Something, ANYTHING, is better than nothing!

in #motivation6 years ago

Dude, just get started.

Even if you only do one rep. Walk one block. Run down the street and back. Lift one weight. Do one pushup. One squat.

Whatever it is, just do one. I find that if I'm really not in the mood to work out, if I tell myself I only have to do a fraction of the work I would typically strive to complete then at the very least I can get a little bit of exercise instead of going a whole day without.

For example, I am not the biggest fan of running but it often appears in my training because I know it is effective for me and it helps to build my overall fitness. BUT, since it's not my favorite, it's really hard for me to get excited about it and I find myself making excuses as to why I shouldn't go ahead and do it... Sound familiar? I know I'm not the only one who has this internal argument with themselves before doing something difficult!

So when it comes time for me to start running, I tell myself I only need to do a little bit and then I have permission to stop. I personally try complete at least one mile, because it's mentally manageable for me and I usually shake off the cobwebs and start to feel better right around the 3/4 mile mark...

Usually, once I get to that point I feel good enough to keep going and push a little farther - and sometimes I get on a roll and totally surpass my expectations! And on the days I feel sore, tired, or generally like crap, once I hit my mark I go ahead and stop. I listen to what my body is REALLY telling me, and not what my discomfort-averse brain is shouting! I've noticed that stopping after only a mile happens less and less the more I use this technique.

This seems to have the biggest effect on people with a strong competitive spirit like myself (when it comes to exercise and sports, at least), who have the tendency to compare their workouts to previous efforts and constantly strive to improve - this can create a negative mental environment if you're not able to match or surpass your previous results. Not the best recipe for success!

So what I'm saying is, knowing you have an "out" feels pretty good because it removes all pressure to complete a certain amount and allows you to relax and enjoy your workout. That's a big part of the beauty of it, in my opinion!

Letting yourself be ok with doing some, if not all, of your workout does just that - gets you to do SOME!

And some, my friends, is always better than none.

Baby steps are still steps!

So before you make excuses and find a way to skip that workout, take an extra day off, or wait to "get it done tomorrow," tell yourself you're just going to do a little. I bet you'll find that once you get going, you'll accomplish a lot more than you thought you could!

And no matter what you get done, I guarantee you'll feel better than if you didn't do any.

Let me know if you try this, or if this technique works for you! Right now I'm gonna head out and run "just one mile." Wish me luck!

Please feel free to follow, comment, upvote, and resteem! I would love your feedback and support :)

My Post (3).jpg

Sort:  

I'm perfectly happy with you, I've just started exercising at the gym, because I want to improve my body and I believe that after 6 weeks spent at the gym I will have a better figure. Motivation and diet are very important. As you wrote, it's better to do something than nothing. I appreciate your article ;).

That's great news! And I'm so glad you liked this article! I am constantly thrilled to hear people are taking control of their health and wellness! Keep up that motivation and you will reach all of your goals! :)

I love your postive attitude! I think you are going to be a force here on Steemit!

This means so much to me, thank you! I'm glad that people are interested in what I have to say and are willing to share positivity in the Steemit community and beyond! :)

I love how so many diverse groups of disciplines can enjoy this platform such as yourself. You are going to whip this community into shape... literally!

Thank you so much :) I'm so excited to be a part of it, and I'll do my best to help in every way that I can!

I agree, do what you can, thanks so much for the great motivational post. I follow you now.
guy-thumbs-up.jpg

Thank you for the kind words and the follow :) I will do the same!

haha thanks! :)

Great post with a very important message. I'm a very competitive person just like you, and before I got really upset if my training session wasn't as good (or better) than the previous one. Running faster or longer, lifting heavier etc. I mean progress is important and makes you feel good, but we cannot expect a linear progression... I'm glad I understand it now and I'm not as harsh with my self as I used to be. Sometimes, when my training session is really bad, I feel a bit upset but then I just try to think like you, this was better than nothing. 😊

You're speaking my language!! I love that you said "we cannot expect a linear progression..." That is so true, I can't tell you how many times I've said that exact phrase to clients (not to mention myself) over the years. I'm glad to hear you're being more kind to yourself these days - I still struggle with that critical inner voice from time to time too, but I feel strongly that kindness is always the way to go and gives us the best chance for success! :) hope you're having a great week!

