New Idea For A Contest - Steemit Open Mic Night

in #contest8 years ago

The other day I saw a great post that inspired an idea for a weekly contest on Steemit.

This is the post that inspired my idea.

THE STEEMIT SONG! (Original Music by @Verbal-D)

If you haven't heard this song go check it out. It's really cool track and great lyrics for Steemians. Way to lay it down @verbal-d

I love to get to know musicians and thought an open mic night on Steemit would help musicians get their music heard and Steemians could vote for their favorite performances.

I'm just throwing the idea out there to see what you guys think so let me know in the comments below and upvote if you like it.

Even if you don't play an instrument but would like to see an open mic on Steemit just let me know. I'll only get it going if there is an interest by the Steemit community.

The rules would be very simple and not judged on production quality so everyone could join in on the fun. Just record your performance live on your cell, upload it to YouTube or your favorite video hosting site and post it on Steemit under the tag: openmic

Ater one week the top three posts with the most votes would win a percentage of the proceeds from the contest. It be a great way to see some talent emerge here on Steemit and to network with other musicians while entertaining the community. What do you think guys? Anyone interested?

Again, this post is just to gauge interest and solicit ideas from all the creative people here.

Some graphic ideas to promote it.

Here's a few possible blog posters I made up in case you guys like the idea. I'm inviting feedback from everyone, musician or not so lay it on me.

Steemiam.png

open mike night steemit lounge.png

Looking forward to your suggestions and ideas.

luzcyphersigfileblue90893.png

Thanks guys!

Follow @luzcypher

Sort:  

Hey @luzcypher this is a great idea. I'll definitely be participating and keeping an eye out for other talents. I'm sure we have some skillful musicians here and soon enough there will be some creative collaborations happening as well. Upvoted and big thanks for the acknowledgement, I'm glad the song could inspire you to come up with such a great idea and opportunity here on steemit. Let me know how else I can get involved besides participating if you need any further help, I'm also on steemit chat same username and am open to joining the group chat if so welcome

Welcome @verbal-d. Good to have you aboard.

yes I think this is a great idea for sure. I am all ears !! following this now @lucypher. ; - )

Im glad you like the idea. Me too. Do you play and instrument yourself?

Well its an easy idea to llike as its great as I said ! ; - ) Well yes I play guitar,here is a recent post ! https://steemit.com/music/@gomeravibz/power-on-the-water-my-floating-dream-of-electric-guitar-playing-while-living-on-the-oceanr-on-a-boat

Playing guitar on a boat sounds so fun. I can feel the rhythm of the waves keeping a beat to play to. Awesome story.

I will never stop believing as when you do you are as good as dead no? Yes we are lucky folks to live the ocean as our home. But then i promise you its not always too easy either as when the dolphins leave you, there is sometimes a reason brewing up ahead !! So I am glad you love us boaty sorts, how long ago was this sailing in Cancun experience you mention ?

I lived in Cancun for 10 years. Went on the yacht a couple times a month all of that time. Beautiful place. Moved back to the US a few years ago.

Can you really feel the Ocean feeling in this recording, I hope so as it would be nice to think so !! Playing a guitar is fun anywhere i promise you that @luzcypher, but yes the Ocean connection and movement is so great for sure. The feeling of immensity and space in sound is a real inspirational thing. Plus I can play real loud just like I love too as I have basically no neighbors that can complain. There are some boats which pass by to my anchor haunt, but they dont seem to mind too much as yet. No complaints so far, but then boaty sorts are free minded polite people who love and believe in personal freedom. So its really perfect for me.yes! ; - )

I love boat people. We played music really loud on a yacht in Cancun and the dolphins would follow us every time we played, Don't Stop Believing, by Journey

Well that sounds fantastic to have lived this beautiful lifestyle and place for so long. So why did you go back to the states !! Missed home ??

No, I didn't go back home.
You can read more about why I returned here. <===

I think that's an awesome idea! I'd love to hear more original music, and would love to share mine too :) Thanks @luzcypher!

Great! Had a chat about it last night with @kevinwong. He expressed interest and ideas to make it happen. Perhaps garner some support from a few whales to kick it off. I think it would be a fun project for Steemit. Did you get a chance to listen to @verbal-d's song? Good stuff.

Come let's have a chat on Steemit.chat :) lol, there are a few of us that should come together for coming up with community-wide participation kind of music learning / doing type of deal..

OK, let's chat.

I like it.

Nice idea man!

Thanks. I think it will be fun and we may discover some Steemit stars.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47