You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Passionate Obsession to Complete Distraction With Nothing In Between - How do YOU stay focused after the spark of inspiration fizzles away?

in #motivation7 years ago

The rest of the time? I plod.

You know the old adage that it's 1% inspiration and 99 % perspiration right? That's very much the case for me with creative writing. I can knock out a decent piece in one draft but to truly polish it to a gem takes a great deal more time and dedication, and, like you, I often get distracted into other things. The key for me is to just make myself sit down and do it sometimes, even when I'm not feeling it 🙂

Sort:  

Decent doesn't cut it for me. Change a word here, add a sentence there, stare at my writing for a while, stare into space for a while. Go do something else that needs my attention for five minutes. Run across a chore I'd abandoned three weeks ago. Get up to deal with food. Sit down and find another unfinished task. Remember I was working on an article. Search for said article. Find and finish an unfinished comment. Remember article again. Find it this time. Rinse. Repeat until I can't see any more improvements.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I have said before, my darling, that you just float through life like a jellyfish. I'd say this description makes my case. Thank you for not including all the swear words that would normally punctuate this series of events. It would have made your comment twice as long. Maybe more. What a way to live.

I love it... just DO it! Thanks for taking the time to give a girl a little advice :)

@holothewise, your name sure suits you 😉 you are right, basically self discipline is extremely important, yet seems so under rated these days.
I personally believethe two most important things to succeed in life are discipline and consistency.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33