My 2017: Welcoming the new year - family gathering in my grandmother’s house

in #my20177 years ago

Hello Steemians!

Hope you all had a nice New Years with your loved ones, and best of wishes for this wild 2018 ahead of us!!

In this post I want to share with you how we receive New Years here on my country Venezuela.

As always, we reunite with the family to spend the night together and eat some of our typical food you can see on this pic.

IMG_3461.JPG

In there, we have our Hallaca, ham bread, chicken salad, and fruit salad.

It’s just a moment where we can catch up with family we don’t see much, and relax while waiting for 12:00am of January first :D

One of our tradition, is to eat 12 grapes starting at exactly 12:00am and to make a wish while eating each grape.

IMG_3447.JPG

Another crazy tradition, is to grab some baggage and go on the street for a walk... with the bags...

Why we do this you may wonder?


Well because, supposedly it can give you good fortune if you wish to travel in that year. In this case we couldn’t do it because of the high insecurity right now in Venezuela. So we just stayed indoors. But we have done it in the past :D

Another tradition is to hold some money or gold while receiving the new year, which is funny right now because no one wants to hold our local currency bolívares since it’s pretty much destroyed, so everyone is putting dollars out of their pocket and holding them WTF... what I did is to hold my phone with my steemit profile there, because steem is better than dollars ;)

Next we have the tradition consisting in wearing yellow underwear because of similar reason. Supposedly it will bring you good fortune in the year. But I won’t show you underwear pics so don’t worry you can keep reading confidently.


IMG_3462.JPG

Here you can see me, my dad and my 2 baby sisters

Finally, when New Years arrive, we all hug each other and wish us a prosperous New Year.

Here are some gifs of my family hugging each other’s while receiving the New Years.

IMG_3444.GIF

IMG_3445.GIF

IMG_3446.GIF

If you wanna see the video, it’s posted here.


Feel free to share your opinions about our traditions! And share yours in case you have some.

Neuromarketing and IAs: are we losing control when making our purchases?


Cultural myths and taboos of modern society: "Communism creates egalitarian societies"


When we are blinded by an apparent “perfection”


The legend of the only female “Pope” in history, “Pope” Joan.


My resolution for 2018: I want to be in the top 10% of Steemit


final banner.JPG

Sort:  

such a lovely family, i got a question though, have Venezuelans consider leaving the country or the local gov forbids that to happen?
I really hope Venezuela will get better! (have a Venezuelan friend)

Thank you :D

Yeah, a lot of Venezuelans are leaving the country, my own dad will move to America at the end of January.

Almost every Venezuelan is planning to move to another country. But that’s not easy either.

The government doesn’t forbid people from leaving, it’s just difficult to get passports, or plane tickets because they are expensive here

I think Venezuela will improve in 2019, 2018 I believe will be a year for important changes here.

I believe that you guys, the citizens there have the power to make Venezuela better, it takes a nation to save the country. Keep spreading and expanding the Venezuelan Steemit Community! I really enjoy your post too.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dedicatedguy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68021.51
ETH 3262.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67