Getting in the Grove: Three of My Favorite Albums to Work to

in #music6 years ago

Work requires concentration, focus, and persistence. Music can be a helpful tool in service of these goals


As a writer, I'm on my computer constantly, finishing projects for companies or simply composing my latest Steemit post. In our age of endless distractions, the process of finishing a piece can be a challenge, as the mind is constantly bouncing from one thing to the next.

Working with music on in the background can be a major benefit or detractor, depending on what is being played. There are certain artists, albums, and genres that I tend to avoid, as the music can be more a hindrance than a help.

But I there are a few albums that I have continued to return to over the years, no matter how many times I've played them. These are albums that induce both inspiration and focus, guiding me towards my end goal of composing something worthwhile. In no particular order, here are some of my favorites:

1. In a Silent Way - Miles Davis


Jazz is one of those genres that can either be the perfect complement for your work or the worst enemy of productivity. There are loads of jazz albums I'd rather listen to separate of needing to do any specific task, as the overly busyness of the music can be obstacle to reaching a flow state.

This is certainly not the case with 'In a Silent Way'. This album is a fantastic companion to reading, writing, and other focus-driven activities, as the music is both consistent and driving, but also includes a degree of ambient, soothing tones. Outside of 'Kind of Blue', this is my all-time favorite Miles Davis album. Despite 100's of listens, I return to it time and time again, and it never fails to assist me in my work.

2. Motion - The Cinematic Orchestra


The Cinematic Orchestra have perhaps one of the most appropriate names in music, as their tunes could serve as a soundtrack for any number of films. As a work companion, 'Motion' fits the bill, providing a driving, repetitive backdrop to keep the mind focused on the work at hand.

This album contains a heavy jazz influence, but much like 'In a Silent Way', the music aids the listener in their activity instead of drawing them away from it. Fittingly, I'm currently listening to this work as I type this.

3. Tycho - Epoch


The most recent release from this ambient electronic group is probably my favorite, for both the music itself as well as the ability to keep my mind in a necessary grove. The ethereal, almost haunting tones on many of the tracks place my mind into a contemplative but productive mindset, one that assists in completing another philosophical steemit screed.

Tycho is one of the best in the 'chillwave' genre, as their music is compelling enough to return to over and over, yet is not intrusive enough to get in the way of whatever you need to accomplish. While I have listened to 'Epoch' far more than any other work by Tycho, all of their albums are worthy of a listen.


All uncredited pictures from pixabay.com or my personal account

If you received value from this post, I would gratefully appreciate your upvote


My Latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

Oh really..
Just amazing album create
.
Carry on your activities my dear friend..
I will wait for your next post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82