The Official Steemit Song That Inspired Steemit Open Mic

in #music7 years ago

Steemit Open Mic has been growing for a year now and the talent participating has been getting better in that time. It has really turned into a thriving community and this is the story of how it all began.

My first post on Steemit was on August 31st, 2016 and even though my first 4 posts made zero rewards I saw the potential of the platform and dived in wholeheartedly to Steemit.

My gears were turning in my head to come up with a niche that would bring value to the community when I happened upon a song sung by @verbal-d and posted by @sirwinchester. Here was his original post that inspired me with an idea.

the_official_steemit_song_that_insprired_steemit.jpg

Image credit

At the time I was brainstorming for ideas. I was looking for:

  1. A topic I could write about that would always keep me interested.
  2. Something that would involve the community.

When I heard that song a light bulb went off in my head because, you see, live music is something I could listen to every day and it would never get old to me.

That song was so cool and original and it was about Steemit and the lyrics were very inspiring. It gave me the idea to start a music contest.

Before beginning I made a post asking the community what they thought of the idea of a weekly music contest and the response was very positive.

@kevinwong responded asking me to PM him in Steemit Chat and we began formulating the details of how it would work.

kevin_wong_comment_about_steemit_open_mic.png

Soon @pfunk and @verbal-d joined in the chat and we initially had the idea of creating multiple contests for all the different genres of music for example, rap, techno, produced tracks, etc..

I thought to get started it would be better to make it as inclusive and simple as possible so anyone could join without needing a recording studio.

Just point your phone camera and sing or play a song. Eventually, if the contest got popular, we could branch it off into other genres.

Well it did get popular and other contests began to branch off into other types of genres run by other Steemians. Some of my favorite are the RapChallenge and the KaraokeContest who I'm happy to say are doinng quite well even though they are fairly new.

There were a few others but they faded away after a few weeks. It is a lot of work to keep going so I understand.

Here we are a year later and still going strong thanks to the talented music community on Steemit and a lot of support.

To celebrate @verbal-d parnered with @papa-pepper and @EdgarStudio to reproduced the song that inspired the whole idea to begin with. (I'm listening to it now as I write this) IT ROCKS! Thanks guys.

If you need a little inspiration on Steemit give it a spin right now. I've included the lyrics courtesy of @verbal-d.

@Verbal-D's "The Official Steemit Song" Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio Music Video


Full Song Lyrics

Written exclusively for Steemit

"The Official Steemit Song"

The Song That Inspired The Steemit Open Mic Contest

Lyrics by @Verbal-D
Instrumental Produced by @EdgarStudio
Vocals Mixed & Mastered by @EdgarStudio
Features From @EdgarStudio & @Papa-Pepper on Steemit.com

Full Song Lyrics Below

@Verbal-D
Intro:

*Yo,

It's your man Verbal-D

Coming to you with another track

To provide you perspective

But will you accept it?

Here we go, here we go*

@Verbal-D
Verse 1:

*How many times have you felt so misunderstood,

Caught up in insecurities, breaking you down like wood?

Got to pull yourself together, 'cause you're destined for greatness

Utilize the image you're given to better shape this

Lifestyle, aim at your goals and start up to write down

What you envision

Apply the pressure like right now

It is here in this moment, so steady focus, keep holding, the ever scolding hot fire that's in your soul and

Progress your progress, keep pushing the limits off its

Perception of all the boundaries stopping you or your wallet

Money's a life tool, like school you've got to accomplish

Assignments that you accept, then deliver better than polished

Life is unpredictable, like coin charts

But you always learn to adapt if you were born smart

So stay ready for the up and down, prepare for steady sloping

Start building your cryptocurrency folder, instead of moping*

@Verbal-D, @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio
Hook:

*Hit a steep hill? Switch the gears and start to Steem-it

Best believe it

You've got the audience to read it

Know you got a story to tell

A testimony, lesson for me,

Blessing us with illustrative written ceremonies

Writer's block?

