Acoustic Anarchy :: My First-Ever Music Review! 🎸 @kafkanarchy84 (Graham Smith) 🎸 "Happy Diseases"

in #music6 years ago (edited)

graham.jpg

Album Cover


page-divider.jpg

On April 4th, 2018 @kafkanarchy84 (aka Graham Smith) released the album "Happy Diseases." <--- CLICK TO LISTEN

He proactively requested reviews of it HERE, and I am happy to add this one!

Graham is an American expat, Voluntaryist, and activist who lives with his wife, @mslight2016st, and son in Japan. I wanted to know a bit more about him, and learned a lot from this inspiring interview. In Graham's conversation with Adrian Nantchev, highlights for me included learning:

🎸 that Graham is also from Indiana!
🎸 that vaccinations are an important topic to him
🎸 that his views on self-upvoting here on Steemit are identical to mine (36:55 til about 40:00)
🎸 more about his evolution in voluntaryism and entrepreneurship ("Everything shattered.")
🎸 that he creates the things he does to inspire us to look into things, and care about them.


Q: Why all this fuss about non-musical stuff?

A: Because I believe even a little CONTEXT, helps art sink in more deeply.

page-divider.jpg


1. Ketchup (The Human Animal) (2:01)

Peppy melody. Clever play on words ;-)


2. Ayn Rand / Marvin Gaye (3:19)

"am I the pompous prick // that says he's awake?" Nice vocal swirls at the end.


3. Leaving the Leaves (2:37)

Is "leaving the leaves" a call for nudity/transparency?


4. Adrenaline Junkies vs. The Kids Who Don't Keep Score (4:02)

I think adrenaline junkies might crave a faster song. But I'm guessing the kids who don't keep score, probably weighed-in on slowing things down. Hilarious ending.


5. Cycles (Have a Beer) (2:48)

Smoooooth. Hammock-time! THIS IS MY FAVE SONG. Bluesy-jazzy-funk... with sweet lullabye la-la's.


6. Robbing Super Walmart # 3:30 AM (3:24)

Happy tune. Horrible plan. I think the song is a PEP-TALK for an early morning big-box-retail-chain heist.


7. Happiness Diseases (5:40)

This song reminds me of people who get diagnosed with cancer, say "Fuck that!", and decide to LIVE. (I've seen it happen, more than once.) Interesting horn. Mostly, it soothed. One time, it didn't.

page-divider.jpg

"Happy Diseases" is RAW. It doesn't seek to be fancy, or trendy.
Just the opposite. It's self-described as "lo-fi."
And from its own simplicity and realness,
it seems to call for the same from us.

Also, HUGE BONUS! Graham inspired me
to be more daring with the use of my voice.
To trust it with greater ranges.
To strengthen it, with use.

That's why brave artists, are my favorite artists.

Speaking of which...

page-divider.jpg

Artists, I love what you do in + for the world!

If you create things that stimulate beauty or freedom, and you would like to bring more attention to either your PROJECT or your PROCESS (process is so interesting, yet rarely discussed), please leave a comment, and maybe I can do a similar review for you. Maybe. ;-)


Other Recent Posts:

🔥 Steemit Vision Quest * Week #10 * TwinFlame

🔥 Skin-Hunger, Siberian Fir Oil, Exposed Fruits Of The State, And An Overdue Reply To The Co-Creator Of @Anarchaforko, @lily-da-vine.


Thanks for the gift of your attention. Do YOU feel in need of some?

Sort:  

Great comments @erikaharris! Thank you for sharing this. Upvoted. Keep up the great work you do! I'll have to check out more of Graham Smith's content and material.

Thanks so much, @terrybrock. I appreciate your support :-)

Also, I think @kafkanarchy84 could make a great interview for you!

Thank you, @erikaharris. Yes, I was thinking about that. In listening to his content, it seems that he and I have a lot of common ideas. Plus he's in Japan! I speak a little (very little!) Japanese and would love to talk with him more about that. Plus, I'm a big fan of good Japanese sake! Whoo Hoo! If you wouldn't mind making an introduction for us, that would be great, but only if you feel comfortable with it. Thank you!

@terrybrock: joyfully done in the comments here somewhere, tomodachi! :-)

Arigato goza imasu watasho no tomodachi desu!

Regarding "Leaving the Leaves" -- Thank you for getting this. :)

And thanks for the whole review.

Really enjoyed it.

My pleasure, @kafkanarchy84!

Just updated to include a line about "lo-fi". Jeez, talk about a major over-sight, lol

Finally, I'd love to introduce you to my good friend, @terrybrock. He is a beloved VOICE in liberty who has emceed all the Anarchapulco conferences, is a professional speaker, big-hearted marketing pro, and all-around great guy.

He's listened to some of your work, sees lots of resonance, and I think would like to speak with you about his Japanophilia... and probably other freedom-related stuff, lol

Excellent! Yeah, just followed him on here and watched one of his DLive videos. Seems like a cool dude for sure. Thanks! @terrybrock, yoroshiku onegaishimasu!

That album cover is everything im going to have to seriously take a listen asap.

Thanks, @reginayvette88. I wonder where it (the cover) comes from...

Regarding the issue number 7 I am very surprised, because my father was diagnosed with this disease and lived his last days unconcerned of any obligation, I send the fuck the job especially to people who said he did not deserve or say hello, I share the same thing (go to hell) I hate hypocrisy, interesting work clearly that if

@fjburgoscoronado, thanks for your comment. How wonderful your father "lived his last days unconcerned of any obligation." What an ideal way to transition. Peace to you.

thanks you .. My excuses for is no the well-read one his response before. Eh very busy condition lately with the terrible situation that this crossing our country and for this motive I had to go out of my country but now I am connecting again to this wonderful family. Thank you again and benedictions for you

Do you want me to resteem your blog post to over 32,800 followers and many viewers to get more upvotes? For more info. go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Another up vote for you!

@inspirewithwords: Thanks for your support, Tim! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88