Awesome article!

Baby steps are definitely necessary for everyone when they're just starting. I've always been into sports and outdoor activities, but in some point of my life (literally a few years ago), I just stopped doing sports. Not completely, but still, most of my weeks were spent on the computer playing games. And this went on for about 1.5-2 years!

Then a few years ago, my life changed. I got into self-development, and I started doing sports, working out, and just improving every aspect of my life. The hardest part was starting to do running again. This surprised me, I used to f*cking love running! But now, it was so hard for me...

I still started doing it. At first, I only did some light jogging for a few hundred meters and I was exhausted. But I kept going, and every week I increased the distance I could run, and I also started doing some little sprints. Baby steps!

Now, about two years after, I'm in the best shape of my life, and my life has completely changed. Last year I set few goals for myself. Two of those goals were me running the Cooper's test over 3000meters, and me running the half-marathon this year! And right now, I can say that I'll be easily able to achieve these goals this year! I'm going to beat the Cooper's test goal soon, and the half-marathon is scheduled for August!

Thanks for this article! It really reminded me of my two-year journey here. I'm going to include this in my this weeks Top 3 Steemit Articles Of The Week-post :)! You definitely deserved my upvote and follow!

Wow @cryptoteen, thank you! I really appreciate you sharing your story - it's so motivating to hear how you took charge of your life and are pursuing your goals with such determination! I'm excited to hear about your Cooper's test and half marathon - I know you'll crush it in both! Keep in touch, I'll be rooting for you :)

Thanks for the upvote and the follow, too! I'll be doing the same for you - I love finding like-minded individuals to surround myself with. This community is awesome for that! And thanks for including me in your article, I really appreciate it and feel honored! :)

This wise gem has been key to my personal success:

And on the days I feel sore, tired, or generally like crap, once I hit my mark I go ahead and stop. I listen to what my body is REALLY telling me, and not what my discomfort-averse brain is shouting!

Today I took a break because my injured arm was spasming, and the reason was I had done a movement I haven't in months (due to the injury). I had grand plans on doing push-ups and kettlebell swings post-WOD. Instead, I listened to my body.

In contrast, had I listened to my discomfort yesterday, I would have missed out on the mini deadlift workout I did after CrossFit class. But the session was all legs and abs, so my arm hadn't been worked. If I want to get better, I have to push. So deadlift I did.

The proof is in the pudding: I was able to complete sets of 8 power cleans today without dropping the barbell. My grip would not have been able to withstand that two weeks ago, even at the lighter weight.

Excellent! I love it. So smart of you. It can be SO tempting to push through an injury, and resisting the urge to participate even when you know it could set you back is so much of the battle - we see it ALL the time in Crossfit, right? I personally know the feeling all too well!

Glad you did what you could and made intelligent swaps. Of course it's hard to know sometimes whether trying a movement out while injured is going to make you regress, but it sounds like you do a great job of managing and adapting, and pushing hard in the ways that you can while staying healthy, which are some of the keys to having a long and active life in athletics/sport/fitness.

Keep up the great work and keep being an awesome example! We need more people like you in our gyms!

Ps. I hope your arm feels better!!! :)

This was an awesome article! One of the best ones I read this week! That's why I decided to mention this article in my Top 3 Steemit Articles Of The Week-post!

Congratulations on your award :)! If you want, you can contact me and I'll buy you a cookie someday!

PS. Thanks, again! This really was the best post I've read this week! I also love your other content, keep up the great work :)!

-Crypto Kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65