Steemit Record Pool | Song of the Day - "Blue Sky" by [Common]

in #music7 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-25 at 11.15.13 AM.jpeg

Artist: Common
Album: The Dreamer/The Believer
Released: 2011
Genre: Hip-hop/rap
http://thinkcommon.com/


Common is definitely one of my favorite artists on my Top Rappers list. I love his approach and sound to HipHop, uplifting soulful beats with conscious Lyrics and Rap.

Blue Sky from Common's ninth album, "The Dreamer, The Believer" with one of my favorite Chicago producers No I.D. | Blue Sky has multiple elements sampled from the original song Mr. Blue Sky
by the Rock band Electric Light Orchestra (1977)

Common - Blue Sky from Alec Rubin on Vimeo.

Electric Light Orchestra - Mr. Blue Sky


LYRICS
Aston Martin king, Luther with dreams
The young Denzel the way I move through scenes
I’m like a preacher that once was a fiend
A story of change that came with wings
Pretty as the skyline, the sky is my eyeline
Son of the most so from up high I shine
Suited in Prada, stay mellow like lala
Young, fresh, with dollars, ladies go gaga
I’m the cum-lada, top of the class
Black Wall Street so my stock will never crash
Given what I ask, pure religion and cash
From the windows that open, I’m raising my glass
Daylight beams, night life schemes
This is my inception, I’m writing my dreams
Immortal view of a star doing what I’m born to do
I see the blue sky, see the Lord's coming through

Ohh, in the sky we'll find the light
Ohh, until high we'll shine at night
Now we in the skies, blue skies
And we going higher, that's right

It all started with a dream, I wanted to be Run–D.M.C
The Lord put the blessing upon the MC
O to the M, dreams were spoken to him
That's when I knew my flows would overflow to the rim
Open my eyes, yes sir this is what I'm made for
To go hard in the paint like D. Wade or
D. Rose, from the same streets that we rose
International heroes at world primos
Red carpet magic, taking pictures with the president
Told him for health care, my music is the medicine
My name holds weight, I am never hesitant
Different state resident, this is hood elegance
SLS classic, pursuing my passion
NOVA Fashion, now I'm Oscar party crashing
Immortal view of a star doing what I'm born to do
I see the blue sky, see the Lord's coming through

Ohh, in the sky we'll find the light
Ohh, until high we'll shine at night
Now we in the skies, blue skies
And we going higher, that's right

Silhouettes of dreams that we had high, huh
Even now it don't seem so bad ma
Close my eyes to see things in front of me
I'm gone now, imagine what I'm gonna be
Dirty to worthy, now I'm all wordy
My broad up in Paris, looking all purty
Immortal view of a star doing what I'm born to do
I see the blue sky, see the Lord's coming through

Now we in the skies, blue skies
And we going higher, that's right

I had these dreams in my head of an endless fear
I could see it from my window
Wouldn't take that long to get me there
Keep running til' I can go
Remember the beautiful things that life could give me
Crazy how I'm the one
Could've been any way, but I'm sitting in the air
With the wheels up staring at the sun
Ohh, in the sky we'll find the light
Ohh, until high we'll shine at night
Now we in the skies, blue skies
And we going higher, that's right
Writer/s: JAMES FAUNTLEROY, LONNIE LYNN, JEFF LYNNE, MAKEBA RIDDICK, ERNEST WILSON
Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Peermusic Publishing
Lyrics licensed and provided by LyricFind

Title: Song of the Day - "Blue Sky" by Common


WhatsApp Image 2017-10-25 at 11.15.13 AM.jpeg

| Steemit Record Pool |
It's Time to Curate Great Music

Steemit Record Pool is a new initiative brought to you by your local music lovers @vandigital & @djlethalskillz to connect Steemers with a place to share and spread the good music on the Blockchain.

The Steemit Record Pool is where quality music is curated. There are no genre or style limitation and selections are purely based on individual curators taste and mood.
We also highly encourage to explore artists on the Blockchain platform the like of Dsound.audio and DTube.video

DJ's can provide either an "embedded" Audio or Video file in the post along with a short description of the song in your own words. Use the hashtag #recordpool for other users to search for posts and make sure you start your post title with Song of The Day

You are also free to add cover art and other images provided you credit the source.

We encourage DJ's and fans alike to resteem, upvote and comment on posts they like and engage in dialogue with the DJ and Music community on Steemit.

Checkout Steemit Record Pool Official Post for more information https://steemit.com/recordpool/@djlethalskillz/introducing-steemit-record-pool-or-it-s-time-to-curate-great-music

Steemit logo header final.pngSteemit logo header final.png

Sort:  

Dope selection @djlethalskillz. Common and No I.D. is a deadly combination. Both never disappoints! Chicago should be proud of this record.

Glad we vibe on the same frequencies mah man, loving your productions! looking forward to building and collaborating on some stuff if u open to it in near future. Keep on mah man, Kudos!

Building and collaborating pushes the culture forward. I'm always down for that!

Kudos mah man! Well def build further maybe soon we chat on discord and we build further. Salute!

Chi-Town stays proud! All day son! Mad love to everyone that supports our city in the finest way versus the violent ways. Please keep sending love our way and @djlethalskillz thanks for recognizing the Midwest (we're technically the Mideast, closer to the east than we are to the west O_o; lol)

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by djlethalskillz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96