Boredom is our greatest enemy

in #philosophy7 years ago

This is a story happened to me last summer holiday.

Today is the third day of the holiday.

This afternoon, I was video calling with my friend, she said that the holiday is too boring. But in fact she has a job, as a media person, busy become a normal life for her. I am a little surprised that she also feels bored.

In this full of information world, on the surface, we seem to fill a lot of things with trivial time, but underneath is a more boring state. We look at our mobile phone and computer every day; boredom is like a bottomless pit, always in the overdraft of our time and energy, it is difficult to fill it.

In fact, not only we will be bored during the holiday, boredom is running through our daily life, but the holiday is like a magnifying glass, magnified our boredom, let us see it clearly.

It can be said that boredom is the most realistic portrayal of modern people.


source

A friend of mine is a standard “curve wrecker.” Study is the only thing in her life. Because she was studying in law school, so it is necessary to memorize a lot of things. Sometimes she will even memorize the contents while walking. I often said to her, luckily I didn't study law, or else I will be annoyed.

After her exam, we when for hotpot near her university. I put in a piece of beef and waited for it to float up. She put down her chopsticks and asked me: “Do you often feel bored?” I thought about it and said to her: “For me, most of the time I’m bored. What about you?”. She eats a piece of meat and said: “Well, although my study task is very heavy, I spend most of the time in school studying, but I was like you, most of the time I will also feel bored.”

You see, even if we have something to do, we will also often feel bored, let alone out of the daily order, at that time, boredom will be rushed out and bite us like a beast.


source

There are many kinds of boredom, some boredom is simply have nothing to do, and some boredom is despite a lot of things to do on hand, but still in a kind of numb busy.

There was a semester when I had lesser classes. After class, I will lie in bed, either watching tv series or playing games. One day, one of my roommates, because he has no class, he lay in bed for a day, did not bath, even ask me to buy food for him. When I bought him the food, he sat up from the bed, and said, I’m really bored, tired of playing mobile phones, all the tv series had watched all over.

Although you can play games on mobile phone, you can watch TV series, you can read the article, in short, all your needs it can satisfy you, but it is impossible to fill your boredom, but it will also make you become more bored.

I still remember last national day, I did not go anywhere. It's not fun to go to the place full of tourist, and I don't think there's anything fun there. In my opinion, the more the world rich and colorful, it makes me lose the desire to explore, just feel that there are so many bustling in front my eyes, after that, it slowly becomes bored.

Boredom is not invincible; you just have to find something that you really love so that it can be a distraction. The kind of things that you can do with boundless energy and enthusiasm when you think of it, face it with a sincere heart, you will get a lot of fun rather than feel the day in your hands become boring.


source

Many people are bored precisely because they do not know what they like, so whatever they do, they don’t feel happy, no matter what they do, can’t fill that big hole in the heart.

To find something you really like, you need to keep looking. No one knows what you like in your life. You are bored mostly because of lazy, lazy to explore, lazy to find, lazy to find the insipid life of the happy export. So there are many people complained they are bored, but they don't want to think of ways to liberate their boredom, in the end, only ended up being bored.

I'm disgusted with the kind of people who are not willing to try and just lie in bed.
You can either find what you like or be bored.

I don't want boredom to be the biggest enemy of your rest of your life.

follow

PREVIOUS LIFE POST
I did tried my best
If you are going to die the next second...
You only live once
How do I insist on going to bed early
I've worked so hard just to be a normal person
Everything is meaningless…

Sort:  

My Mom cured use of boredom as kids. When we said we were bored she replied go do something you enjoy, or I will find something constructive for you to do. This is Momspeak for additional chores.

Boredom is where our creativity comes into play though, don't you agree? When we were bored as children it's when we came up with things to make or play around with. Everyday distractions we have don't let our creativity to flow.

Feel into your boredom. Be bored! I'd say we actually have forgotten what is it to be bored - it's not watching videos whilst eating snacks. There is nothing bad about boredom - it was an everyday thing before 21st century :) We're just being conditioned to "hustle" and "chase our dreams" in the society.

Great article nevertheless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60336.09
ETH 2333.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53