Mardi Gras Food Fun!

in #foodphotography7 years ago (edited)

This Wednesday is Ash Wednesday. In lots of denominations, it is the beginning of the time called Lent in which many will refrain from indulgences.

The day before is called Fat Tuesday or Mardi Gras. Depending on the region, it is the last day of Marti Gras celebrations which include parades and lots of parties.

Alcohol excess and inebriation are equated with the Mardi Gras celebrations. There are several cocktails associated with Mardi Gras.

My favorite is the Hurricane

hurricane party.jpg

Pat O'Brians is a very famous bar in The French Quarter of New Orleans Louisiana. You can buy a mix from them but I was given the real recipe.

Hurricaine Pat O'Brien Style

2 oz. Passion fruit juice
1 oz. orange juice
2 oz. light rum
2 oz. dark rum
2 tbs. lime juice
1 tbs simple syrup
1 tbs. grenadine
garnish with orange slice and cherry

marti gras mask.png

King Cake is a traditional Mardi Gras desert. I do not like it and think is is quite heavy and unpalatable. So when I celebrate Mardi Gras, I like to go with a healthier choice and combine fruits and veggies that are the colors of Mardi Gras (purple, green, and gold).

marti gras food.jpg
Mardi_Gras_Mask_I-icon.png
marti gras fruit.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed my Mardi Gras Food Fun post and celebrate responsibly.

tiara marti gras.png

i-love-mardi-gras.png

Sort:  

All of it looks so good. Love

yes thank you

Thank you @abbijulie I appreciate your encouraging comments and support. I like going lite but still enjoying the fun. For me it is food art.

Your welcome, I must say Delish. Love

I love the Hurricane and Hand Grenade too! Oh, Mardi Gras in NOLA is so much fun! Truly one of its kind experience.

I loved New Orleans when I was there for Mardi Gras 1988. I had a really wild time. The parades were spectacular (throw me something Mister!) lol I would love to go back. Maybe next year.

woo amazing look fresh and looks good

My fruit and veggies combinations are quite delicious. Thank you for your comment.

Awesome! I would love to try those nutritious food & drinks :) cheers!

Thank you @jamiz I am glad you think my post is awesome. I appreciate your comment and support.

@strypes,

Such healthy food before so much heavy drinking! Lol!

Namaste,

JaiChai

Each person must choose their own level of indulgence. I usually only have one hurricane and get quite tipsy.

Such a beautiful shot 👍
Following you for more...@shoot

Thank you. I appreciate your encouraging comment.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 02:24:58
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 650.30/200.00
Total Photos: 91
Total comments: 105
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thank you!

Looks delicious, i want 😒... Check my new posts friend 👍

Thank you!

@chetanpadliya That looks like a very interesting contest. I do not like taking selfies. But I will give it some thought. Thank you for letting me know about your contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54