“Because the Night,” covered by 10,000 Maniacs … (Rock / Unplugged – Music to Your Ears, Covers–40)

in #music5 years ago

The music is quieter and more subdued. That makes it more listenable and maybe even more beautiful.

10,000 Maniacs – “Because the Night”

“Because the Night” (1993 – original from 1978)

Natalie Merchant and her band 10,000 Maniacs recorded this version as part of the “MTV Unplugged”  series. 

Quiet and Right

No version of “Because the Night”  can ever compare to the visceral original by Patti Smith. In this unplugged rendition, the Maniacs didn’t even bother trying – and thereby succeeded in creating a fine reinterpretation.   

It’s not as powerful as the original, but – hey – it’s unplugged. The music is quieter, and Merchant’s vocals are more subdued. But in a way, that simply makes it more listenable and maybe even more beautiful.   (Image source)

10,000 Maniacs

10,000 Maniacs is a US alternative rock band that has been active since 1981.    

By 1985, they had recorded 2 albums and attracted commercial attention and critical acclaim. Their heyday was in the late 1980s–early 1990s, when Natalie Merchant was their lead singer.  

Maniacs in Washington

In January 1993, 10,000 Maniac played at MTV’s Inaugural Ball for President Bill Clinton. The following April, the band played on “MTV Unpluggged,”  and released an album of the performance that October.     

Natalie Merchant left the band in August 1993.    (Image source)

Take me now, baby, here as I am
Pull me close, try and understand
Desire's hunger is the fire I breathe
Love is a banquet on which we feed

Come on now try and understand
The way I feel when I'm in your hands
Take my hand, come undercover
They can't hurt you now,
Can't hurt you now, can't hurt you now
Because the night belongs to lovers
Because the night belongs to lust
Because the night belongs to lovers
Because the night belongs to us

Have I doubt when I'm alone
Love is a ring, the telephone
Love is an angel disguised as lust
Here in our bed until the morning comes
Come on now, try and understand
The way I feel under your command
Take my hand as the sun descends
They can't touch you now,
Can't touch you now, can't touch you now
Because the night belongs to lovers

With love, we sleep
With doubt, the vicious circle
Turn and burns
Without you I cannot live
Forgive, the yearning burning
I believe it's time, too real to feel
So touch me now, touch me now, touch me now
Because the night belongs to lovers

Because tonight there are two lovers
If we believe in the night we trust
Because tonight there are two lovers

        Patti Smith – “Because the Night”    
          (Right-click to hear on YouTube)


Lyrics by Patti Smith, courtesy of – AZLyrics.com
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia
Reference – Wikipedia

Into your ears … through 5 channels

 The various posts are categorized into 5 channels (Right-Click to see details)
         1 – “Music to Your Ears” (MTYE)
         2 – “Cover Versions”
         3 – “Honor Roll”
         4 – “Documentaries”
         5 – “Mock’n’Roll”

More “Cover Versions – Music to Your Ears” ...

          Previous posts in this series – "Cover Versions 1–20"  

Links to my other series ...

          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"
          Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"

          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part One – My Lyrics Posts 3~30”
          Great Lyrics, a compilation – “Part Two – My Lyrics Posts 31~60”  

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  
          Vocab-Ability – "Index"  to all Chapters and Sections  

          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part One – Notes 1~50"  
          Notes from Under the Tatami Mats – "Part Two – Notes 51~87"  
Sort:  

Hi friend @majes.tytyty.
I had a lot of time that I didn't visit your blog. I am very pleased that today I come and I find this great piece of music. Thank you for bringing good music and especially topics that remind you of good times in our lives.

How about the preparations to travel to steemfest

I send you a big hug friend.

Yes, it's been a long while. I, too, have been away from Steemit for days at a time. But now, I'm back at it, creating many future posts and trying to post 5-6 times / week.

Glad you appreciate the music. This one is truly a great song, and a great cover version.

As for Steemfest, I'm still undecided. I've been having a bit of a cash-crunch, so I'm not sure if I can afford to go. But if I'm lucky enough to make a earn a bit of profit over the next few weeks, I'll definitely consider going.

Do you have any plans to attend?
Cheers!

Nice friends like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85