How to Survive the Mosquitoes During the Acapulco Wet Season

in #mosquitoes6 years ago

Something that anyone serious about moving here always asks about is the mosquito situation. For many of these people their only experience with the area if anything is at the Anarchapulco conference now held in a nearby suburb at an isolated resort that spends a lot of money on bug control for it's tourists. @jeffberwick also likely at least partially chose the time of year that he did because it's a low point for both bad weather and mosquitos. But for most of those that live here year round the annoying bugs are a fact of life that needs to be dealt with.

After two years here we've started to get a bit of a system for dealing with the bugs but as I sit here with several bites on the exposed bits of my arms I can tell you NOTHING works completely if you're avoiding using poison sprays and such. The box shown above is a common and cheap repellant which works by smoldering smoke that the mosquitos don't like very much. The only problem is I also don't like the smell very much despite Raid's best attempts to make them smell like lavender.

They come stuck together and it takes a bit of a trick to get them apart. They last at least 5 hours although I can't say I'm sure they last the whole 8 the box advertises. In a non-windy place kept somewhat nearby where you are most these are a decent mosquito repellent.

I've seen many people use these things incorrectly generally by placing them so far away from you that it couldn't work. The sad thing is that to really get the worth out of them you basically have to sit right next to it. I currently have one under my desk that's nearly run out. I've also seen people put them on tables which doesn't help either, it only really works on the floor.

They come with these stands, one per box and I always somehow manage to loose it. Taking a tip from a local friend we use the top of a coke bottle for the same purpose in a pinch.


This time of year we generally light multiple at once using a torch, not something you can do easily with a lighter. Just light the end and set it where you need it.

We recently came across this spray which seems to be a blend of lavender and citronella oil but combined with the Raidolitos it's fairly effective. It at least keeps you from being swarmed and honestly you really notice when you're missing one or both of those things.

It seems silly but loose fitting clothes have been my mosquito shields. I've been wearing pants when inside and not working physically and they've been essential in keeping the bugs off my legs, which is like candy to them.

Check out the links below for more like this one!

Jungle Shots: Rainy Day Edited Succulent Garden Shots
Nance Local Acapulco Fruit Season is UNDERWAY!

Rest In Peace Pepper: The Sad Tale of a Silkie Chicken Infested with Mites

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Perfect Flaky Biscuit Recipe
Hurricane madness: Two Weeks of Tropical Storms and it's Getting Worse
Rest in Peace Miss Pepper Puff

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

Sort:  

I think those storms is why it had been so humid here in Los Angeles too!
Also I heard catnip is good for Mosquitos,....
Greek catnip oil
Nepeta parnassica, a member of the mint family related to catnip, can ward off mosquitoes. The white and pink flowers grow up to 18 inches, but it’s the extract and oil from the bruised leaves that’s the most valuable.
One study found that oil from the plant could repel mosquitoes effectively for two to three hours. Researchers at Iowa State University also found catnip to be 10 times more effective than DEET at repelling mosquitoes.
BobC12-7-17.jpg

Alas catnip has not worked in my experience D:

Here in Alaska the coil is a life saver.

Those spiraly things are the best, one of the few things that actually work.

I agree, so I deal with the smell of them lol

When it comes to staving off mozzies I have such a long list of things that people swear by – except that everyone swears by something different. Nothing seems to work for everyone except the barrier method! The future is parachute pants and a hammock cocooned in netting.

Living as I do in Northern Alberta, the mosquitoes are a fact of the summer time. The repellent rings works well enough, used correctly, as you mention. I have tried everything to keep them away, and it seems one thing may work one year, but not the next. This year, applying coconut oil seems to work quite well.

Funny thing, I too, have found that loose, bright colored clothing is the best repellent inside and out. I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume that they have their place in the ecosystem, I just wish I was not on their menu. Nice post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49