My Curie Story

in #mycuriestory6 years ago

I did not know what Curie was when I woke up one morning to discover I had the #2 trending post in #art. I do know that I ran screaming into the bedroom to startle my wife @dillemma with the news. "MY POST IS AT $150 DOLLARS!!!"
"What?!?"
Yes, exactly. WHAT?!? I was so exhilarated. I had been excited about Steem before but had never had a post pay out more than a dollar or two without buying votes (yes, I used to buy votes. I am ashamed of it now, but it is true).

I stayed on the front trending #art page for a solid week with my collaboration with an artificial intelligence - the above image started as my own macro photography of bubbles, was run through the Deep Dream Generator several times with the neural network trained in the style of several pieces of my own art, and then the results combined in PhotoShop where I digitally painted on top to enhance things I saw in the AI's fever dreams.

The funny thing is though, I still had no clue it was Curie that had caused me to trend. The biggest vote that came through was @hendrikdegrote, and I assumed his upvote caused the rest of the attention.


I did spend a lot more time making quality posts after this experience, and I saw that pay off even if I didn't keep receiving $100+ reward; in fact, I shortly posted a lengthy and insanely detailed tutorial on the Deep Dream Generator that was well received. Fair Warning - the Deep Dream Generator is HIGHLY addictive! Read with caution!

My Curie story had a ripple effect - it got my wife excited about posting as well, and soon she created a detailed tutorial post on how she creates her photocopied demon mask self portraits. Lo and behold she got a Curie as well! This time while discussing her post on Discord with some friends I finally figured out that Curie was behind both of our large payouts!

Demon Face Self Portrait 6 by @dillemma - used with permission

As I began to research Curie I fell in love with the concept. What a selfless organization! I loved the concept of rewarding quality authors who were flying under the radar. I knew how much it meant to me to receive my own Curie, and I started looking into becoming a Curie curator myself. The rest is, as they say, history. I have been a top Curie curator since October and am a Curie Community Representative. I wrote a story about my experience as a Curie curator that I still consider my finest posting on Steem blockchain - check out "Tears for Steem" if you want to hear the kind of impact being a Curie curator has had on my life.

The Times Have Changed


I would love to say that a Curie upvote will still cause an author to trend on major tags like #art or #photography for a solid week as I did, but unfortunately the times have changed. I am not going to get into my opinion of bid bots and vote selling services here as I am on the record multiple times as firmly against them in all implementations. I will note though one effect these "services" have had is it is impossible to trend on a major tag without paying. If even the @steemitblog account, with a MAJOR update that should have been the biggest news on Steem blockchain by far, cannot make it to the trending page we have a problem.

Curie is doing its part to help increase visibility of good, original content. Curie is doing its part to help support engaged authors. Curie is doing its part to empower quality curators.

If you have a Curie story yourself, consider sharing it so the community knows what kind of difference Curie has made.


I would love to see the #mycuriestory tag filled with your voices. The number of authors that Curie has reached is staggering when you get into the REP levels that mean consistent, engaged posting for more than a couple of weeks. I wonder how many of these authors are in the same boat I was in, not even realizing that Curie was behind the big upvote that changed their trajectory on Steem blockchain?


Curie Upvote Logo 150px.png

Learn more about Curie

Ways you can support Curie

  • Follow the @curie blog and upvote and resteem Curie posting
  • Follow the @curie trail and vote for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.
  • Vote for the @curie witness (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).
  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.
Sort:  

hi ,,, can #mycuriestory be written by other than curator @curie? because I also have a great experience about @curie who always give upvote on my blog. thanks so much ..

Yes that would be awesome @boyasyie! I would love to see #mycuriestory posting from you and anyone else with a story to tell about Curie! Please let me know if and when you post :) Cheers - Carl

Thanks so much..of course i will try it. i like you

First thing... I see no resemblance of "bubbles" in your art piece so I am naturally curious as to how that works. Second, you have me curious about this Deep Dream Generator and I will be crawling into that rabbit hole, I'm sure. Thirdly... I've been on Steemit for nearly a year and have never been "Curied" or have never heard of "Curie." Also I am anti-bot and have only paid for votes twice... both times loosing money. I do upvote my content while at the same time generously upvote those that comment on my posts - that has become the only way I get a ROI on my own invested money. I will definitely read up on this Curie thing and I will be heading to the rabbit hole now... thanks!

