My entry to @Mutitum's Food Contest #2 ~Monthly Author Challenge Day 17

For my #monthlyauthorchallenge today Im going to do my entry for a contest by @mutitum. In this contest we have to make a post of a meal we prepare that is simple and delicious, including instructions, ingredients and pictures! Considering I love to cook, this should be a fun one for me! Thanks @mutitum for the chance!

On the weekends, my family loves to have a nice big meal. Tonight we are having Smoked Applewood baked ribs (Id much rather do on the grill but its cold and rainy today :( ), some crispy air fried garlic and sea salt golden potatoes and green beans!

Rib ingredients include-
a pack of your favorite ribs, we enjoy baby back ribs
1-2 Tbsp EVOO
Smoked applewood rub
garlic powder
onion powder
salt and pepper
1/4 cup of water and a few drops of liquid smoke

We will start by preheating the oven to 300 degrees. Rinse off ribs and pat completely dry with paper towels. Take a large piece of foil, big enough to wrap completely around ribs loosely. Place foil on a baking sheet with a lip and place ribs on top of foil. Take you extra virgin olive oil and coat the ribs. Season ribs well with all seasonings. Cover ribs with rub first then lightly sprinkle garlic, onion, salt and pepper. You dont have to put the additional seasonings, I personally love very flavorful ribs!

Wrap up sides of foil and pour the water and liquid smoke on the bottom of foil, under the ribs. Wrap up leaving room at the top of ribs for the air to circulate but close fully.

Bake the babies for around 2 hours. After 2 hours, take the ribs out and carefully open foil, folding the sides down. The meat should be starting to pull away from the bone a bit, as you can see at the bottom.

At this point you can add bbq sauce if you would like. For these ones, we are leaving them as is. Raise the temperature on the oven to 350 and put the ribs back in the oven to bake for another 30 minutes or so until desired crisp on outside. And thats it on the ribs!

For the Crispy air-fried golden potatoes we will need-
Golden potatoes of course, any potato will work but I enjoy these because they are so soft and buttery!
2 Tbs of EVOO
2 tsp of minced garlic
sea salt or kosher salt
pepper

With the gold potatoes, you dont have to peel, just wash potatoes thoroughly to remove any dirt. Cut potatoes in to chunks, about an inch thick. In a bowl, add potatoes, olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Mix well, cover all potatoes well.

If you dont have an air-fryer you can use the oven instead. Simply, lay potatoes flat on a foil lined baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees until golden, stirring occasionally. I got an air-fryer for Christmas, I love it! It gets everything crispy as if it were fried in globs of veg oil.

Turn your air-fryer on at the highest setting and let preheat for 5 minutes. Then add in potatoes and cook for around 15-18 minutes, giving it a shake twice in that time. With the air fryer its best to not over load, so they cook faster and more evenly, so I cook my potatoes in 2 batches. When done to your liking, remove and give another sprinkle of salt.

For the green beans-
I truthfully use frozen green beans... theyre great! They were simply flash cooked and flash frozen before packaging. Doing the "hard work" of breaking the stems and chopping for you!

Pour a bag of green beans into a medium sized pot, fill with water to top of beans. Add 2 Tbsp of butter and a good sprinkling of season salt. Allow to come to a full boil, then turn down heat to low and allow to cook , stirring occasionally, until your desired doneness!

And that my friends is it! Look at that meat just falling off the bone! It was so delicious! These recipes are done for my family of 4 and a half and we did have a little left over for lunch tomorrow! You can use as much as you need to fill your familys needs. I hope you all enjoy!

Until next time Steemians,
Peace, love and dinner time! :)

Sort:  

very well laid out instructions on how to make whats looks like an amazingly deliscious rack of ribs - great post - thanks for sharing!

Thank you! Im glad you liked! If you give them a try one day, come back and let me know how they turned out for you! I know we LOVED them!

I like the method you used - I'd like to try it out with a rub that i make

Hello again, I love getting new recipe ideas. Since you're also a newer Steemian, I want to share that this week I learned how to add headings, bold and italic text, numbered or bulleted lists, and other features to style my blog. I think it would be awesome to use numbered or bulleted lists for formatting recipes! It was a quick online free tutorial. I shared it in a recent blog post. If you're interested click here. Happy Steeming!

Thank you! I actually read that one... I need to look into it for sure! Would love something besides the words and words! LOL Thanks for coming by to comment!

Awesome. Before the tutorial I only knew italic :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 02:47:25
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 391.70/200.00
Total Photos: 46
Total comments: 117
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This looks delicious.

Thank you! It was delicious!! :)

Congratulations you have been upvoted just because.

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more visit: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)


I just got some SP delegation from @abh12345, so I am going around and dropping $0.02 on a lot of people, My two cents comments. :-}
Steemit: The Curation Leagues - SBD and Delegation Prizes!

Awesome!! Thank you soo much! :)

mouth watering...made me feel hungry

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47