Steemit Record Pool | Song of The Day : Labi Siffre - I Got The…

in #music7 years ago

Labi Siffre I Got The - SRP.png

Song: I Got The...
Artist: Labi Siffre
Genre: Soul, Funk, Jazz, Hip Hop
Released: 1974


I remember growing up as a kid my dad always used to play Labi Siffre record in the house, but this song especially "I Got The..." brings up great memories, I bumped into it today while i was digging as always for those classical gems and also music that inspired HipHop music.

I Got The... has been sampled by several Hip-Hop artists to mention a few the hit that most know by Eminem "My Name Is" released in 1998 where you can hear the sample from "I Got The..." throughout the song.

Also another artist who sampled it on one of my favorite tracks by Jay-Z "Streets is Watching" From Hova’s 1997 sophomore album In My Lifetime, Vol. 1 I definitely love and prefer the old Jay-Z.


Djlethalskillz GIF


MY PREVIOUS RECORD POOL ENTRIES
The Legendary Curtis Mayfield with The Classic "Move On Up"
Brown Sugar - D’Angelo (Incognito Molasses Live Rework)
A Tribe Called Quest - Stressed Out (Future House Remix)
WU-TANG Vs. The BEATLES
Moves Like Ms. Jackson (Outkast Cover Remix)
Bill Withers - Just the Two of Us (Remix)
DJ Jazzy Jeff & MICK "Summertime Vol. 8 Mix"
Madlib x Nas - Nasimoto [Mash-Up]
Jazz Is Everything - Mix BY DJ Manipulator
Stro Elliot - Kamaal Coltrane
The Lost Samples - Mix BY Quest Love
Queen Latifah - Remix BY Benito Loco
Common - Blue Skies


Think You Got What it Takes to Join the Steemit Record Pool?
For more info check the link below:
https://steemit.com/recordpool/@djlethalskillz/introducing-steemit-record-pool-or-it-s-time-to-curate-great-music


Steemit logo header final.pngSteemit logo header final.png

Sort:  

Thanks for your post I have added Labi Siffre to my ever growing list of musicians i need to listen to more!!

Thank you for the feedback @ewanduffus Labi is a legend! Glad u dig it ;)

i love thisssssssssssss

Thank youuuuuuu ! Enjoy

Ah! You did it. I was actually planning to submit this to the record pool today. Everything about this song is perfect.

ohhh man! haha he has great songs but i chose this one as its my personal fav and especially the memories glued with it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64215.55
ETH 3183.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47