You have been an example of what a curator should be. Thanks to you I learned about @curie, not only because you proposed my first post voted by @curie, but for the help you have given me to also be a curator and the patience that you have had in this process. Now I feel curie and the rest of curators as a family.

Yeah it is a really great community to be a part of, and I am stoked that you are on board now :) You are a good guy

Good day sir, it was fun to read how you reacted on your first curie experience. Although I can not entirely relate since I haven't been curied yet, but still it was fun reading this little article. Though I am well aware how curie can change one's perspective towards steemit once they get that first upvote from curie, it not only encourages the author himself but also those who're in his circle (got a few online pals who got curied, and multiple times like @adamada.). Nevertheless I'm not hopeless to be curied one day. Thanks for the dedication you're exerting on giving small steemians something to look out for and providing motivations to those who loose their self confidence in this platform due to low visibility and influence (we all know how politics works in this platform, it's saddening sometimes that those bigger fish gets even bigger because of politics while small fishes with little popularity gets ignored even with noteworthy posts.). Have a great day ahead, cheers!

#mycuriestory

Much like you @carlgnash, the first time I was curied was a fun/confusing moment for me.

Perhaps unlike you, I knew (inherently) that I sucked and there was no legitimate reason for 100+ people and 100+ $ to land like magic on my post. I spent an inordinate amount of time searching around for bugs/problems with the steemit platform in an attempt to learn more about the mistaken votes/cashish going on with my post. I thought maybe if I could find the mistake, I could give the funds back. I never did find anything. So, I kicked my computer for being so stupid and not providing me with an answer.

Well eventually I started clicking through all of the people that voted for the post, landed on the curie page and read about it. A small army of people focused on finding awesome content and elevating it in order to help improve the quality of the first decentralized-social-network-bloggy-whatever-this-steemit-thingy-is? Fuck yeah! I'm on board. I immediately apologized to my computer and started working on another post. Go curie!

I've never had a direct encounter with @curie, but that doesn't mean I don't know how important they are to our blockchain.

Twice have I received your badge of originality, which honestly means so much, your work as a curator always astonishes me - I can't even think of how much time you must spend on the job.

Sometimes I find creators who are seriously undervalued and I wish I could somehow draw curie's attention to that post - would I have to be a curator to do so?

@carlgnash How great to read this! I identify a lot with you since I also received a vote from Curie, it was fantastic and I know the feeling you felt because I also jumped, ran and shouted of emotion! The work that you do in Curie is admirable and I also felt very praised when I saw in one of my post where I won a contest, your congratulations for my work.
I wish I could reward your work like Curie does. blessings friend!

The beginning of your story reminds me of mine, when I suddenly made 82$ for my art post: https://steemit.com/surreal/@patschwork/no-manipulation, thanks to @curie. That was the first and the last time. Since then it's hard work to get my stuff well paid. But for me, steemit isn't only about that,I found so many great people and artists, that it's always worth to create good posts. Thanks for sharing your experience, @carlgnash!

Thank you, Carl. For posting about this issue. Yes, Curie was my fairy godmother once and it was wonderful. I agree, bit bots have made getting to the trendy page solely on talent and even talent and networking pretty much impossible. The trending page is a promoted page. I think curie might re-esteem work and people could follow if they want to see quality. I don't go to the trendy page.

I saw this being resteemed by someone and I have always been curious on your curie story.

Life changing is a common theme that I get from people. To wake up to a post that you slaved away for hours before and see so many votes, comments, and congratulations.

You are left at awe at such luck that it happened. Sometimes lighting hits twice and even thrice to most people because they are truly talented to most it becomes a story of faded glory but nevertheless something they are proud of.

Steem has given me a place to be creative, to share my inner thoughts without fear of ridicule, a safe place for me to be the person I want to be. Curie unlocked a semblance of self-confidence in me that my thoughts and experiences matter and is worth something.

I have curie as one of my witness votes and I look at majority of the posts that get curied as I truly see how exceptional they are.

One thing that being around some curie curators like Futurethinker, Raj, Andy, Ruben and Awaken is that they are human too (not sure on FT, still thinks he is an AI from the future) and that human curators are needed in this platform to keep it being awesome.

Thank you Curie for everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64