Money, money, money!!

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

image

I'm quite new to Steemit, and I have yet to understand the community that makes up this site, but it seems to me that everything is driven by money. It's hard to ignore the $ signs beneath each post, the 'follow me and I'll follow you' deals. I just feel like the worth of the community goes down when every post is about money and upvotes etc.

Don't get me wrong, I am very interested in the topic of money and how its very definition is being changed (cue, feel free to link me to good posters/articles), however I am also aware how many comments and posts are just attempts to grab to attention of people in hopes of upvotes and increasing net income.

I'd love to follow hundreds of people, but I really want the content to be genuine and interesting. I'm just tired of reading memes and viewing pictures that have been half heartedly captioned.

Steemit seems to have an extreme in posts, on one end I am viewing posts by extremely successful, extremely business oriented people and on the other end just mundane posts desperately trying to grab the attention of the average steemian.

Baby crying. Rant over.

I'd be grateful if anyone can suggest some decent threads. My apologies if my post causes offence, I just felt that quality content is always recognised for what it is and the same applies for its opposite!

Sort:  

Follow me if you love crypto currencies posts, Internet marketing and life truths!

I already have! Lol

I feel the same my friend yet I believe that the system will sort itself out in the long run giving a hard time to those who are in just for the money and arent' offering value.

I definitely see your point. There are so many examples of people who constantly give people reminders to follow upvote and comment on their posts. Sometimes in bold headers at the bottom of their post that is actually pretty devoid of content worth a header in the first place, where it actually belongs. In the end though this is kind of the same story almost anywhere on the internet though right? Instagram, Youtube, Facebook etc... "LIKE/SUBSCRIBE/FOLLOW ME"
The attitude seems to be more about popularity on facebook and instagram where it is definitely more about money on youtube. In the end though the people who actually BRING VALUE to the platform are the people who get rewarded.

Congratulations @reedit! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @reedit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14