You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Something, ANYTHING, is better than nothing!

in #motivation6 years ago

This wise gem has been key to my personal success:

And on the days I feel sore, tired, or generally like crap, once I hit my mark I go ahead and stop. I listen to what my body is REALLY telling me, and not what my discomfort-averse brain is shouting!

Today I took a break because my injured arm was spasming, and the reason was I had done a movement I haven't in months (due to the injury). I had grand plans on doing push-ups and kettlebell swings post-WOD. Instead, I listened to my body.

In contrast, had I listened to my discomfort yesterday, I would have missed out on the mini deadlift workout I did after CrossFit class. But the session was all legs and abs, so my arm hadn't been worked. If I want to get better, I have to push. So deadlift I did.

The proof is in the pudding: I was able to complete sets of 8 power cleans today without dropping the barbell. My grip would not have been able to withstand that two weeks ago, even at the lighter weight.

Sort:  

Excellent! I love it. So smart of you. It can be SO tempting to push through an injury, and resisting the urge to participate even when you know it could set you back is so much of the battle - we see it ALL the time in Crossfit, right? I personally know the feeling all too well!

Glad you did what you could and made intelligent swaps. Of course it's hard to know sometimes whether trying a movement out while injured is going to make you regress, but it sounds like you do a great job of managing and adapting, and pushing hard in the ways that you can while staying healthy, which are some of the keys to having a long and active life in athletics/sport/fitness.

Keep up the great work and keep being an awesome example! We need more people like you in our gyms!

Ps. I hope your arm feels better!!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64