Passionate Obsession to Complete Distraction With Nothing In Between - How do YOU stay focused after the spark of inspiration fizzles away?

in #motivation7 years ago

C8A90E7D-3D0D-49D6-978B-0912D7006F57.jpeg

To say “SQUIRREL” would be putting it mildly.

What looks like spontaneity to some, looks like dismissal to others. What presents itself as extreme inspiration really is just a form of hyperfocus that leaves everything else undone until the intensity tapers off a bit.

For the most part, I have come to accept this ADD mind. It’s part of what makes me interesting and I’ve come to realize that you can’t have the exciting part without accepting the rest.

In my bio I say never lost always wondering and it really is the truest statement I can say about myself. Sometimes, I get frustrated at my inability to complete tasks or to even stay on task, but when I really think about it, the wandering part is what has given me joy. I was chatting with @moderndayhippie about one of his latest Inspiring posts And was reminded in the kindest way that, somewhere between all of the other little details of the days, I once again have become distracted.

If only I could paint a picture to show you what I mean.....but wait, I did!

C8954384-A74E-4955-9612-936CB13AF541.jpeg

It’s all there, in a nutshell, do you see it?

94561B06-AEE2-4A1E-8074-C57140937355.jpeg

This painting was never planned it was much closer to a feeling. I may have had an old canvas, I really don’t remember, but I do remember having to put on my shoes and drive across town to the only store that was open at midnight and find painting supplies.

9944761C-8AA2-41D4-B2AE-D32CF1FF9673.jpeg

I sketched throughout the night with absolute focus. I was in the zone. Absolutely inspired. God, I am so addicted to that feeling.

2BBD0987-5270-4BF7-9C3F-8EBBF28BEB10.jpeg

It’s all there really. The sensuality, the wonder, the intensity and the angst just entangled in an unfinished pile. This is me. Some of the pieces are so focused and detailed. Some of them never even got started. This painting, like many of the projects in my life, sits in a corner unfinished but having such great potential.

78850325-FF09-4BD6-8AB5-2A929044B033.jpeg

So I pose the question to you, my fellow Steemians, what do you do to stay on task? Bonus points for those with an ADD mind.

I would love some tips or tricks, even hacks on ways to stay motivated when you’re not being driven by that fiery “in the zone” energy. What do you do to stay focused on long-term projects or ideas that require daily focus?

9BE2147A-EF7D-43E9-BA73-022B8F4C27BE.jpeg

Sort:  

The rest of the time? I plod.

You know the old adage that it's 1% inspiration and 99 % perspiration right? That's very much the case for me with creative writing. I can knock out a decent piece in one draft but to truly polish it to a gem takes a great deal more time and dedication, and, like you, I often get distracted into other things. The key for me is to just make myself sit down and do it sometimes, even when I'm not feeling it 🙂

Decent doesn't cut it for me. Change a word here, add a sentence there, stare at my writing for a while, stare into space for a while. Go do something else that needs my attention for five minutes. Run across a chore I'd abandoned three weeks ago. Get up to deal with food. Sit down and find another unfinished task. Remember I was working on an article. Search for said article. Find and finish an unfinished comment. Remember article again. Find it this time. Rinse. Repeat until I can't see any more improvements.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I have said before, my darling, that you just float through life like a jellyfish. I'd say this description makes my case. Thank you for not including all the swear words that would normally punctuate this series of events. It would have made your comment twice as long. Maybe more. What a way to live.

I love it... just DO it! Thanks for taking the time to give a girl a little advice :)

@holothewise, your name sure suits you 😉 you are right, basically self discipline is extremely important, yet seems so under rated these days.
I personally believethe two most important things to succeed in life are discipline and consistency.

I have a very wandering mind. I have many interests and an at times easy boredom factor. I am trying to reign that part of me in at the moment, but I have no specific solution. Just keep coming back to the moment and reassess what it is I am trying to do, or trying to communicate.

Loved your artwork, and explanation for it's creation and meaning. Reading posts like this can help me focus. Create a spark of an idea. which can lead me down another rabbit hole, but that's not always a bad thing. I like ideas, and having them. But focus is a strength that can help balance things.

Thankyou so much for your insight.. down the rabbit hole, indeed! Yes, just refocus and refocus again.

Ohhh wow, it reminds me of the painting 'The Scream'. Love seeing your progress

Lol! Just the right amount of disturbed 😜😂 Thank you.. if I ever get around to finishing, I will post the final image!

lovely art work and interesting predicament I personally struggle with keeping focused my lives goals constantly shifting.

One month I want to be a photographer I take some great pictures and the excitement is gone the next month, photoshop guru, the next a writer, the next I think I should learn how to weld, or maybe I should become a blacksmith.

Right now I'm working on becoming a steem millionaire :)

Omg, yes!!! Painting, writing, photography and jewelry making here. Creatives always have their hands in something! Best of luck on your journey to Steem millionaire! Hopefully I’ll find a way to come along :)

Wow, great article and such awesome art work! You truly have a gift! 😉 thanks for mentioning me in ur article, im happy i could help to inspire u! That is an amazing feeling!!!

I wish I could give you the answer to your question, unfortunately motivation tends to be a fickle thing.. It never seems to be there when u want it to be! Its honestly more about the grind, doing the things you dont want to do 😕

I think it was leonardo divinche who said

if people knew how much work and failure i went through they wouldnt think i was great at all!

Basically meaning that normal people only see the finished product, what they dont understand is greatness is not easy or fun!

So enjoy those fiery nights of passion when they do come along, just know that they wont be there often especially if you arent painting all that often. So if that passion is what u are waiting on to show the world ur greatness then i fear u may be waiting a while.. cuz i like i said motivation is a frugal thing!

U have a skill that many people only dream of, if u apply some discipline and consistancy i think u will eventually have more of those days and live an amazingly happy life.. but its like a muscle, you have to work it if you want it to be strong 😉

Dammit! You are soooo right! I think I’ve made my life too easy. I will write out a minimum engagement plan and do my very best to stick to it! Thanks for the motivation ✌🏽❤️

I guess maybe you get that trait, partially, from me! Many interests, many hats, many talents...and many, many Dori moments!

True story but it does make life interesting in the meantime! Lol!

Nice painting and great post.
Upvoted.
Please follow me and check my posts.

Thank you :) I’ll definitely give it a look 😊

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cristinamuah to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

can actually birth inspiration... You can decide to master the art, but it will take some deadly willpower.
One thing is sure, it will pay off.

loosing inspiration in itself isn't a challenge, the problem is when you do not know how to regenerate it .

@klynic

Thankyou :) I suppose that is why it remains unfinished. You have a good point! :)

Ah sis, thats one of the many wonderful things about you. You have so much in you to get out, so much for the world to see, it gets jumbled in a beautiful mess! I personally wouldnt change that for anything. I love the painting by the way, those are YOUR eyes completely. So deep and passionate about everything and nothing, all at once! As for tips and tricks, I got nothin! LOL Im right there with you! XOXO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44