Cover Versions 21–40 – Music to Your Ears (Compilation, includes links to all previous posts in this series)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

from Bebo Best to The Diodes

from Patti Smith to Japan ...

from The Cramps to The Stranglers
Covers–21 … (MYTE)

Madeleine Peyroux – (covering) “Dance Me to the End of Love”

This magnificent version shows that it is one of greatest songs of its time. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Dance Me to the End of Love"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–22 … (MYTE)

The Stranglers – (covering) “Walk on By”

They evolved far beyond punk, creating their unique brand of so-called “sophisti-pop.” 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Walk on By"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–23 … (MYTE)

Patti Smith – (covering) “Gimme Shelter”

With her punk intensity and her poetic sensibility, Smith managed to interpret it effectively and magnificently. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Gimme Shelter"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–24 … (MYTE)

Amy Winehouse – (covering) “All My Loving”

Amy expresses a profound beauty that becomes clear and palpable. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"All My Loving"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–25 … (MYTE)

Chet Baker – (covering) “Almost Blue”

The lyrics relate the sad musings of a man who has abandoned love – making this the most appropriate interpretation. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Almost Blue"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–26 … (MYTE)

Dionne Bromfield – (covering) “Three Little Birds”

She created a suberb version that does justice to the original Marley version – and then some. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Three Little Birds"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–28 … (MYTE)

David Bowie – (covering) “Wild Is The Wind”

Bowie’s superb vocal abilities are showcased wonderfully in this earnest and heartfelt rendition.. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Wild Is The Wind"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–29 … (MYTE)

Long John Baldry – (covering) “You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin”

This was the most-played song for 22 years, and has been noted for being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant.” 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–30 … (MYTE)

Chuck Berry – (covering) “Route 66”

There are various covers of this genre-transcending classic, including blues-rock, psychobilly, and swing versions. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Route 66"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–31 … (MYTE)

The Rolling Stones – (covering) “Route 66”

This propulsive, charged-up version was the first song on Side One of their first album. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Route 66"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–32 … (MYTE)

Them – (covering) “Route 66”

With its heavy rhythms, frenetic piano, jangling guitars, and fiery vocals, this rendition eclipsed even the Stones’ version. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Route 66"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–33 … (MYTE)

The Cramps – (covering) “Route 66”

A rendition that is steamy ‘n’ eerie in some sections, and rough ‘n’ raunchy in others. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Route 66"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–34 … (MYTE)

The Brian Setzer Orchestra – (covering) “Route 66”

A rousing and wonderfully creative work of fine, swinging art. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Route 66"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–35 … (MYTE)

The Diodes – (covering) “Red Rubber Ball”

The Diodes recorded this excellent rendition of one of Paul Simon’s lesser-known songs. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Red Rubber Ball"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–36 … (MYTE)

Annie Lennox – (covering) “I Put A Spell On You”

Desmond Tutu praised Annie Lennox as an “exemplary human being.” 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"I Put A Spell On You"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–37 … (MYTE)

Eddie Vedder – (covering) “All Along the Watchtower”

This rendition is one of the finest versions since Hendrix covered it back in 1968. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"All Along the Watchtower"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–38 … (MYTE)

Japan – (covering) “All Tomorrow’s Parties”

The suberb musicianship and David Sylvian’s crooning vocals hint that everything might not be so bad. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"All Tomorrow’s Parties"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–39 … (MYTE)

Bebo Best & The Super Lounge Orchestra – (covering) “Sing, Sing, Sing”

Vibrant dancing by a troupe of smiling young ladies, all boogying to beat the band. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Sing, Sing, Sing"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)
Covers–40 … (MYTE)

10,000 Maniacs – (covering) “Because the Night”

The music is quieter and more subdued, making it even more beautiful. 
(Right-Click to see my original post)

"Because the Night"  
(Right-Click to hear on YouTube)
(Image source)

The following are links to all previous posts in this series:

         Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears "Posts 1~~20"  
Sort:  

Hello, @majes.tytyty, popped in to see if there was a vocab practice up and noticed it's been a month so I thought I'd drop a line here and say hello. I hope all is well for you.

No, sorry, I have not yet restarted Vocab-ability posts. As you know, I intend to do so, but it might take a while before I get around to it.

Thanks for the greetings. Since the end of Vocab, I've been out of touch with most of those who took part in the Vocab Practice. Hopefully, they'll reappear once Vocab starts up again.

All's well here (except for the low Steem price, but all cryptos are down). I hope all is well on your end. Cheers!!

Hello Sir. @majes.tytyty.

Is it possible to pay tribute to all musical styles and trends by exposing them together without giving greater relevance to any author / theme on another?
It is definitely possible. And in each of your publications of this type we can verify it.

You have walked through this whole range of rhythms, bringing representative pieces and you have managed to give all themes the same brightness within our musical tastes.

I call this being eclectic in the full sense of the word.

Your friend, Juan.

Thanks for that huge compliment. I try to present a broad range of music, without focusing too much on any few genres, but I'm not always sure if I'm successful at that. I'l grateful that you can appreciate and enjoy these posts. That's why I make them.

It´s my pleasure my friend.
Please continue with your excellent posts.

Hi

Excellent friend ... so I can listen for a good long moment a varied and good music.

Greetings from my Venezuela.

Enjoy! There's plenty to listen to, but I hope you also manage to get some work done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43