Think of the block chain

Potential of making money

With writing like stock gains

Know you got a story to tell

A testimony, lesson for me,

Blessing us with illustrative written ceremonies*

@Verbal-D
Verse 2:

*We're all here, looking for upvotes

But when it's bout the money the people get cutthroat

Smiling from ear to ear

Focused on buck, notes

They"re trying to be sincere

But don't give a "uh" though

They see you at the top

Hoping you duck low

Praying your down fall

Wishing you're stuck broke

Ignored your skill sets Saying "It's luck",

so The pressure will build up

Like pulling a muscle

I'm not a killer whale

My music is well orchestrated

I've got to seal (seel) the deal

Before the orcas take it

I'll be twisting and turning, getting around

Flipping and emerging the surface above the crowd

I may not be a porpoise

But I know my purpose

And I'll be sure to share my love

Even when I'm nervous

So depending on the currency

I know People change directions like the current sea

Whether sharing daily info, or posting your first intro

The ladies, even the men know

How to cut it down the middle

The smallest must stick together

Especially being a minnow

Choose to work alone?

No problems like other men owe

Share my deepest stories

Surviving the black widow

And Imma bring the light

Then letting that fire kindle...

I take this opportunity

Putting use of my mental

By pouring out my heart

And my soul through the instrumental...

It's all love...*

@Verbal-D
Singing Outro:

*Said it's all love

It's nothing but love

All you gotta do

Is share the love

It's really not that hard

Stay true to who you are

It's always up to you ...

With what you choose to do...(x2)

Dream on dream on

Steem on steem on

Dream on dream on

Steem on steem on*

Song Lyrics Copyrighted By @Verbal-D

Thank you @verbal-d, @papa-pepper, and @edgarstidio for producing such a great track and all you do for the Steemit community.

Thank you @pfunk for your continued and enthusiastic support.

Thank you @verbal-d, @krystle, @soundlegion, and @jessamynorchard for your help judging the contest each week and a big thanks to the Steemit community for making Steemit Open Mic the fun community it is.

Related Posts

Verbal-D's The Official Steemit Song Featuring Edgarstudio And Papa Pepper Music Video --- by @papa-pepper

The Steemit Song Original Music By Verbal D --- by @sirwinchester

New Idea For A Contest Steemit Open Mic Night --- by @luzcypher

Steemit Open Mic Week 51 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

steemians-support-open-mic.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the awesome post bro, it really means a lot coming from you the sole individual who came up with this idea for the Steemit Open Mic Contest. You truly are a community leader and a kindhearted soul, and I am grateful to have connected with you on Steemit, and call you my friend. I look forward to continuing our success and providing quality feedback and engagement in our wonderful music community and the Steemit community as a whole. Many thanks for all that you do and what you give back to everyone on a daily basis. I hope you get to go to Steemfest 2. I don't know the update, hopefully you won that contest.

Thanks, @verbal-d for the kindness and your energy helping with the contest. I also appreciated your nomination for @blueorgy's SteemFest 2 ticket giveaway and although I didn't win I'm still going to SteemFest.

I'm thrilled to see that @anomadsoul won one of the tickets. He's a friend of mine and I signed him up to Steemit. Very excited to see him there.

Hi @luzcypher, I see you have mentioned me.
This is automatic response so that I may respond to your mention later.

Amazing rap @Verbal-D

wow I see how this performance inspired you. Normally I’m not a fan of rap music but this one hit me. Thank you so much for sharing the story behind open mic. It’s very interesting and I hope you will keep doing this for many more years. And a big shoutout to all the talented Steemians that participate in this amazing challenge

I would thank you for the resteem but you did not resteem this post. In fact, you didn't even upvote it. You're not going to get very far on Steemit if you're not honest.

Oh ho, Sorry network issue, i do it
Thanks for remind me

Good post! I'm going to follow you to see more post like this and for support us!

Cool and thank you. Check out the Seemit Open Mic posts to join the contest.

Everyone should hear this. Resteemed. So much talent. Big ups for your contribution here.

Thanks for the resteem!

You are welcome. Any tips on how to succeed here like you have :-)

These are amazing lyrics. I love the clever rap scheme. And the story behind the open mic. I'm working up a cover so I can participate soon!

Look forward to hearing you. We're having fun here. I like your handle @littlescribe. Very cool.

I like your post.

it seems like I should sing in steemit. :D

Come sing us a song on Steemit Open MIc. You can sing about anything you want.

to sing, I have to rehearse. I've been playing music since childhood, it's been very long. my fingers are stiff to start with acoustics.
but, singing is a very nice thing.

Thanks for your work @luzcypher Followed...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45