Photo Fun Contest - Week 9 Theme of the week ... "I am guilty of..” ~ Almost Dying from the FLU!~

in #mydailypost6 years ago (edited)

You see what happened was...

@theleapingkoala has this contest "Dr. TLK _ Curation Contest: Help me to Thank you # 4"
where they share love and I want to participate in their contest because they have given me lots of love and I really appreciate them.

and...

@leyargoz and @sol25 have #mydailypost and Sunday is free topic. I have not been posting much since I was so sick and wanted to post to them too.

and...

I made a post this past week called Mardi Gras Food Fun and in the comments @chetanpadliya invited me to his contest called Selfie with fruit challenge but I do not like taking selfies. I had an idea for one (me smiling with an orange rind on my teeth) but I missed the deadline but that contest was more about the photo than the story.

Then @Claudiaz had a post in photography on discord about his new contest Photo Fun Contest - Week 9 – “I am guilty of…..” and things I am guilty of ... well suffice it to say I really don't want the whole world to know ...

Then I had an idea. I can tell my orange story with photos and tag everybody!

And...

I am indeed guilty of almost dying from the 2018 Flu.
Tiz true...

fruit bowl .jpg

What happened was...

I had done a contest called #footinframefriday and the day that I posted the winners, was day one of being very very sick. I wont go into the TMI parts but it was awful. It was the worst flu I have ever had. It hurt so bad. As a diabetic, I knew I had to eat but couldn't so I was drinking pink grapefruit juice diluted 50% with water. I normally drink it 90% water/10% juice. My blood glucose level (BGL) was lower than normal but still in the "ok" range. On the third day of being sick, my BGL stayed quite low (in the 80's) but I could hardly lift my head.

Anyway, I have a house guest staying with me for a bit. His first wife was very diabetic and he was quite concerned about me. He had the flu too. Everybody at my house had it. But he had me checking my blood sugar almost hourly.

At about 3 am, he came to check on me and said that I smelled like his ex-wife did when she went into a diabetic coma. He tried to get me awake and I was uncooperative. He got me into the chair by my bed and all I wanted to do was lay back down. He got me awake enough to check my blood sugar but I was delirious. I didn't even know my own dog's name. (Her name is Sweet Tea). She was running back and forth and I couldn't call her name. My blood glucose level was 42. That is half the low end of normal (80). I was on the verge of diabetic coma.

He made some sugar water and tried to get me to drink it but I couldn't. He knew I love oranges and cut some up in wedges and made me bite down on it. I was able to eat them with lots of encouragement and then drink some of the sugar water. Before long he helped me get my BGL back up and I was able to comprehend again and I was no longer combative and delirious. When my BGL was back up to 100 (that is a good number) he let me go back to bed.

sliced oranges.jpg

In the morning, it all felt like a dream. But there were the orange peels beside my keyboard on my desk. I don't cut my oranges that way. When I eat an orange, I cut it in half. The peels on my desk were wedges. Physical evidence that it was not a dream.

orange peels.jpg

I am very thankful to be alive. I know that had he not been here and not checked in on me, I would have died. I thank God he was here.

Because of him having prior experience with a diabetic coma situation and having the knowledge of what to do, I am here today.

By the way, I am guilty of loving oranges too..

Tiz true.

Sort:  

Great story and an excellent post!

Thank you!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 13:06:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 661.95/200.00
Total Photos: 93
Total comments: 106
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

Orange😍 excellent ingredient for another recipe for my channel😀🔥, see my new posts❣️

@aleevillafranca, I now view oranges (and friendships) as gifts from God. I realize English is not your first language and I appreciate that you do your recipes in both Spanish and English, but I think you missed the point of my post. I almost died and oranges saved my life. I realize that it was God who put the right person in my life at the right time with the right skills to do the right thing in the right moment and because of that, I am here today.

Now that you explain me that i understand about your post, it's amazing that oranges saved you and that person who helped you to recover, i'm Happy for you that you are good and recovered from that nightmare😁❣️

It wasn't a dream. But the 2018 flu was indeed a nightmare.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Strypes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!

Oh dear God!

My dear @strypes,

I am so happy too know you are alive, safe and back to us with your loving heart and beautiful soul.

I am also very thankful to your friend for being your guardian Angel at that time. He must have been sent to you by your angels to keep you longer with all of us to love you and enjoy your company even more.

May God keep you safe always :D

Hugs with lots of love <3

I thank God for him too. I have had some close calls in my life but nothing as close to dying as this flu. It has been a month and my lungs still hurt.

Glad your friend knew how to get you back on your feet! Scary stuff, diabetes is very, very serious.

I am glad he knew how to help me too! Diabetes is indeed very scary and very serious. I had never realized how urgently critical it could be.

omg... wow. i am glad you are ok.. did you get vaccinated? I am not vaccinated and i managed to scathe the flu even tho two of my kids had gotten it and i am also on immunosuppressants. but holy crap tho woman! much love to you! tip!

Thank you!

I did not get vaccinated. I have never had a flu shot. The shot is only like 20% effective and the 2018 strain was not the one the vaccine was for.

I am glad you didn't get it. The 2018 flu was horrible!

Hi @strypes! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @deadgrlsuppastar :)

Check out @deadgrlsuppastar blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13