"Markdown" Online Tutorial: Improve your blog's style!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

One step at a time...

I've been admiring creative Steemit posts for over a month and it's time I step up my blog style. Having no experience writing code or formating web content, I'm starting with the basics. Before doing an online tutorial (link shared below), my only markdown skill was using an underscore ( _ ) to change text style from regular to italic. I felt ridiculously proud the first time I tried it in a Steemit post and watched the word magically change to italic style in the "preview" window :)

Always interested in learning, I found a site offering lessons with practice exercises. It's easy to understand and I recommend the tutorial to anyone who wants to quickly master the basics of markdown. One thing I learned today is how to create an inline link. Instead of copying and pasting the website here, I made the text below into a clickable link. Success!

Click to visit the Markdown Tutorial site:

"Markdown is a way to write content for the web. It’s written in what nerds like to call “plaintext”, which is exactly the sort of text you’re used to writing and seeing. Plaintext is just the regular alphabet, with a few familiar symbols, like asterisks ( * )...

Formatting text in Markdown has a very gentle learning curve. It doesn’t do anything fancy like change the font size, color, or type. All you have control over is the display of the text—stuff like making things bold, creating headers, and organizing lists.

In each lesson, you’ll be given an introduction to a single Markdown concept. Then, you’ll be asked to complete several exercises with that new knowledge."

One hour and one latte later I've learned the basics!

latte.jpg
Angry Catfish latte by @mininthecity

Skills included in the tutorial:

  • italic and bold text
  • headers in six sizes
  • inline links (this allows you to make text clickable)
  • block quotes
  • bulleted and numbered lists

Share your experiences with blog formatting or ask questions about markdown in the comments. Let's keep learning together! The more you know...

Sort:  

Cool beans. I'm glad to see other people taking the leap into markdown.
I taught myself HTML a number of years ago - and refreshed it a bit last year. Hand-coding has always been very useful to me, even though I no longer maintain my own website.
I really like your angry catfish latte picture.
 

Thanks, it was a delicious cardamom maple latte :) I appreciate you sharing your experience with coding/markdown. Your comment is motivating me to learn more! Since we connected after I shared the post, here's a link if you're interested in my first little contest to thank my followers. Talk to you soon! https://steemit.com/contest/@mininthecity/win-sbd-thank-you-contest-for-new-and-existing-followers

I managed to come up with some extra time before cooking dinner, which Im doing another tutorial on later and figured itd be the perfect time to check this out! Hopefully I can use this on my post. Upvoted and resteemed this great info so maybe one of my followers can be helped by it as well.
P.s. The post will be on making Beef tips with gravy over butter herbed noodles if ya want to check it out later! ;)
P.s.s. I love you cangry catfish latte... now I want coffee!!

Hi! I'll definitely check out your recipe and see if I notice new "markdown" editing in your blogs. It's so nice to interact with a supportive Steemian who is also learning :) I hope the tutorial helps out other newbies like us!

Hello @mininthecity. I just love your post. It came just at the right time. I have been searching for a way to style my blog i couldn't get it until I stumbled on your post. Thanks for such an educative post. I have already bookmark the link you posted... Cheers!!

Awesome, thank you so much for the feedback! My goal was to help at least one person. It is a very basic tutorial and I think it's a good way to start creating higher quality blogs. Let me know if you try out some new "tricks" :)

Sure I will. Thanks

Please follow the rules of the group : Steemit for Resteem ↕.

We have a promotion now and you can use the opportunity.☼ Special Promotion ☼

Thanks @clixmoney, I learned the rules in our Facebook messenger conversation :)

Thanks for sharing this. I wish resteems were possible after there steem-by date. Its not for the credit but to add to my own library. mmmkay?!

I agree. I've been emailing myself the links to posts that I want to save for future reference. It's not ideal. I'm going to make folders to organize them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64