“Wild Is The Wind,” covered by David Bowie … (Rock / Blue-Eyed Soul – Music to Your Ears, Covers–28)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Bowie’s superb vocal abilities are showcased wonderfully in this earnest and heartfelt rendition.

David Bowie – “Wild Is The Wind”

“Wild Is The Wind” (1976 – original from 1957)

Bowie recorded this cover in 1976, after having met Nina Simone, who had covered the same song in 1966. The original was sung by Johnny Mathis, and Simone’s is one of the better-known versions, but it is this version by Bowie that popularized it.  

B & W & Grey

Bowie was well known for his superb vocal abilities, and he showcased them wonderfully in this earnest and heartfelt rendition. In the video, the soothing atmosphere of the song was enhanced by the unobtrusive black and white – and the soft, warm shades of grey.  

Tender Wind

With lyrics written by the film composer Dimitri Tiomkin for the 1957 film “Wild is the Wind,”  this wonderful love song has been covered and improved on by numerous artists.   

The original by Mathis was nominated for an Academy Award, and he sang it at the 1958 Oscars ceremony. Since then, various artists have recorded their own versions of this tender tune – from Barbara Streisand to George Michael to Esperanza Spalding.    (Image source)

note – Bowie performed this song during his final live stage appearance, in New York City in 2006.  

David Bowie

British singer / songwriter David Bowie was one of the all-time great rock musicians. Many of his songs and albums have become classics of the genre – particularly the innovative music that he recorded in the late 1960s, throughout the 1970s, and into the early 1980s. He continued producing music until days before he passed away. 

Genre-Bending and Gender-Bending

While most of his work is essentially rock, he created music in a wide variety of genres – soul, funk, disco, ambient, and other, more genre-bending styles.

And during the 70s, he fashioned a small parade of extreme and extremely interesting characters, from the androgynous Ziggy Stardust to the Thin White Duke, through which he presented his ground-breaking music. 

The Man Who Rose Beyond Earth

Bowie received critical acclaim not only for his music, but also for his acting. Over the years, he acted in such diverse roles as an extraterrestrial visitor in “The Man Who Fell to Earth”  and as Pontius Pilate in “The Last Temptation of Christ.”   

David Bowie died in January 2016.    (Image source)

Love me, love me, love me, say you do
Let me fly away with you
For my love is like the wind, and wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
Give me more than one caress, satisfy this hungriness
Let the wind blow through your heart
For wild is the wind, wild is the wind

You touch me,
I hear the sound of mandolins
You kiss me
With your kiss my life begins
You're spring to me, all things to me
Don't you know, you're life itself!

Like the leaf clings to the tree,
Oh, my darling, cling to me
For we're like creatures in the wind, and wild is the wind
Wild is the wind
    [4x]

        Johnny Mathis – “Wild Is The Wind”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Dimitri Tiomkin, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears” ...

          Previous posts in this series – "Cover Versions 1–20"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

Great song that song is a classic ! I haven't heard that song in like over 20 years, the last time I heard that song I was still in my early teen's. Great selections @majes.tytyty music never dies keep up the good work @majes.tytyty 👍

Thanks. I agree that it's a classic. In fact, it's favorite of mine ... from 40 years ago!!

Your welcome @majes.tytyty 👍
Yeah I figured that all the songs you post must be some of your all time favorites 😁

Music to my ears
I love music and nice throwback music for us that was not born then

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91