take advantage of the (hopefully last) pretty white stuff of the year and take some pictures.

My apartment building is right beside a main Columbus bike trail and on the other side of that trail is the Olentangy River (I'm looking forward to some warmer weather so that I can get back to fishing in the river, but that sure hasn't happened yet). Anyways, a short walk down the bike trail there are some nice wooded areas as well as a small wetlands that's maintained by (the) Ohio State University. I love that I'm able to live in the middle of a city while still having access to pretty nature within easy walking distance.

This morning I went out with my Fuji X-T20 before work and took some pictures of the fresh snow and the nature around it. There aren't any sweeping vistas or impressive mountains obviously, so I tried to find interesting details in the landscape around me. Here are a few of my favorites (I'm trying out some side-by-side pictures so that I can have a few more pictures in the post without making it super long, you can click on any of the pictures for a larger version!).

Low-head Dam (used a 6-stop ND filter on this one. Those things are fun!)
edit-3636.jpg

edit-3659.jpg

edit-3652.jpg

edit-3664.jpg

edit-3677.jpg

edit-3645.jpg

edit-3643.jpg

edit-3670.jpg

edit-3646.jpg

edit-3624.jpg

edit-3662.jpg

edit-3649.jpg

CameraFujifilm X-T20
LensFujifilm 18-55 f/2.8-4 (Except the first picture was with a Rokinon 12mm f/2)
LocationClintonville, Columbus, OH

P.S. If you made it this far, what do you think of this format? Should I have put in captions of some sort? Is it too many pictures in a row without any words? Is the post too long? I'd love to hear some feedback. Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

Cool set off images, kind of makes you want it to snow again. My favourite is the portrait shot of the trees and the road with the yellow lines. Such a picturesque shot

It definitely looked pretty, but I'm ready to be warm haha :) Thanks so much! Means a lot coming from someone as talented as yourself.

Yes i don't mind it being warmer! i miss the sun :) Thank you you're to kind but i'm still a newbie

I like the format! This is my first time in the photography section of steemit, and I like having more shots of these beautiful scenes. For these, no caption is really needed, they all pop without it. For a different photo if you do decided to put captions, I'd recommend putting it after all the pictures and typing it like so:

  1. River with sharp rocks near drop.
  2. (Left) Waterfall, (Right) Sharp Rocks
  3. Snowy Broom
  4. (Left) ... , (Right)... and so on

Awesome. Thanks for the feedback, really appreciate it!

I really like how the photos tell the story of your morning. No captions needed in my opinion. I also like how having the smaller photos in the post puts more emphasis on the bigger photos, but they also add a lot to the story. Looks great, nice work!

Thanks so much Scott! Appreciate the feedback.

Firstly, these are some gorgeous photos. love them. I think the format is great! personally I don't feel it's too many pictures in a row, as the photos could speak themselves.. but may be a few captions in between here and there would be better for viewers?

Thank you, glad you like them! Thanks for the feedback. I kinda felt like if I was going to do any captions then I should caption all of the pictures, but maybe that's not true haha.

All SO, SO beautiful!!! <3 Love them all!

Thanks a lot! You're too kind.

Makes me want to visit the snow again... except our snow here in Australia is nothing like this, at all!

Love the post dude, I always like a good photoseries and that's exactly what I saw this as, no need for more words, you set the scene and let the images do the rest of the talking! Glad you're enjoying the ND, got to be my favourite camera accessory! You're not alone in wishing the snow away! It's nearly April and we should totally have had a 't shirt' day here in the UK by now but we've only seen cold/windy!!

Glad you like it, thanks man! I really enjoyed posting a bunch of pictures like this, I'll hopefully have reason to do it again in the future. Oooh yeah, that ND is so awesome, love how it makes water look and really opens up options for daytime shooting!

Haha agreed! I want to wear a tshirt and shorts so badly! One of these days....

Fantastic pictures dude, great work! And I LOVE the format, I'm curious how you got photos side by side on your post? I tried to do this a few different ways but the code I was using made it look pretty janky. Any insight would be helpful :).

Thanks so much man! Glad you like it, figured it was time to try something new. Yeah, I tried some things that didn't work very well, but the code in this post was super helpful and is what I ended up using! Hope you find it useful.

Thank you for sharing wonderful pictures, I really enjoyed going through them. I don't think captions are required, the pictures say it all.

Glad you liked them! Thanks for the feedback.

this is very rare for @jhoni, because on our planet there is nothing like the picture there, amazing post, thanks already sharing @yumyumseth.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 27.91% upvote!
I was summoned by @yumyumseth. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of @youarehope and @tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46