Read first, upvote later

in #motivation7 years ago (edited)

Recently, I did not spend much time on Steemit, didn’t read many posts by others, didn’t comment and upvote others posts, most of the time is just writing and posting. There is no doubt that the interaction between the steemian is necessary, which can help to improve and grow.

Have you spent your time to read the post before upvoting? I'm afraid sometimes you just click on the upvote button before clicking on the post, not even read a word. Do you know? It is not a good thing for you to behave like this, the author will mistakenly think that his/her posts are really good, intoxicated in his/her low-quality post. And for you, on the surface, your post seems like getting recognition, in fact, all you get is against the will and fake, you just satisfied your own vanity.


source

In Steemit, we interact with each other, comments; upvote seems to have become a tacit understanding, as long as you give me an upvote, even if you do not read my post, no matter how the quality is, then what is the point of such self-deception?

It has been six months since I joined Steemit, my first ever post, doesn’t have a lot of upvotes, then I looked at those posts that have high upvotes, most of them are travel posts, crypto related posts, and most importantly, most of them are whales. I feel depressed after seeing all those posts, and started to wonder is this what Steemit value the most?

I have no intention to attack any platform and individual, Steemit is indeed a platform for writing dream, there are a large number of people silently adhere to their dreams, they have profound thoughts and fluent writing, I enjoy reading their posts every moment.


source

In the big platform like Steemit, I am small like dust, but I think it is necessary for me to speak out my thought and understanding, that may bring a little inspiration to others.

We can’t be impetuous when we are writing. At first, everyone wants to be recognized by others, want to write a post that worth more than $100 upvotes or even cater with readers.

But I always feel that we must always remember why we join Steemit, is it because of the money? Is it because you like writing? Or is it because of the community? For me, I write in order to find inner peace, to share my experience, feelings, and insights with the community.

But sadly, I don’t know when does it start, I started to forget the reason why I joined Steemit. I went too far and forgot why I joined, all I was pursuing are the views, comments and most importantly, the upvote value. Every time after posting, I will keep on checking, can’t wait to see the comments and upvotes. This wasted a lot of time and energy.

In order to get other people's "recognition," increase my popularity, I also began to comment crazily, randomly upvotes, and rarely read others post seriously.

By doing so, my posts did get a little bit more upvotes, but it doesn’t last long. I know that others upvoted my post is not that they like my post, not because of the good quality content, but it is just a tacit reciprocity.

Such vanity is not what I want, what I need is you read my post carefully, give pertinent comments and suggestions, and I welcome fair criticism and attack. The daily post per day on Steemit is astronomical; the quality is uneven, we can’t even read them all.


source

When reading other people's posts, I don’t plan to read at all of them (even if I want, I can’t), but have to choose, and read every single word carefully, and only upvote those posts that I really enjoy reading and leave a comment. I think this is the real encouragement to the Steemian, and the respect for them and their words, will help them improve, and I hope that we can all take this attitude towards others ' posts.

Any platform has its own advantages and disadvantages, Steemit is no exception. I have been grateful that Steemit provides a convenient platform for the vast number of writing enthusiasts. But because the platform threshold is low, tends to become more popular, contain all kind of people and all kind of posts that may bring negative to the platform. But these are also possible advantages, in this platform, you can know from all walks of life, all ages of people, through their understanding of society, understand the world, you can also make friends with them and communicate with each other.

But we also need to recognize the various types of this platform, look at their good, and change the bad. In fact, there is no so-called good or bad on the platform; the key lies in our own understanding and choices, the most important thing is not to forget why we joined, do not lose ourselves, do not let ourselves fall into the wave of vulgar and commercialization.

Finally, to all the friends who love writing: your persistence, will eventually be beautiful.

follow

PREVIOUS LIFE POST
And now, we're "at a crossroads"
Boredom is our greatest enemy
I did tried my best
If you are going to die the next second...
You only live once
How do I insist on going to bed early

Sort:  

people rush to vote the post of large accounts, perhaps do not know that after 30 minutes is that your vote will bring good healing benefits XD

Maybe because they thought if they vote those posts, they can get something in return or even get notice by the whale.

I am new to Steemit, and I can say, I'm glad to have this as one of the first posts I have read. We must always search for inner peace, happiness, love, for those are things that hold real value, and today's world, is one to have few real things.

Thanks for your comments. Yeah I agree, happiness and love are one of the things that have real value.
BTW, welcome to Steemit!

"In the big platform like Steemit, I am small like dust, but I think it is necessary for me to speak out my thought and understanding, that may bring a little inspiration to others."

I completely agree with what you are saying and you SHOULD speak out! Everyone has a voice here!

It's always important to consider the fact that consistantly posting quality content will increase followers. Our followers will grow as we grow, and as the platform grows.

Essentially, if everything grows as planned, everything we've earned grows and our future potential will grow. We're here in a good time :)

Nice post! Thank you. I hate seeing comments that have nothing to do with the post, or people just spamming the site. It's annoying. But, I'm glad there are people like us, who actually take time to contirbute to the platform. Cheers!

For sure posting quality content will increase followers, but the biggest problem is how do those quality posts get the exposure that they suppose to get when others don't even read the post.

No matter how good your content are, it is useless if no one is reading it.

You can't just post and go. This is a community and interaction is very important. Of course it takes time to build relationships. You will see your hard work rewarded in the long run.

Totally agree, when I first joined, I don't care much about interacting with the community. But now, I see that it is quite important to interact with each other. Hope it's not too late to start. Thanks for the advice :)

Staying true to yourself is the key to happiness.